Autopsy Geelong turn out the Power by 76 points.

Not sure Butters is what we need. He's a small body. With Blicavs, Guthrie, Dangerfield and Duncan about to retire, we really need to set our sights on those bigger 6ft2 mids.

Clark, Clohesy and Atkins are also on the smaller side.
Bit premature to say that about Butters in just his second game back. He's a gun.

Sensational win 76 pts what can you say , apart from the obvious that Geel are great value if you are a supporter

Interesting scenes at the start of that game , when all the players linked arms , it was Bailey Smith giving the instructions and the rev up to the group

Danger is out , if Stewart is unavailable , then Geel should come out early in the week and say that Bailey Smith will be the official Geel Captain against the WB

3. Bailey Smith - He's definitely leading our B&F at this point, and probably in Brownlow contention as well. It's amazing what he's brought to this team. Three games in a row with 30+ touches, when up until last year we had no accumulators at all. Lots of metres gained at good disposal efficiency for a ball-winner helps too.

5. Jeremy Cameron - Nice to see you back Jezza. Seven goals is a fine return for a lot of hard work. Admittedly a handful might have been a bit cheap, after most of the hard work was done by the mids, but when you're a key forward it's your job to go back and kick them. Magnificent set shot kicking tonight.

7. Shaun Mannagh - I thought he was a bit quiet early, but Mannagh worked his way into the game from about half way through the second quarter and started making his influence felt.

9. Max Holmes - Pretty fair game, if mediocre by Holmes's high standards. He got his fair share of the ball, generally used it OK, but his game seemed somehow low-key. I don't suppose that's anything to complain about, really.

12. Jack Bowes - Kicked the first goal of the game, then did his hammy. It's a bit unlucky for him, as he was just working into a good run of form. Hopefully he won't be out too long.

14. Connor O'Sullivan - By far the quietest game of his career so far. I don't think he did very much wrong though, and the learning experience will be good for him.

16. Sam De Koning - Another assured and competent game from SDK. He looks a lot better with at least one other experienced tall defender (in this case Jack Henry) down there as well. Sometimes he can get nudged off the ball a bit too easily, but on the other hand he is amazingly good at ground level for such a huge dude.

17. Lawson Humphries - I keep saying it, but how does a guy with only 20 odd games in his second season look like a 200+ game veteran? It's uncanny. What I loved about his game wasn't just the assured disposal, but also the crazy intense attack on the footy. I reckon there were three or four occasions where he just outworked an opponent in better position to win the ball, or turn a two-on-one into a fifty-fifty. And when he snuck forward and the ball found its way into his hands the goal, which came at a very important time, was as inevitable as death or taxes.

18. Tyson Stengle - He seems to be struggling to get involved this season, and had another quiet night again. I do like that he never stops working and never seems to drop his head, and even when things aren't going his way the oppo still need to mind him 100% of the time because otherwise he'll nevertheless find a way of kicking a crazy goal like the one he got in the last quarter.

22. Mitch Duncan - This was probably not the plan for game #299. I'm guessing the goal was to give him the final quarter and keep him fresh for the big milestone game. Still, coming on early for Jack Bowes, he had a solid game. Got plenty of the ball and used it well, and is playing a lot better than someone we're just nursing through to game 300.

24. Jed Bews - He's another veteran who's come straight back into the side after a long absence and immediately looked best-22 material. And for someone who shimmies and baulks as much as Bews, he sure doesn't look the least bit flamboyant while doing it.

28. Ollie Dempsey - Irrespective of some very comical decision making inside 50 during the 3rd quarter, this was an amazingly good game. He's handy around the wing and HFF, and runs so hard inside 50 that it makes the defenders' jobs a living hell.

30. Tom Atkins - The guy's just a relentless, crazy-eyed contested ball machine. I reckon Smith and Holmes wouldn't have half the freedom to do their thing if Axe wasn't at the bottom of every pack.

32. Gryan Miers - Apart from one squib effort and a pretty anonymous first quarter, Miers had a good game. Didn't waste a possession, and some of his kicks inside 50 were genius. We lacked a lot of spark while he was out concussed.

33. Shannon Neale - Not a great game, especially early. He lacks some footy nous, but he does have this weird knack of getting a hand in and affecting opposition kicks just as they think they have a clear run out of 50.

34. Oisin Mullin - He got the difficult job of tagging Butters, and I think kept him pretty quiet. Not just quiet, but ineffective with the touches he did get. While I still think and hope he'll develop into the Wojo-style rebounding HBF we need, for now maybe tagging is his best position.

35. Patrick Dangerfield - Another early hammy injury. It was carnage out there for both teams. It didn't (and this may be wishful thinking) look too severe, so let's hope he isn't out too long. Danger was probably due a rest anyway.

36. Ollie Henry - I'm not seeing it with this guy. I'm just not. He keeps getting picked so he must be doing something the coaches like, but from where I sit he's usually weak, lazy, and a bit of a hungus.

38. Jack Henry - Welcome back Jack! It seems weird to say in a 76 point win, but he saved our bacon numerous times in the 1st quarter. Without his contested marking (and he looks 5cm taller than he really is) we probably would have gone in at 1/4 time two or three goals down, and who knows how the game would have evolved from there?

39. Zach Guthrie - Another solid game. Competent, unflashy, and sound disposal is all you can ask for and that's what he gives us every week. He reminds me a lot of another yellow-haired medium defender who wore the #39.

42. Mark O'Connor - Best on ground for mine. He had a career-high 28 touches, 96% disposal efficiency, and 800m gained, which is an insane set of numbers. It's probably the best game of his career.

45. Brad Close - I think at this point he's better in the midfield than in the forward line. Because if he's inside forward 50 we just keep dropping the ball on his head, which is easy pickings for guys like Aliir and Ratugolea.

46. Mark Blicavs - Yet another excellent game from Mr. Latvian Army Knife. He might not win the HO stats against genuine ruckmen like Visentini, but with Blitz in the midfield you've got the edge at ground level regardless. What he does, I don't think we'll really appreciate until after he's retired. And I hope that's not for several years yet.

Your write ups after every game are elite btw

Sensational win 76 pts what can you say , apart from the obvious that Geel are great value if you are a supporter

Interesting scenes at the start of that game , when all the players linked arms , it was Bailey Smith giving the instructions and the rev up to the group

Danger is out , if Stewart is unavailable , then Geel should come out early in the week and say that Bailey Smith will be the official Geel Captain against the WB

I doubt they'll be giving Smith the acting captaincy at this stage of things

The talk around Stewart returning has been positive, but if he's unavailable then it would likely be Blicavs or maybe Atkins with the duties

Or depending on the sense of the occasion, Duncan's name may be in that mix

Humphries is ridiculous. He just does the right thing every time.

Obviously his kicking (on both feet, which is becoming rarer each year) is a stand out, but it's the little things that impress me most. When he can't mark it he'll spoil it and when he spoils it he directs the spoil to a team mate or the boundary.

He initates body contact at the right time to wrong foot his opponent and get a metre of space. If he's going to he tackled immediately he'll tap it out in front of himself then take possession.

Etc etc. These are the sorts of things a 200 gamer does and he's played 20. What a gem.

I really liked seeing Humphries in the centre square for a period of time. It could be where he ends up.
800e2e8c-fa76-4c0a-a1d8-8710128bd039_text.gif

Hang around more. Miss having a fellow character around.

Huge win by the boys!
We look a Hell of a lot better with Miers and Humphries in the team, elite users!
How good is Dempsey, he just loves playing footy too. Should’ve had 5, will kick a bag sooner than later.
Good to see Jezza have a big game! How is he 2nd in the Coleman?!
Really sucks to lose Danger, Scott said it only looks minor though so I’m sure it will be TBA…

Did he play in defence?
I was one who hated him in defence but wanted to see him tried elsewhere. Others wrote him off completely as recently as three weeks ago.

Autopsy Geelong turn out the Power by 76 points.