General MFC Discussion 2.0

I never understood the Allen Richardson Hire - jsut reeks of mediocrity (at best)

I understand it perfectly, hes got a meek personality, Goody wants to be surrounded by yes men, Jennings and McCarthy both shown the door for having strong ideas different to his.

Have the Saints gone past us for good (next 5 years) or can we catch them again - would love to know peoples thoughts
Trying to think through if their list is much better or they are better coached - I think its the latter
Starts and ends with coaching, our club has the worst one in the AFL unfortunately

Wouldn’t say they’ve gone past us for 5 years, that’s an extraordinarily long time in footy. Definitely gone past us this year though.

Fair enough, maybe 3 is long term in AFL - the ultra successful clubs seem to have 3-5 year reigns in the top 4 though (Tigers, Cats, Hawks, WC). Agree this year is a no brainer, just trying to think how long it will remain so - consensus seems to be at least until we fix up our coaching / game plan

I understand it perfectly, hes got a meek personality, Goody wants to be surrounded by yes men, Jennings and McCarthy both shown the door for having strong ideas different to his.
I've been listening to Jennings on SEN the last few weeks. It's pretty obvious that he was the tactical mind behind our 2018 season. He's all over us and our strengths/weaknesses. Goody was insane to allow him to get away because he clearly doesn't have what Jennings has. Richo is no replacement for Jennings as a tactician.

Realistically speaking no. Saints will invariably fu** it up so don’t really stress there.

Since we’ve been roughly on the same timeline in rebuilds I’ve been keeping an eye on your team as well.

I honestly think your top end and midfield is better than ours (clearly). I’ve felt that we have a somewhat more even list with our role players being better (or better coached idk).

Invariably when we play it will be a close game cause both teams match up well with each other.

Realistically we have maybe 2 years before our wheels will fall off cause we’re the Saints.
Even so, still sounds better than our last 15 years...

I've been listening to Jennings on SEN the last few weeks. It's pretty obvious that he was the tactical mind behind our 2018 season. He's all over us and our strengths/weaknesses. Goody was insane to allow him to get away because he clearly doesn't have what Jennings has. Richo is no replacement for Jennings as a tactician.
He was shocking last season lol. Why would Goodwin listen to him one year and not the next? Remember how we went from 4th to 17th? Super easy to be a tactical mastermind after the piece and behind a radio microphone.

Goodwin asserting his dominance, listening less? The deterioration in Goodwin's relationship with his tactictian across that year? It actually fits pretty well...

You have way too much faith in the club if you believe Jennings was the issue.

It's been pretty wide know that they were butting heads all of last year, and our issues from last year still remain...hmm I wonder why?

Saints are pretty good. Probably a top 6 side this year, but they have still gotten shown up a couple of times. Losing to Freo and North might come back to haunt them. Their list is an odd one, a lot of b grade players across the park, no real stars, but not many obvious weaknesses either. They play a great style of footy, I've been a Ratten fan for ages. I remember back in 2012 telling a Carlton mate of mine how monumentally stupid the decision to sack him for Malthouse was at the time. They laughed at me.

Goodwin asserting his dominance, listening less? The deterioration in Goodwin's relationship with his tactictian across that year? It actually fits pretty well...

I mean who can possibly know? Jennings lauded Goodwin's creativity as a coach a few weeks back. I think everyone on this board would be scratching their head at that remark. I know this is a footy forum and speculation goes hand in glove here but none of us know what on earth is happening within the four walls of the club. Maybe Devastating Boris

True, but he’s 10 games in and took over at a club who are a basket case off field and a VFL club on it, Goodwins in his 6th year and does things you and I can agree are ******* mental, Goodwins putrid

Adelaide were two games out of the 8 last year.

I don't understand how Craig Jennings can be behind our success and not behind our tactical failings in 2019. We failed to adapt to 6-6-6 that year, wouldn't that work be clearly within his portfolio?

I don't buy that he had a million and one brilliant ideas and Goody chose to not listen to them.

Doesn't mean they still weren't a basket case with the arse about to fall out
Maybe. Their list isn't THAT bad though. On paper their side would smash 2012 Melbourne.

Saints are playing well but not sure how they'll go against the good teams at the pointy end of the year. Like others have said, they're playing really well as a team and their role players are playing very well and seem to understand what is required of them. They kick heaps of easy goals, which I think is a clear sign that the system is working. They're 1-2 elite midfielders short, though, and can get bullied around the ball a bit. Steele has had an excellent year for them, should be their next captain imo.

I don't understand how Craig Jennings can be behind our success and not behind our tactical failings in 2019. We failed to adapt to 6-6-6 that year, wouldn't that work be clearly within his portfolio?

I don't buy that he had a million and one brilliant ideas and Goody chose to not listen to them.

There were times in 2018 that it was pretty clear they weren't getting along. The win against Adelaide springs to mind. Goody patting him on the head and Jennings not wanting a bar of him. Think it had been festering for a long time.

Jennings coached us to an AFL X premiership, how quick some of you are to forget that! 😎 Ungrateful heathens!

Saints are playing well but not sure how they'll go against the good teams at the pointy end of the year. Like others have said, they're playing really well as a team and their role players are playing very well and seem to understand what is required of them. They kick heaps of easy goals, which I think is a clear sign that the system is working. They're 1-2 elite midfielders short, though, and can get bullied around the ball a bit. Steele has had an excellent year for them, should be their next captain imo.

I could definitely see Chris Scott outcoaching them on Monday.

There were times in 2018 that it was pretty clear they weren't getting along. The win against Adelaide springs to mind. Goody Patti g him on the head and Jennings not wanting a bar of him. Think it had been festering for a long time.

Jennings coached us to an AFL X premiership, how quick some of you are to forget that! 😎 Ungrateful heathens!

He also promised a Backgammon premiership which never came to fruition. False prophet.

Maybe. Their list isn't THAT bad though. On paper their side would smash 2012 Melbourne.

Lot of baggage/trust issues still remain from crazy Pikey going all Blair Witch Project on the playing group

On the topic of Adelaide I do think Don Pyke would be worth a look at as a coach or even to fill Richardsons role. No coach has ever been sacked with as high a win/loss record as him (60%). Adelaide at their best were a pleasure to watch when he was coach.