General MFC Discussion 2.0

Oh jesus you're exhausting to talk to. I was about to say how pointless this conversation was since we were essentially arguing whether Nicks had an excuse for having the worst start to his career that any coach has ever had and I seriously don't care. I think we've already had that conversation, but since you basically just repeat the same three points over and over I honestly can't be bothered.
Mate I agree, talk to TK the Nicks thing is his baby I could care less, my point was Goodwin is shit which to be honest I didn’t think would be very controversial around here, but I’m more than happy to discuss why I think that, last time we got bogged down over one word

Mate I agree, talk to TK the Nicks thing is his baby I could care less, my point was Goodwin is sh*t which to be honest I didn’t think would be very controversial around here, but I’m more than happy to discuss why I think that, last time we got bogged down over one word

I honestly don't see the point. The consensus on Goodwin on this board is pretty clear. It's basically a spectrum of average to complete shit. I think we both know where each of us stand on that. We're probably stuck with him until at least the end of 2021 unless Bartlett pulls the trigger, but such an action would be ballsy in the middle of a pandemic and financial crisis. I don't see it happening unless we finish bottom 6 again and Clarkson is super gettable.

Would picking up Clarkson be like Carlton picking up Malthouse?
Don’t think so, Clarkson appears to still be at the peck of his powers and our clubs list isn’t as devoid of talent as Carltons was. I’d love to see what decent coaching could do for our list.

I'm just worried that because we don't have any early picks this year we're gonna have to address our needs via trade/free agent or with what we've already got. Plus whose gonna want to come to us?
Jeez brother don't stress, we have 20 odd players out of contract. Other clubs have equal amounts out too. There will be a lot of salary cap free.

Would picking up Clarkson be like Carlton picking up Malthouse?

When Carlton picked up Malthouse they had an extremely overrated list. Malthouse had been coaching for about 25 years and basically joined them out of spite for being overthrown at Collingwood.

I think people forget just how talented that 2010-11 Collingwood team was. They had stars all over the field. That team would have been difficult to **** up. Remember Mark Neeld was the so-called mastermind of strategy at that side. When Buckley took over he was an incredibly ordinary coach, wasted a good part of that teams peak and pushed a lot of their talent out.

Clarkson is still a fantastic coach that has a dead in the water list to work with. He can still take it right up to the best teams on his day.

Clarkson is a genius, ahead of the times, ingenuitive .Will make the hard calls on players that need to be made.

Malthouse was a crusty old man stuck in his ways who believed he was always right and it was his way or the highway, and held onto his pets well past their used by date.

Clarkson is a genius, ahead of the times, ingenuitive. Will make the hard calls on players that need to be made.
Not sure there's much evidence of that at the moment. They should have had a clean-out after we turfed them out of the finals in 2018.

I mainly was referring to Mitchell and Lewis, MM would have kept both to the death.

Who have they got now that you could say is well past it? Frawley maybe? Poppy?

Reckon their win vs Carlton the other week when down 5 goals to zip in the first quarter and shit it in by full time shows you Clarko is still a damn good match day coach. Unlike us when we are facing any sort of deficit.

Clarkson is a genius, ahead of the times, ingenuitive .Will make the hard calls on players that need to be made.

Malthouse was a crusty old man stuck in his ways who believed he was always right and it was his way or the highway, and held onto his pets well past their used by date.
Genius is a much over used word, he is a very good coach and seems to get the best out of his players. He may be entitled to that sobriquet if and when he takes a MFC/SMFC type club to the pinnacle, something the mighty Ronald Dale couldn't even do.

Loved for use of sobriquet, fancy schmansy

Clarkson would instantly have the respect of the players and has that aura about him not unlike Roos where if he speaks you listen, even if he's being an angry campaigner. Knows how to fit players into proper roles too, rather than chucking 8 midfielders around the board like 4th grade suburban footy.

Nibbler out for FOUR matches:
"The jury conclude the impact of the tackle is 'severe' and have suspended Alex Neal-Bullen for FOUR matches "

The panel considered the medical report and action when judging the incident 'severe'. While the panel didn’t suggest Neal-Bullen had any malice in the action, they considered the medical report from Adelaide, which said Hamill is set to miss at least two matches as a result of head trauma. The four-match ban took into account the guilty plea of Neal-Bullen, his character references and record, his remorse and his efforts to make contact with Hamill following the incident, along with the medical report.

They really f**ked him over :poo:

Always nice to set an example on players that aren't revered [emoji106]

Should have been 2 weeks imo. Nib has a clean record, just like Burgoyne. [emoji848]
Should have punch some campaigner in the head

Would have got a week that way

Sent from my SM-G981B using Tapatalk

So how come Clarkson is a genius for moving on cooked Lewis and Mitchell, who had won best and fairest and all australians etc, yet Bailey ruined Melbourne moving on a cooked James McDonald whos list of achievements is nothing compared to those players?

Just curious.

Should have punch some campaigner in the head

Would have got a week that way

Sent from my SM-G981B using Tapatalk
Punch in head, while they're on the ground. That's fine apparently.

You can only sling tackle if you've played a lot of games and are a media personality/good bloke.

**** the AFL 'sending a message" is a joke. Why one rule one day, and a new rule the next? The ****ing campaigners did the same with trengove 10 years ago on Dangerfield.

Steve Hocking would have been all over this the corrupt ****wit. He's a cancer on the AFL and is driving it into oncoming traffic at high speed.

For what it's worth the tackle was horrid and deserves 2 games. Comparatively to other incidents this year, 4 weeks is a considerable face **** to the MFC yet again.

So how come Clarkson is a genius for moving on cooked Lewis and Mitchell, who had won best and fairest and all australians etc, yet Bailey ruined Melbourne moving on a cooked James McDonald whos list of achievements is nothing compared to those players?

Just curious.

One has the clout to make those sort of decisions while the other doesn't?