General AFL Thread

Go Dees!!!

Perhaps we are better than some of us think!

Hogan not playing, either.

I think it also shows that Melbourne at the MCG will be a tricky proposition for us. We are in with a shot but it is not a lay down misere....

My hope is that we beat the Bombers in a fortnight as I think that might be the last real chance we have on paper to grab a win, (there is always a chance of an upset, i.e. if a team doesn't turn up to play but we do)....

Like Moorabbin Ghost said, hope we play well but hope the teams below us start to win games....

Other games are opening up as potential wins for us now I reckon, such as GWS (minus Mumford, Patfull, Davis and anyone else they lose in the meantime) and Port, even though they're both interstate. I think Melbourne will overtake us though, as their draw is much easier and they look to be playing very competitively. I also wouldn't pencil in our game v them by any means. Reckon we'll win at least 2 more games though.

I can't disagree with you mate!

I wonder if pick 4 is good enough to jag Parish? I think we miss him by one. Carlton and Brisbane - Schache and Weitering sure but Gold Coast is the wild card for mine. My hope is that they start to click once they get their guns back but who knows....

I can't disagree with you mate!

I wonder if pick 4 is good enough to jag Parish? I think we miss him by one. Carlton and Brisbane - Schache and Weitering sure but Gold Coast is the wild card for mine. My hope is that they start to click once they get their guns back but who knows....
I'd be happy with any of those 4 so I'm not fussed one bit.

Id be happy with Weitering, Francis or Parish sure but I don't see the need for Schache....

Looks like the Dees have got this though which is great!!
Schache will probably be gone by our pick as there are enough teams that could do with someone like him, but he could also be the answer to our forward/ruck dilemma long term, so I'd be perfectly happy for us to grab him. Very tall, big tank, good below his knees, takes contested marks and one of the best kicks for goal seen in recent years means he ticks a lot of good boxes.

I feel the same way. Top 6 in this draft are elite, happy with any of those players.

Happy to go with both your calls on this then....this is where its nice to have a great recruiting team as you know they will do the due diligence to ensure we grab the right kid based on who is available at our pick :)

Anyone see Terry Wallace on future stars this morning?
He is genuinely a very confused old man.
He was looking at our list vs melbourne at the prospect of us both peaking in 2018.
After taking out players that he thought wouldn't be there and looking at the youth predicted melbourne would be the better side as their youth has more 'runs on the board' with Hogan, Brayshaw,Salem ect with Petracca also coming in. But St.Kilda still has too many unknowns singling out McCartin & Goddard.

He was looking at our list vs melbourne at the prospect of us both peaking in 2018.
After taking out players that he thought wouldn't be there and looking at the youth predicted melbourne would be the better side as their youth has more 'runs on the board' with Hogan, Brayshaw,Salem ect with Petracca also coming in. But St.Kilda still has too many unknowns singling out McCartin & Goddard.
Bit of talk about this in the media thread mate.

Loved how he didn't name Sinclair and Acres in our best 22 for 2018. Just shows how much he knows about our list. #flog