Mega Thread General MFC Discussion Part III

Thought Mayzie started to find a bit of form against North, as much as that means.

Steven May (Melbourne)

“No, no, no, no. He’s got a bit of improvement left in him I think, Steven.”

May has played five games in 2023 and Hoyne’s remarks come as a surprise given the 31-year-old’s position as one of the league’s best.

The Melbourne star is down on disposals and rebound 50s in 2023 compared to last year’s figures and has conceded six goals to direct opponents in the past two weeks.

Mayzie is tracking at 31.8% for defensive 1 on 1 losses, that's the worst of his career.

For the record, he's averaging 4.4 of those per game this year, in our flag year he averaged 4.1, so it's not like there's been a massive shift in what's happening on field.

As the resident Tasmania expert just adding my 10c.

100% should be Devils. There is historic significance and has strong recognition outside Tasmania. Devils vs Demons is no issue, one is a mythical creature, one is a small marsupial.

FYI Jack Jumpers was perfect for the NBL team - they are an aggressive endemic ant that can jump large distances and have a really nasty bite, they pack a big punch for something so small, just like Tassie.

You thought about whether you'll switch allegiances to the Tassie team yet mate?

Yeah, will be buying a membership and they will be my no 1 team. But I've been following the Dees for 35 years so will still be supporting them as well.

I think I'm gonna be the opposite / buy memberships for both teams but I can't imagine not supporting the Dees as my No.1

Could just pray for Melbourne to fold so it’s an easy decision 😍

Even then I couldn't, the Seattle Sonics got moved to OKC and I stopped following the NBA, tried supporting a different team but nothing ever felt right :(

Yeah I wouldn't even watch footy anymore if Melbourne folded but there's something about following the team through generations and all the names that makes it meaningful.

Apparently bombers and swans are looking at Omac as a possibility in the midseason draft...
I can now understand why we re-signed Joel Smith on a 2 year deal.

There really is a lack of mature key position talent in the AFL if Omac is getting a call up in the midseason draft. Damn, that's bleak.