Mega Thread General MFC Discussion Part III

Tbh, as much as I like him, Weird is no certainty to come straight in. Had solid form last year but he's been patchy over his career and TMc has been doing enough I think to hold the 2nd tall forward spot with Brown back.
Sure he could go on a wing potentially but I don't know that we'll really need Weird in the side (or of his form will warrant it).

Tbh, as much as I like him, Weird is no certainty to come straight in. Had solid form last year but he's been patchy over his career and TMc has been doing enough I think to hold the 2nd tall forward spot with Brown back.
Sure he could go on a wing potentially but I don't know that we'll really need Weird in the side (or of his form will warrant it).
Yeah agreed, Weid doesn't get a game for being tall now, he needs to actually play well. Now I can actually see a world where Weid gets traded out at the end of the year because he can't get a consistent game

To Carlton for Dow and O'Brien? That's worth.

Was literally talking to a neutral fan about this couple hours ago. I don't think there is a spot in the current side for Weid, he has to displace Jackson who is far better in the ruck.

Actually wonder if the Pies will go hard for him.
They probably would too, if they choose to go through a rebuild, he would be perfect as he's already developed but young enough to see it through and still be in his prime when they come good. But they'd have to cough up a fair bit i'm guessing. Weed is a best 22 player who we haven't seen the best of yet.

Was literally talking to a neutral fan about this couple hours ago. I don't think there is a spot in the current side for Weid, he has to displace Jackson who is far better in the ruck.
He might actually be the back up.

Or plot twist he becomes the next Darcy Moore haha

They probably would too, if they choose to go through a rebuild, he would be perfect as he's already developed but young enough to see it through and still be in his prime when they come good. But they'd have to cough up a fair bit i'm guessing. Weed is a best 22 player who we haven't seen the best of yet.
I don't think he's best 22 by the end of the year necessarily which makes him primed for a trade away. Can't play Weid Brown and Jackson together I don't think.

I think you can, we haven't seen it yet anyway. The forward line would be
Fritsch Weed ANB
Pickett Brown Jackson (Spargo) (Tracc and Gawn rotating through)
Fritsch plays higher up the ground, Jackson is a second ruck and there's still plenty of pressure from Kozzie Spargo and ANB. They should be able to play together, but who knows.

Fritsch Weed ANB
Fritsch plays higher up the ground, Jackson is a second ruck and there's still plenty of pressure from Kozzie Spargo and ANB. They should be able to play together, but who knows.
Fritsch plays tall, so you're playing 4 marking types and 2 smalls. That forward line doesn't work especially because Brown isn't a mobile tall, he slows us down heaps.

I doubt they'd all be on the field at once so it might be 3 and 3, can definitely get away with that, especially if our ball use inside 50 keeps on improving.

I don't think so, can't have a bench spot permanently for a resting tall. Besides if we kick well why do we need 4 talls, you can only ever kick it to one at a time.

Fritsch Weed ANB

Nah this is way too tall and would kill our forward pressure. TMac at least can play up the ground and is a bit more versatile, Fritsch effectively plays a full forward role so we can't fit three mark and kick players in the same F50 (Brown, Weid, Fritsch). Jackson stays because he frees up Gawn a heap, Brown is a better player than Weid so he is in and the same for Fritsch.

2 things.

1. Fritsch is our most dangerous marking forward inside 50. He's not playing up the ground.
2. Are we all forgetting that Jackson is an inside mid? When BBB and Weid are back, Jacko just moves on ball and dominates Koutoufides-style
Holy shit you're a genius

2 things.

1. Fritsch is our most dangerous marking forward inside 50. He's not playing up the ground.
2. Are we all forgetting that Jackson is an inside mid? When BBB and Weid are back, Jacko just moves on ball and dominates Koutoufides-style

Time to put #2 to bed I think. 😂

He's looking more and more like a KPF/ruck every week .

Actually wonder if the Pies will go hard for him.
With what I wonder? A second? Player and pick? Pies don’t have a first.

People are really spaffing over McDonald's second good game since 2018. And he kicked six in the other one.

Interesting that some are already writing off one of our better players from last year and projecting trading him after round 4.

How many losses will it take for you to all resume cracking eachother's heads open and feasting on the goo inside?

People are really spaffing over McDonald's second good game since 2018. And he kicked six in the other one.

Interesting that some are already writing off one of our better players from last year and projecting trading him after round 4.

How many losses will it take for you to all resume cracking eachother's heads open and feasting on the goo inside?

Quit the condescending bs whilst proceeding to add nothing to the discussion mate. Pretty obvious TMac is playing a different role to what Weid is playing anyway. Weid kicked 19 goals in 13 games last year and touched the ball less than 10 times on average, sure the games were shorter but he absolutely will (Rightly) have to fight for his spot rather than be rushed back in.

Who's writing him off?

Has Weid got work to do to earn, and then cement his spot? Yes - there have been signs, but not enough that he's guaranteed best 22.

Do I think he will do it? Absolutely. He's shown he's got all the tools in the kit, and can perform on the big stage ('18 finals). Consistency is the challenge to overcome and the key to that is trust in his body and belief in his ability - I reckon this year and next we will see that really blossom and he'll start to impose himself on games. He's only 23.