Roast Getting fed up with the commentating

We need Press Red for Ed every week

The funniest was when the Tigers tried it with KB
They had all the gear on in the box and were peacocking about and then got beat
The stunned look on their faces was absolutely brilliant
Ha ha I never knew that, I'd love the press red games to be a regular thing

This gripe is not an anti-collingwood one, but I'm really sick of the stupid tropes these commentators use over and over again because they're not creative or smart enough to come up with new dialogue. Examples:

*Player takes a mark running backwards
Commentator: "Awwww look at that, such courage!"

*Shit team/underdog loses close game
Commentator: "They were brave"

*Player runs fast
Commentator: "That's great running!" - All players should know how to ****ing RUN FFS!

Another example of bias on the Sunday footy show, idiot Cornes drops Pendlebury from his AA team on the back of his 34 disposals yesterday. Apparently others are “more damaging” never mind Pendlebury was arguably best on ground.
The 2 mids who came in were Yeo (26 disposals last week) and Shuey (29 last week). Yeo was named bog and Shuey got the coaches votes, but I take issue with Pendlebury being not being damaging enough.
Cornes' AA team? - who gives a f^^k? Who remembers anything to do with AA? - bit of kudos for a while for the players - excuse for the AFL to have another excruciatingly boring function hosted by a rubber mouth wan^er.
Do the AA teams have reunions in 5, 10 ,20 years time? Bet the ans is NO. Flags matter, it's flags that are remembered and treasured - premiership players have reunions
So let Cornes rabbit on about HIS? AA team - irrelevant, boring and everything else one normally associates with Adelaide

As others have said there are too many ex players in the commentary box like Dunstall and Brown who hate Collingwood.We clearly need some ex Collingwoood players to commentate on games to balance the ledger,but unfortunately there are none at the moment,and there haven't been any for quite a while now.

Yeah that is true, but Eddie is not a very good caller either, he makes just as many mistakes as the others and he always calls in worn out footy cliche's
A pet peeve I have is, I've never heard Ed say any thing other than "he runs into the open goal" when someone kicks a goal, I always wondered if he has ever said "he runs into a closed goal", not that its a huge issue, its just symptomatic of the dearth of professional callers
Mistake alert - no apostrophe needed in "cliches" - simple plural in this case

Cheers! :)

Genuinely can't stand hearing Johnathon Brown's ******ed thoughts. He thinks he's intelligent or insightful not a bogan w***er who happened to be good at a sport. I can't stand the bloke.

Doesn't help that I've met him in person twice through mutual acquaintances and he's a genuinely cocky piece of crap with one of the worst senses of humour I've ever witnessed in person.
I can't imagine him having a high level of wit.

The poor bastard is stupid plain and simple love the way the rest of the commentators try to make him into an analyst

You're right. He's simply a clueless moron. At the start of the season he wrote up that Melbourne would go undefeated this year. If I was as wrong as him in my job I'd be lining up at Centrelink

He's AFL's version of Brad Fitler. Pun, Pun, Cliche, Simile, Pun, Receive Pay-check, Rinse-Repeat

Years ago there was a Footy caller on the ABC (can't think of his name) who only called the actual play, for instance he would say it like: "Pendlebury in the middle, handballs to Treloar on the edge of the square, who short passes to Mihocek on the 50 who will take a set shot at goal"
No theatrics, no screaming, no weird names for footballers. He was so good to listen to

Many would consider that as boring as batshit.

Many folks love personality.

And many folks love to complain about flogs.

Consider Rex Hunt back in his heyday ...

... anybody listening to him would have had NFI what was going on in the game, but they still found his call entertaining.

Who agrees that Lingy is unbearable and Bruce (questions)Mcavanity
We had a game against the Cats a few years ago and we were flogging them and Joffa brought out a handbag (an old Geelong stereotype).
Lingy said something like "you weren't waving that around in 2011 were you Joffa?". Not much bias there at all pretty boy.

As a lover of this game like all of us are I would like to watch a game where the commentators do exactly that...commentate.
The bias against our club by commentators is getting really tiresome. It's unprofessional.

To be fair ...

... it’s common for the commentators to barrack for whoever is losing, in an effort to bring some drama to what might otherwise be a boring game. That’s what McAvaney generally does.

Dunstall is arguably the worst of the lot. Every game he focuses on our opposition and groans when they mess up play, and he jumps out of his seat to question frees that go our way - look no further than Howe’s yesterday compared to the reaction they gave for Fogarty’s dive just before HT.

Round 23 last year when we needed to beat Freo to make top 4 he was flat out cheering against us for the entire game.
Arguably? Who is going to argue with you? He is a pig of the highest order. I still remember him saying Jesse White should have given a free kick away for below the knee contact against GC some years ago. White was trying to take a diving mark. All the other commentators were trying to tell him you cant give a free kick away like that if you are attempting a mark because thats not what there rule was trying to do. He told them they were wrong and kept banging on.

During the week he was on one of those panel shows after the umps declared it was the correct call and Dunstall was just being a flog. He still argued his case.

Can the AFL please set some standards so that I can watch my team play without having to listen to commentators blatantly support the opposition.

I’ve often wondered why the commentators even bother to make any pretense about being neutral.

Why don’t they just fill the commentary box with half blantantly pro-Collingwood and the other half blantantly pro-Adelaide?

Or allow viewers to select whether they want to listen to a pro-Collingwood commentary or a pro-Adelaide commentary - kinda like ‘Press red for Ed’.

I’ve often wondered why the commentators even bother to make any pretense about being neutral.

Why don’t they just fill the commentary box with half blantantly pro-Collingwood and the other half blantantly pro-Adelaide?

Or allow viewers to select whether they want to listen to a pro-Collingwood commentary or a pro-Adelaide commentary - kinda like ‘Press red for Ed’.
All sports in America do this....and since we follow them in every other aspect....it will just be a matter of time

There’s a reason we copy America ...

... it’s because they have a more competitive marketplace, they take risks, they try different things. We just sit back, wait and watch them to see what works, and then blatantly copy them.

There’s a reason we copy America ...

... it’s because they have a more competitive marketplace, they take risks, they try different things. We just sit back, wait and watch them to see what works, and then blatantly copy them.
The thing with that BIG - and it's huuuuge compared with ours - market place is that there is a big margin of error.

Also what is forgotten by so many Australian executives is that . .

What works for a couple of hundred million often doesn't for 20 mil.

Roast Getting fed up with the commentating