Due to a number of factors, support for the current BigFooty mobile app has been discontinued. Your BigFooty login will no longer work on the Tapatalk or the BigFooty App - which is based on Tapatalk.
Apologies for any inconvenience. We will try to find a replacement.

Do you think Mfc would have had a choice of better mature fill-ins, than these you listed.?Ill never forget that offseason when we brought in Dawes, Gillies, Byrnes, Rodan and Pedo.. there were actual Melbourne supporters happy with those moves.
well I' will have to wear that one of your fantasies, won't I.Next old mate will be telling us that Fritch will be a finals flop but then say it was actually a plot to spur him
Do you think Mfc would have had a choice of better mature fill-ins, than these you listed.?
Most AFL players would not have wanted to come to the Melbourne of old. Because they had no respect for us for the way we've been for the longest time.
Yet the issue remained, that we needed mature players to come in and to help guide the club in a better direction.
Well, it worked, and here we are. With a 13th Premiership..!
Matt Burgan is the true master behind the scenes of our success. His uniquely awkward brand of interviewing players after 15 goal losses helped them to reflect on the historical shortcomings of the club and the deeply rooted cultural issues that needed to be overcome. His service will never be forgotten.
The succession plan for similarly awkward Ben Gibson has been a roaring success though.Bloke was nearly in tears interviewing players sometimes, could tell he felt so bad for them
well I' will have to wear that one of your fantasies, won't I.
And with a 13th Flag, i am happy to do just that.
Mind you, I also put a website fire under Big Maxy years back, when he was amateurish.
And then Petracca about 3 seasons back. about his lack of 2nd and 3rd efforts, and his poor fitness.
And then Oliver in about 2019/20... and his flippant handballs over the top and hospital hand-passes putting teammates under the pump and his lack of moving with ball and kicking more.
Now going back awhile, to where Maxy was injured mid season, in was it 2018, or 2017? I suggested throwing TMc forward as a mobile forward/ruck; And Pedo in the ruck as well.
Max and Viney both were injured in the latter half of that season. Viney with his foot complaint. and maybe TMc injured as well? Was it the same year.
I was a supporter of Pedo turning things around, when others wanted him off the list.
So old mate, I am a verry happy interventionist.
I'd recommend you avail yourself of the ignore functionality.Incredible that the players and coaches read your posts to put all that amazing strategy into action [emoji23][emoji23][emoji23]
No they weren't. Depends how you look at it.They were fails, apart from Pedo, who only ended up working out once Roos took over. You could have run your list 5 men short and it would have worked out better given we gave up pick 20 & 47 and 600k contract for Dawes.
It is, isn't it. And didn't fritz have something to prove in that finals series, last season.Incredible that the players and coaches read your posts to put all that amazing strategy into action [emoji23][emoji23][emoji23]
No they weren't. Depends how you look at it.
Building an AFL list is like hopping from rock to rock, to get across the stream, or River if you prefer. You start from the lower levels of your team, when getting beaten, and add in players, pieces, or rocks if you will, from season to season; to get to the other end of your ambitions.
A story of attrition. If the club has a sound sort of culture in the first place.
Look at the Cfc and how they got down into the mire. They're culture was awful for some time, and they won they're past flags from buying players from Sydney, thru Edelstone. Rhys-Jones, Barry Mitchell, Greg Williams, all at an easy transaction from a Carlton supporter, who happened to own the Sydney Swans.!
And mega support from that pratt.
Its taken them 20 something years of woe. and only now, lately, have they started to come out of it, and started to build a list. And still they white-ant other clubs.
So back to the topic of Dawes and crew. They helped to steer the club in the right direction on and off the field even IF they weren't that great as individual footballers.
Dawes was cooked, but still able to make the Melbourne side. He tried to help watts, but to no real avail. One of the trade outs, that Roosy had to do, to help the club.
He who just wanna have fun. watts.
I'll just go and powder my nose, and be back in a flash.
Yes he was leading a few astray, inc' Petracca, i am led to believe. He had to GO.!
Roosy did a fine job, and gave the players back responsibility as they went along. starting with our percentages... becoming harder to play against. Sound familiar.
Recruiting players who are more experienced than what you have, to support the young talent, is crucial. Even if the mature players don't have the same level of talent.
They all helped to build us, to get us to where we are today.
Knackerbag, well i haven't heard that one in a while.Roosy didn't trade out watts knackerbag. Would think you'd know that with all your inside knowledge
A GWS fan, what do you mean?Carn Whooooo, we've been down this road before and it ended up with you being a GWS fan for a while there, I know you have fond memories/want to try and squeeze positives from an era no one else does and thats up to you, just dont expect that youre going to convince anyone else otherwise
A GWS fan, what do you mean?
An 'anti hero', around here, it seems. But he is a part of our history, and in the scheme of things, only a very short time before we achieved our ultimate success.Im convinced, Mark Neeld is a hero
So Roos didn't trade him ****ed that one up didn't ya.Knackerbag, well i haven't heard that one in a while.
Wattsy. You've forgotten when Roosy didn't want to drop him, the season prior, until late in the season, and the next season he was chopped, after not being in fit shape.
Roosy had him stamped in 2016. Goody gave him another chance. just one.
Well inside knowledge, hmmn. lets see. we could have had Templeton, and Moore, or David Cloke, Or Lockett and Frawley.
Did you know about that one?
righto chief.I have never been Dr who, and rarely ever watched that show. and didn't fit that nerdy style.Well, if you are who Proper Gander says you are , you are Dr Whoooooooo, last time seen on big footy was an ex MFC now GWS fan, but you would already know that so I dont know why im explaining it to you.![]()
An 'anti hero', around here, it seems. But he is a part of our history, and in the scheme of things, only a very short time before we achieved our ultimate success.
So he didn't blow the club up, but he did blow up the old culture, whether by hook or by crook. Or good or poor management.
Others will speculate from outside and come up with they're preferred answers, that suit themselves.
I have never been Dr who, and rarely ever watched that show. and didn't fit that nerdy style.
No I don't have an alias here. So there is one avatar you can forget about. that aint me.
Yes, it was on Goody's watch, i did forget that timeline, but I was 100% behind the decision, as I was ahead of time Re Hogan.So Roos didn't trade him f’ed that one up didn't ya.
Lockett and Frawleyrighto chief.