Society & Culture Getting called the wrong name

• Thread starter Thread starter MrNatural

Anyone else have some funny stories about getting their name mispronounced/misidentified?

You make some good points there, MrNeutral. :thumbsu:

I remember i was up in Kalbarry on a fishing trip, this guy came up to me while i was cooking the bbq. I introduced myself " G'day mate im Brad how are you " He replies not bad doug, not bad (my fishing buddies have locked themselves in the dorm laughing their heads off. He sat down and had a chat for about 15 mins, the bbq cooked so im turn to him say something like " Aight mate, im off. I will catch you tomorrow yea out on the beach " He turns to me again and says " No worries doug, it was good to meet you doug, take it easy mate "

In his defence, I think he had a few beers by that time. I must of told 2-3 times what my name was. I just gave up in the end :D

Maybe OP comes from a part of the country (outer-suburban/fringe Melbourne) where people tend to have broad/nasally accents, which affects not only the way they process sounds but perhaps even the way the OP himself pronounces his name.

'Mahnames De^en, not Dairn'

'Oh, Dhayne?'

'No, De^en'

'Yeah I said Dairn'

'No, Dee, Eeh, Aye, Ehn'

'Oh, De^en. That's'n e^ezy nayme.'

I remember i was up in Kalbarry on a fishing trip, this guy came up to me while i was cooking the bbq. I introduced myself " G'day mate im Brad how are you " He replies not bad doug, not bad (my fishing buddies have locked themselves in the dorm laughing their heads off. He sat down and had a chat for about 15 mins, the bbq cooked so im turn to him say something like " Aight mate, im off. I will catch you tomorrow yea out on the beach " He turns to me again and says " No worries doug, it was good to meet you doug, take it easy mate "

In his defence, I think he had a few beers by that time. I must of told 2-3 times what my name was. I just gave up in the end :D
*Kalbarri

Not related to my name but I've noticed Victorians pronounce some words oddly.

For example, Geelong's James Kelly becomes James Kally.

Alcohol becomes Elcohol

The Victorian Alps become the Victorian Elps.

Maybe OP comes from a part of the country (outer-suburban/fringe Melbourne) where people tend to have broad/nasally accents, which affects not only the way they process sounds but perhaps even the way the OP himself pronounces his name.

'Mahnames De^en, not Dairn'

'Oh, Dhayne?'

'No, De^en'

'Yeah I said Dairn'

'No, Dee, Eeh, Aye, Ehn'

'Oh, De^en. That's'n e^ezy nayme.'

I do come from the outer suburbs, but i cant see that as a reason.

Not related to my name but I've noticed Victorians pronounce some words oddly.

For example, Geelong's James Kelly becomes James Kally.

Alcohol becomes Elcohol

The Victorian Alps become the Victorian Elps.

I've always wondered why the Australian accent doesn't differ greatly from state to state.
Comparing us to the UK and USA, where you can get people who have clear difference in their accents, yet are only separated by a river or something.
Whereas, in oz, we have great distances between people, yet we all sound pretty much the same