General AFL thread 2016

• Thread starter Thread starter Joffaboy

Melbourne have a better young list then the dogs IMO

Hmmmmm... Tough to say. If you look at some of their injuries though they're a lot better than the last few weeks suggest. They'll win the flag next year.

Suckling, Bob Murphy, Crameri, Johannisen. They would all be in that team and all provide experience and very good skills. Another year into Kieran Collins, Caleb Daniel, Lukas Webb, Bailey Dale, Toby McLean, Tom Boyd and Josh Dunkley. I'd take the Dogs list every day of the week. Melbourne have some blokes around 30 holding them together and don't look like they have the young blokes to fill their shoes. The Bulldogs will have young talent ready for when Morris, Murphy, Boyd, Griffen (lol, pleb) and Minson leave the club. They just need some more ruck stocks.

My opinion of Luke Beveridge just went down a lot

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2016-05-10/crows-call-on-umpires-disgusting-says-beveridge

"Disgusting"? If anything was disgusting it was the ducking and acting this season by Toby McLean. This just smacks of Beveridge protecting his own interests with faux-outrage. Piss weak Beveridge. Your team was absolutely looked after in that game.

Pretty sure he was sticking up for the umpires and not really his club. Bevo would have a pretty good idea about how hard it to get kids to umpire as he was heavily involved in junior footy up until 3 years ago. He was also heavily involved in ammos footy so he has seen how hard it is to get young adults to continue to umpire.

Apparently Beveridge reckons Pannell missed one for the Bulldogs.

So in Bevo's eyes it should have been 18 from that one umpire

Not usually one for betting at all but put $10 on Roo for the Brownlow @$251

TAB had him at $1000 to win & $250 to place last weekend.

My opinion of Luke Beveridge just went down a lot

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2016-05-10/crows-call-on-umpires-disgusting-says-beveridge

"Disgusting"? If anything was disgusting it was the ducking and acting this season by Toby McLean. This just smacks of Beveridge protecting his own interests with faux-outrage. Piss weak Beveridge. Your team was absolutely looked after in that game.

Not a good look when one coach criticizes another. Then again, refusing to talk to your own player when he is trying to get hold of you after being accused of selling out his club is not so crash hot either. Get off your high horse, Bevo.

Bevo comes across as a bit of a spanner, said its disgusting to question the umps but it's ok to publicly question your own player about what he said to his brother

Yeah, he sounded like Flogger Mc Floghard on that. Wait until he has a bad week with the maggots and watch his respect levels maintain themselves to the same level he expects of others. He's getting a bit of a Bulldogs supporters on Big Footy vibe about him.

Possibly but it came across as him thinking he's is a little bit superior. He was hanging the Crows out to dry the way he phrased it. He could have conceded the fact that when the discrepancy is so great it can get frustrating but... Instead he launches into how disrespectful it is to the Bulldogs who are so awesome their name shouldn't be muttered by mortals.

Is having a better year than Richo did when he finished 3rd

It's also handy that a lot of the old certainties are down. Ablett, Swan, Pendles, Fyfe, Judd etc all out of the race. West coast are struggling so Priddis off the radar a bit. Dangerfield would probably be miles in front with the way he's playing and the hype he's getting, Mitchell is having a good year too.

Parker is a good chance I reckon. Been playing some fantastic football.

Yeah he's the type who gets noticed too. I thought of him as soon as I'd replied. I wouldn't put it past the AFL to find a Brownlow for GWS. Coniglio, Shiel and Callan Ward having fantastic seasons.

Parker is a good chance I reckon. Been playing some fantastic football.

Yep, but he's competing with a lot of guys as well. Hannebery, Franklin, Heeney, Kennedy. I reckon Hannebery and Parker will both poll about 20 votes.

Roo is playing in a team with a lot of even contributors where he is often the standout. He may lose votes because we're not winning games but he's only going to lose votes to Steven or Armo pretty much.

The vision of West Ham playing their final game makes me think of us playing our final game at Moorabbin :'(
F*** I hate Etihad and wish that we had something decent to play on at our real home!
I know it's a pipe dream, but how nice would it be to have our actual home back and play for premiership points on it :rolleyes:

I really do not get the hatred for Etihad. Its easy to get to and barely has a bad viewing spot in it.

I mean, yes Moorabbin homegames would own bones but I dont think we are that bad off (despite the stadium deal)

I went to Moorabbin for nearly every year we played there except the first 4 or so and I think maybe we just remember the good times. There were also times as a 8 or 9 year old on the scoreboard side there would be fair dinkum brawls amongst people, not being able to see at all as a kid, Rain and crowds of 12k with no atmosphere at all. Lets face it I think the main reason we love Moorabbin id because of the last 10 years with Plugger there. Had he not played in the mid 80's the ground would have been dead. I know people say there isn't much noise at Etihad now but there were times at Moorabbin where there was no noise at all because we just didn't kick any goals. Etihad is great and this day of soft supporters we wouldn't get the crowds at Moorabbin. Even when we play at the G some complain of being outside in the cold and rain.

I actually prefer Etihad to the G.

So much easier to get to parking for free (with a ten minute walk), under the roof, great view and sitting with a group of Saints supporters each week.

Moorabbin will be great for a base and our reserves and womens team.

I used to ride my bike to the Docklands, whereas had to catch train to Glen Waverley before that, full of grown men carrying on like children and pissing in the carriage.

Apart from that though I didn't care for The Colonial Stadium as it was called in my Melbourne days, but I suppose time marches on.

Have never been to Moorabbin, but would be glad for our club to get a bit of our soul back.

I went to Moorabbin for nearly every year we played there except the first 4 or so and I think maybe we just remember the good times. There were also times as a 8 or 9 year old on the scoreboard side there would be fair dinkum brawls amongst people, not being able to see at all as a kid, Rain and crowds of 12k with no atmosphere at all. Lets face it I think the main reason we love Moorabbin id because of the last 10 years with Plugger there. Had he not played in the mid 80's the ground would have been dead. I know people say there isn't much noise at Etihad now but there were times at Moorabbin where there was no noise at all because we just didn't kick any goals. Etihad is great and this day of soft supporters we wouldn't get the crowds at Moorabbin. Even when we play at the G some complain of being outside in the cold and rain.

I reckon people just long for the days where it was all a little less professional. I remember the good old days when you could literally touch the players coming off the ground and smell the mud and beer. The crunches of bodies the reverberation off the concrete etc. It was a completely different experience and there is no going back but it has lost something. Peter Everett was my garbage man in Elwood in the 1990s and you'd see him and yell out to him and he'd give you the thumbs up. It was a different world back then. Barry hall had a HR holden with a bonnet scoop higher than the windscreen and he's hoon in the Moorabbin car park, these days you just don't get that access or experience. It was more like the characters at a suburban club. The players have lost that common touch with the professional era, they are coached in what not to say and wary of stuffing up.