Getting Kicked While You Are Down

McVeigh was one of the form midfielders in the comp before he did his hammy? What are you getting at mate?

It is a reflection of our list. If he is our best, it is the reason we are in for a long rebuild, one that I am fine with to be honest as that is where I see our list at. Every club in the AFL have a midfielder with maybe the exception of Melbourne, to be of better quality than McVeigh. That is the reality of our list right now.

How is it a reflection of our list?

BTW McVeigh isn't our best player ;) - That would be Lucas.

Football isn't about individuals, its team performance - I don't see how McVeigh not being elite would affect this assertion.

I just received this in an email from a mate who is obviously a Hawthorn supporter:

"Where to start? All I’ll say is this – McVeigh is your best player hahahahahahaha (tears are literally running down my face). Without bias he would be extremely lucky to get a game for Hawthorn, maybe off the bench now that we’ve lost Guerra for a few weeks.

Your recruiters are crap so no doubt they’ll stuff it up again at draft time like they always do! Your coach is bargain-basement garbage and he leads a team of no-hopers, never-wills and has-beens. The club is in turmoil on and off the field – deal with it!!! Haha gold"

My lord, years of being an arrogant Essendon supporter have surely caught up with me!

Well, what do you think of that my fellow Essendon supporters, this is what I'm having to endure, do you have similar tales?

I know how you feel, my boss and others have been giving it to me for 3 years now, suck it up. :D

I just received this in an email from a mate who is obviously a Hawthorn supporter:

"Where to start? All I’ll say is this – McVeigh is your best player hahahahahahaha (tears are literally running down my face). Without bias he would be extremely lucky to get a game for Hawthorn, maybe off the bench now that we’ve lost Guerra for a few weeks.

Your recruiters are crap so no doubt they’ll stuff it up again at draft time like they always do! Your coach is bargain-basement garbage and he leads a team of no-hopers, never-wills and has-beens. The club is in turmoil on and off the field – deal with it!!! Haha gold"

My lord, years of being an arrogant Essendon supporter have surely caught up with me!

Well, what do you think of that my fellow Essendon supporters, this is what I'm having to endure, do you have similar tales?

Let the fools enjoy their little moment in the sun.

They've had nothing to cheer for in the last decade or so so it's perfectly normal for them to single out a great club like ours who just happens to be struggling at the moment.

Just shows that despite all their tough talk they know deep down inside that we are a club to be feared and they haven't had a chance to stick it to us for so damn long so it's natural they will eat it up right now.

It's just gonna make our rise back to the top (which will happen sooner rather than later) all the more sweeter in the end. ;)

1) i am proud of the fact that spike is our best midfielder. he has worked his arse off for this club, and with hirdy's departure has taken on the spiritual leadership of the group. he had 30 touches and kicked four goals against carlton. he was on his way to burying footscray until injured. have no fear, Mcveigh back in the middle with a game under his belt should be a huge relief to all essendon fans.

2) i don't give a flying f... what hawthorn fans think or say. they fear us, and have done since 1984. Even dermie has admitted it - whenever they faced essendon, no matter what the situation, they were very edgy. yes, they have the edge right now, and good luck to them, but we will be back. suck it up, everyone, and remember why every other clubs supporter's are so gleefull.

Football isn't about individuals, its team performance - I don't see how McVeigh not being elite would affect this assertion.

You do not want a borderline A Class mid, and I am being generous there as before this year he was a B grade to C grade mid, being your best player. Due to that we are in for a LONG rebuild and I have complete trust in Knights but I do think Hardwick was more on the money with his 5 year plan becuase frankly thats the mark I see it before we are challenging again. Football may be a team game, BUT you need quality mids, and usually more than 1. Look at all the previous premierships, even Sydney had TWO genuine A Class mids, we don't have one. That is a frank opinion on how our list is. So people on here imaging we'll come 10th this year, or making the finals in 2009 will be in for a bit of a shock. We are nowhere near finals quality.

our list is shit. where to start!!!!
lets talk about the ________s who dont deserve to wear our jumper. Even my pa who played for us says it. Stanton should never have got #5, loves a loose ball get and has never kicked straight. adam mcphee is the most useless prick going around. built like tarzan plays like jane. get some balls!!! monfries can get it but cant deliver, along with most of the midfielders.
get some guts into you bombers. follow the expmple of ryder, mcveigh and reimers who stand up for us and have a real hard crack. mcveigh obviously passed up #5 because he deserves it! remiers is a breath of fresh air from all the punces that have come through windy hill recently, we finally have a mongrel with skill.
Lets get some talent from the draft this year and stop recycling players. Start to rebuild properly and ship off the pretenders. This means you lovett murray, stanton, mcphee and co, stop putting in a half decent perfermace every 2 weeks so you keep getting picked and get some pride.
on a lighter note, winderlich(once he gets over the hird crisis of always injured) is gonna be a great player and mcveigh i feel sorry for. hopefully daniher scrubs up ok but im nervous. neagle has a crack and actually crashes packs unlike courteny johns who should put people in hospital.

cenqui

Hislop, Lonergan, Houli, Myers, Dempsey, Reimers.... and Rich ;)

Looks like a decent bunch of midfielders for the future.

Yeah could be but really none of them have done anything. I think that is our biggest worry, McVeigh is the only one who looks certain to hold down a midfield position.

Even better, a 31 year old is about best player, taking over from a 34 year old last season... that's certainly got my hopes up! :rolleyes:

Yeah could be but really none of them have done anything. I think that is our biggest worry, McVeigh is the only one who looks certain to hold down a midfield position.

Donners your making no sense at all. First you say that we need to rebuild and draft young mids to take us to the next level, and then you say McVeigh is the only player that looks like he can hold down a midfield position, stating that none of the other "young" players have done anything. First and second year players only averaging 15-20 touches in the midfield, gee that's terrible isn't it!! Lets draft 2 or 3 more young mids who may or may not show as much as these young guys have shown in their first season or two.

Then when in two years time and we are starting to have a good midfield unit with Watson, Lonergan, McVeigh, Hislop, Houli, Jetta, Myers, Hocking and Reimers (and possibly another draft pick from this year) you will claim that it was your brilliant idea to start rebuilding and draft midfielders.

Can't you see most of the drafting is already done? We just need these players to develop. In the meantime lets focus on getting game time into the future of our club, and enjoying the vintage form that we are seeing from one of our most passionate players in McVeigh and stop whinging that our midfield is crap.

Donners your making no sense at all. First you say that we need to rebuild and draft young mids to take us to the next level, and then you say McVeigh is the only player that looks like he can hold down a midfield position, stating that none of the other "young" players have done anything. First and second year players only averaging 15-20 touches in the midfield, gee that's terrible isn't it!! Lets draft 2 or 3 more young mids who may or may not show as much as these young guys have shown in their first season or two.

Then when in two years time and we are starting to have a good midfield unit with Watson, Lonergan, McVeigh, Hislop, Houli, Jetta, Myers, Hocking and Reimers (and possibly another draft pick from this year) you will claim that it was your brilliant idea to start rebuilding and draft midfielders.

Can't you see most of the drafting is already done? We just need these players to develop. In the meantime lets focus on getting game time into the future of our club, and enjoying the vintage form that we are seeing from one of our most passionate players in McVeigh and stop whinging that our midfield is crap.

Can't you see over the past 6-7 years our list management has been nothing short of pathetic, our list is terrible. Your optimism is fantastic but your sense of reality is somewhat altered.

You are dreaming if you think Lonergan, Hocking, Jetta and Reimers will be playing in the midfield and if so in 2 years time I will be saying it was my idea to rebuild our midfield... however I'll also be saying the same thing now, and we'll still be bottom 4, if those players are our midfield nucleus.

Can't you see over the past 6-7 years our list management has been nothing short of pathetic, our list is terrible. Your optimism is fantastic but your sense of reality is somewhat altered.

You are dreaming if you think Lonergan, Hocking, Jetta and Reimers will be playing in the midfield and if so in 2 years time I will be saying it was my idea to rebuild our midfield... however I'll also be saying the same thing now, and we'll still be bottom 4, if those players are our midfield nucleus.

I would have to disagree with your opinion on list management. I believe it has been terrible for 6-7 years between around 1999-2005 but i think the drafting in the last three years has been terrific, though we haven't seen the fruits of this yet (apart from paddy). This is why i am optimistic (maybe blindly), but i would much rather hope than give up.

In regards to your second paragraph i agree that Reimers will most likely be playing more on a HFF than midfield so i retract that statement, but i do believe that Jetta and Lonergan have what it takes to be terrific AFL midfield players in the mould of McLeod and Chapman. With Hocking neither of us has seen enough to make a firm prediction but i have a fairly good feeling he could be very solid in the midfield rotation based on the little footy i have seen.

Even better, a 31 year old is about best player, taking over from a 34 year old last season... that's certainly got my hopes up! :rolleyes:

I don't see the huge relevance of Lucas' age.

Things change so quickly in modern day footy...Our best player could well be in his early 20's in a few years.

1) i am proud of the fact that spike is our best midfielder. he has worked his arse off for this club, and with hirdy's departure has taken on the spiritual leadership of the group. he had 30 touches and kicked four goals against carlton. he was on his way to burying footscray until injured. have no fear, Mcveigh back in the middle with a game under his belt should be a huge relief to all essendon fans.

2) i don't give a flying f... what hawthorn fans think or say. they fear us, and have done since 1984. Even dermie has admitted it - whenever they faced essendon, no matter what the situation, they were very edgy. yes, they have the edge right now, and good luck to them, but we will be back. suck it up, everyone, and remember why every other clubs supporter's are so gleefull.

excellent post!

I don't see the huge relevance of Lucas' age.

Things change so quickly in modern day footy...Our best player could well be in his early 20's in a few years.

I agree that things could change, I'm just finding it difficult to see the silver lining in our current list. I think some people tend to base someone's potential on what number they were drafted.

There is however only half a dozen players on our list that would be a startup in an opposition's best 22 as it stands.

Our spine is aging and out of form (no shit), the only young KPP that has shown he is up to AFL standard is Ryder and he's currently out of form. Houli has been our shining light in the midfield yet I would struggle to find a club that he would get a game in at the moment (I've taken into account his age/experience).

Things are not good in the middle either, Lonergan has been on the list for 3 years and provided very little, Winderlich has been on the list for 5-6 years and provided very little and Stanton and Watson have mediocre disposals and do not have the skills necessary to compete with the premier midfielders in the competition.

When people start to feel sorry for us is about the time to be concerned. I don't mind opposition supporters having a crack. They have a big go becasue they have not had too many chances to do it.

Thats' right. Suck it up folks. It's character building.

I remember watching us, year after year, getting knocked out of Elimination Finals (by Fitzroy!).... I remember travelling home on the train from the '83 Grand Final with my face painted and hair coloured... I copped heaps!!.... but, geez, it made '84 Sweeeeeeet! :D

Like Ant said, at least they're not pitying us! They're getting in now because they know.... we'll be BACK!!!

I also remember giving Hawks fans heaps after the 2001 Preliminary Final. So let's face it, we deserve everything we're getting! :p

Geez guys you lot are trolling yourselves now, Chin up the pain won't last forever the work you are doing this year will begin to pay off in a few years time.

Your 'mate' sounds like he's 13. Which is a shame because he wouldn't remember the numerous times we handed their arses to them between 97 and 05 or whenever it was. We're losing now, so we'll cop it.

It's ***** like Patrick Smiff who I detest just as much as idiots like your mate.

My friend is a Collingwood supporter. He LOVES to HATE Essendon!! With a passion!!

At the moment, we are rebuilding and yes we are struggling. We are at least progressing with a positive plan, new coach and ideas. Are we in tormoil? No. We are not. We have drafted well, hopefully made the right decision withour coaching staff and gameplan, which only time will tell, and giving experience to our young brigae will fast track our club to again become the POWERHOUSE it once was! (getting emotional, someone pass me a tissue)

Currently being down and out should gives us a true indication of how strong we are as a club and supporters to stand up, fight and be resillient!! And thats exactly what were doing.

Stick it up him Donners, he may be laughing now but footy is a never ending game my friend. Things will turn!!

Getting Kicked While You Are Down