General AFL thread 2016

• Thread starter Thread starter Joffaboy

YESSSS thank you has been doing my head in all night. can anyone explain his career briefly for me, how was he not a gun that every saints fan my age (22) should know. what went wrong? or is he just a player who looked great on highlights but in reality was average?

He was an absolute gun and was instrumental in getting us to the finals in 91 and 92. Was BOG in the Winmar game at vic park. To answer your question, it is probably because he went up and joined Brisbane. would've been more of a Saints legend if he had have stayed around for our next flag tilt.

I dont know for sure but it was hard for aboriginal players back then and the game was basically semi-professional at the time a (mate said he used to pick up his benefits from Winmar)
Players could get out of form because of life pressures but I always thought he was a champ was disappointed when we traded him
His brother was fantastic for a season as well for North kick 7 or 8 in his first game.
Frustrating we didnt try to get both and get them to be consistent.
Gilbert was the other half of the Collingwood Victoria park game where Winmar lifted his shirt.
Gilbert kicked a big bag only time i went to victoria park it felt tiny more like a tennis arena the pies were near riot when we won on the back of Winmar and Gilbert.
Someone who wasnt prepubescent would remember better then me but i got him to sign my book once and he was really nice
His brother is Adrian Macadam kicked the fastest 50 goals ever, at the time, in his first few matches. Didn't do much after that. Not sure why.

Talented blokes.

thought so about his career but didn't wanna stereotype but thats a shame, everythime i see old games he always stands out
Very hurt still by the extreme racism he copped from supporters. Dont blame him.

Nicknamed Gumby, after the flexible toy, not because he was a spud. Skills galore.

I am glad he and Nicky have had their say on the Vic Park match. Was there, he killed them, except allI can remember from the game is filth supporters geering when Harvs did a hammy and Dean Anderson kicking a goal on his left foot.
Also getting pissed at the Retreat afterwards

Bulldogs board in a bit of turmoil over the sacking....oops resignation of the CEO and Gordons role at the club.
Seems a bit emotional especially after the terrible injuries and loss on Saturday.

Thought our board was doom and gloom, but I suppose they have had a bad few days.

And they still have Tom Boyd

He was an absolute gun and was instrumental in getting us to the finals in 91 and 92. Was BOG in the Winmar game at vic park. To answer your question, it is probably because he went up and joined Brisbane. would've been more of a Saints legend if he had have stayed around for our next flag tilt.

pretty sure he left for family reasons.

His wife didn't like Melbourne & wanted to move North. No NT teams meant they went to Brisbane.

Some sort of dodgy AFL rule at the time meant that players who went there had their draft pick value assessed by the league (IIRC).

Despite being an absolute gun, we were given a shitty late pick in the draft.

One of the myriad of things that went against us & prevented that 91/92 super team from winning a flag.

Bulldogs board in a bit of turmoil over the sacking....oops resignation of the CEO and Gordons role at the club.
Seems a bit emotional especially after the terrible injuries and loss on Saturday.

Thought our board was doom and gloom, but I suppose they have had a bad few days.

And they still have Tom Boyd
The thread on the main board is hilarious

I state they better hope their sugar daddy slater and gordon stays on board, then they start howling me down that they dont contribute much and are a small sponsor. So i post a link from a couple months back where there were concerns slater and gordon were significantly down scaling the funding to the club due to their financial issues. The article is 3 paragraphs of western bulldog spin, stating theyre extending their sponsorship and how through slater and gordons contribution theyve been able to have a resurgence.

So I'm puzzled now, do their supporters think they contribute nothing and that article/their board admin are full of shit or do they think they significantly contribute in which case their supporters are full of shit

Either way someones full of it

Honestly glad it's not us with intense media focus on unconventional and impulsive management practices currently.

We've been there previously.

As much as it was criticised at the time, sacking watters was the right decision. Haven't heard of any club wanting to employ him, whereas even neeld has gotten employment.

Maybe this will be their watters moment.

Seems interesting from the outside though.

Sent from my D5833 using Tapatalk

Honestly glad it's not us with intense media focus on unconventional and impulsive management practices currently.

We've been there previously.

As much as it was criticised at the time, sacking watters was the right decision. Haven't heard of any club wanting to employ him, whereas even neeld has gotten employment.

Maybe this will be their watters moment.

Seems interesting from the outside though.

Watters was the coach.
If you want a StKilda analogy you need to go back to Rob Butterss, a guy who styled himself as a business genius, but more likely was lucky to sell his company to a gullible investor.
Him and Thomas ran the club, shooting from the hip.
http://www.theage.com.au/victoria/f...ng-almost-15m-court-told-20160309-gneccc.html

Watters was the coach.
If you want a StKilda analogy you need to go back to Rob Butterss, a guy who styled himself as a business genius, but more likely was lucky to sell his company to a gullible investor.
Him and Thomas ran the club, shooting from the hip.
http://www.theage.com.au/victoria/f...ng-almost-15m-court-told-20160309-gneccc.html
Still unexpectedly sacking a senior person.

It worked out fine for us, maybe it will for the dogs as well.

Just a whole lot of media beat up fueling the fire in my opinion.

YESSSS thank you has been doing my head in all night. can anyone explain his career briefly for me, how was he not a gun that every saints fan my age (22) should know. what went wrong? or is he just a player who looked great on highlights but in reality was average?
He had a really rough upbringing as a child and through his junior footy with racism. It continued at the Saints but he loved the footy club as we were one of the first to bring in indigenous players and at one stage he played alongside Nicky Winmar and Dale Kickett who were both aboriginals. I think he's loved the footy club for that, for the fact he was included and was part of a 'team'. I was shattered when he went to Brisbane. He was a terrific silky player who had a knack for the goals...almost glided across the park, similar to how a Daniel Wells moves in open space. Great to watch. Kicked 5 in that game against the Pies at Victoria Park in 1993 when Winmar lifted his guernsey. But Gil should be remembered for more than that.

sammy2.jpg

Would anybody be interested in bidding on this?
Donated by Sammy and going to a good cause in the Riverland where he comes from.
Worn by Sammy in the 2010 GF, I'm not sure which one though. It was ripped by Travis Cloak so work it out from there.

If anyone is interested let me know and I'll find out how you can place a bid.

The Elimination Final against Geelong in 91 was a great game of Footy, Lockett kicked 9.5 Gilbert played a good game and Bill Brownless kicked 8 :(

Well, if Bevo gets sick of coaching those dropkicks, he'd be more than welcome to come over to us and take the gig he was going to take with us before they offered him the coaching job. :)

View attachment 269651

Donated by Sammy and going to a good cause in the Riverland where he comes from.
Worn by Sammy in the 2010 GF, I'm not sure which one though. It was ripped by Travis Cloak so work it out from there.

Would love to add this to my collection but i reckon you'd want a bit for it and i prefer the bargains. Should be able to get $500+ for it.

Who did Ablett snipe? Was it Burke or Spud? Can't recall.
Got Grant with his elbow really early in the 1st also took Burke out.

I was down at Geelong the day he took Kristian Bardsley as well, cleaned him up real good. He was a animal Gary Snr Lol

In the summer we need a history thread and our older posters just have a chat.
Love reading about the club

In the summer we need a history thread and our older posters just have a chat.
Love reading about the club

That would be great. Let us get all grandpa simpson on each other :)

View attachment 269651

hold on to it until he wins a premiership medal this year and watch the price triple :p:p:p

anyone over 30 qualifies in my books :p:p:p

Haven't told anyone to get off my lawn yet but am similarly dismayed by people stating they're 90's babies as some sort of trophy, as it means they missed the 80's.

And you don't miss the 80's. The 80's was great fun.