Geelong rorting the system

There was a deal made with the AFL in 2002. I can't disclose my source.

Readers might recall that this was the year that the Carlton salary cap breach was discovered. There has been much written about the consequences for the Carlton Football Club for the breach - $1m fine, loss of draft picks, etc.

However, the salary cap breach impacted Geelong as they lost the 1995 Premiership to the cheating Blues. The 1995 year being the relevant salary cap breach year.

The AFL approached senior leaders at the club at the time. There were two options presented: 1. strip Carlton of the 1995 Premiership and give it to Geelong; or 2. allow Geelong access to the Father Sons that were coming through the pipeline (something that was available to all clubs, but the AFL dressed it up as a win for the Cats).

Geelong seized the opportunity. Despite being cheated out of the 1995 Premiership, they saw an opportunity - access to the upcoming Father Sons in the 2002 and 2003 years on precisely the same terms as every other AFL club. GFC took the AFL's offer with both hands.

In 2002, Geelong - rorters that they are - selected Tim Callan. Poor Essendon had to settle for Jobe Watson.

In 2003, Geelong, again rorting the advantage they were given, selected Mark Blake. Poor Collingwood got F/S selection Heath Shaw.

And if you've read this far and think this is slightly tongue in cheek, you'd be right. Carlton should have absolutely forfeited the 1995 Premiership.
This post was literally to highlight how stupid this thread had become.

I think an investigation should be launched into how a person like Brendon Gale could be involved in the Rules Committee and then be installed as club CEO immediately after.

He would have been privy to all sorts of inside information about proposed changes and the machinations of the committee. It would have led to them hiring Hardwick a year later with that inside knowledge, allowing them to recruit and draft accordingly, building towards 2017-2020. Making all those successes tarnished.

Needs investigating.

I think an investigation should be launched into how a person like Brendon Gale could be involved in the Rules Committee and then be installed as club CEO immediately after.

He would have been privy to all sorts of inside information about proposed changes and the machinations of the committee. It would have led to them hiring Hardwick a year later with that inside knowledge, allowing them to recruit and draft accordingly, building towards 2017-2020. Making all those successes tarnished.

Needs investigating.
Eagerly awaiting AP's response.....

Needs investigating.
"After his AFL playing career, Gale practised law with commercial law firm King Wood Mallesons, and then was chief executive officer of the AFL Players' Association from 2005 to 2009.[4][2]

He was also a member of the AFL's "Laws of the Game" or Rules Committee.[citation needed] '

He was chief executive of the players association , then on the rules committee.
He didn't go from Richmond to the rules committee. He wasn't the head of the rules committee and no major rule changes were made when he was there.
He also wasn't sacked from the AFL for a conflict of interest.

"After his AFL playing career, Gale practised law with commercial law firm King Wood Mallesons, and then was chief executive officer of the AFL Players' Association from 2005 to 2009.[4][2]

He was also a member of the AFL's "Laws of the Game" or Rules Committee.[citation needed] '

He was chief executive of the players association , then on the rules committee.
He didn't go from Richmond to the rules committee. He wasn't the head of the rules committee and no major rule changes were made when he was there.
He also wasn't sacked from the AFL for a conflict of interest.

No, he went from the rules committee to Richmond. He knew the workings of it and what was coming and what was in the works. He knew the direction the game was headed and went straight into a position where he could steer his club along a common path. #Rortmond

Steven Hocking wasn’t sacked either and your inability to understand what sacked means doesn’t surprise me one bit given the likelihood that you’ve never held a job.

No, he went from the rules committee to Richmond. He knew the workings of it and what was coming and what was in the works. He knew the direction the game was headed and went straight into a position where he could steer his club along a common path. #Rortmond

Steven Hocking wasn’t sacked either and your inability to understand what sacked means doesn’t surprise me one bit given the likelihood that you’ve never held a job.
Hocking was told to leave when he wanted to stay on , same as sacked.
Gale had no job lined up and fulfilled his contract unlike Hocking.

Hocking was told to leave when he wanted to stay on , same as sacked.
Gale had no job lined up and fulfilled his contract unlike Hocking.

It’s not the same as being sacked 😂😂
Trying to claim it is as though it’s some sort of victory - and dodging the question - is not going to change it.

He had a new job lined up, was going to see out his current one, and the AFL determined that it was easier if he didn’t because it wouldn’t be fair. People getting a new job for the period after their current one aren’t doing something wrong, mate.

Easy to see why the Tigers were so good having the inside running in a number of rule changes implemented around that time. Got their players invested early.
Advance knowledge of stricter deliberate OOB interpretation, changes to the advantage rule changes to the bump rule, below the knees rule, new ruck rules, no more bounces at stoppages. All in the years that followed Gale’s reign of terror on the rules committee as he was helping the Tigers prep for their assault.

‘Rule.’

There’s a key word there.

Just because your club has had a dozen of them that were absolutely shithouse, and your second best player of the last 40 years was a father son and you rewarded him by treating him to one finals campaign, doesn’t mean we did something wrong, I’m sorry.

True but if they scrap the rule now it's an unfair advantage for Geelong.

What, like scrapping the holding the man rule after KB made an artform of it and won a stack of flags is an unfair advantage to Richmond?

10 of your flags were won before the salary cap and the draft. So they were unfair because we have both of them now.

Is this how it works? Have I got the hang of it?

Congrats to the Cats on the flag, the next two weeks is a victory lap for them.

Best coach, only club to treat players like adults with flexible hours (just ask them), really cruisy captain who is at pains to explain how cool and relaxed he is. There's no other team in the league who does this according to them. Well done and congrats.
Is this a mental preparation for a 2011 repeat?

True but if they scrap the rule now it's an unfair advantage for Geelong.

My point is, you dont need the father-son rule to win Premierships. Richmond have proved that - 3 🏆🏆🏆 in 4 years plus they are the most recent team to win consecutive Premierships as well which is the hardest task to do in footy.

I'm not sure why a lot of people get so wound up about clubs having a lot of father-son selections and benefiting from it.

Time we all moved on.

It’d be weird if a property were bought in 2024 near where James Worpel is from.

Follow the money.

To the rort conspiracy losers here.
Care to explain how Friday's team had 11 changes from the '22 GF side.

Dempsey, Holmes, Humphries, Mannagh, Martin, Bowes, Clark, Mullin, O'Sullivan, Smith, Neale.

2 trades, rookie, rookie, DFA, Intl. Cat B, R2, R1, R1, R2.

#RORTS

To the rort conspiracy losers here.
Care to explain how Friday's team had 11 changes from the '22 GF side.

Dempsey, Holmes, Humphries, Mannagh, Martin, Bowes, Clark, Mullin, O'Sullivan, Smith, Neale.

2 trades, rookie, rookie, DFA, Intl. Cat B, R2, R1, R1, R2.

#RORTS
Did we just complete another rebuild in a Prelim year?

No need for academy handouts like those nepo babies we flogged on Friday. Just good hard work and skill.

AFL Football...

inbetweeners-tv.png

The point here is that Hocking showed a complete lack of ethics and integrity which is alarming as he was changing the rules of the game.
But he wasn't; his first move in the job was to strip the committee of the ability to do anything except make recommendations. He disempowered himself ... part of the plan?

And can we have proof of him being shown the door by the AFL out of their concern? I seem to recall that he notified the AFL, offered to resign ... as is expected.

Geelong rorting the system