Opinion Getting My Passion Back as a Fan

After we won the Flag in 2010 :D

I started the 2011 Season just going to games Expecting a Win but If we lost I did not have as much care that we lost for some reason. Even when we lost the 2011 GF I was super upset. I felt down but I was just like we get them next year.

2012 was similar though I did get upset of some of our Losses espically 1st Time vs the Scum. But when we lost in Prelim I was annoyed but could understand why.

But 2013 I feel my Passion is Back to 100% and Hoping we can win many games but now it's not a Sure Thing as it use to.

You Agree?

I agree..
im nervous and hopeful about this year.

In 2011 I remember I got angry when we won by less than 10 goals..premiership felt like a certainty mid season.
I forgot what it felt like to worry about losing.
Then it all fell apart. I still blame Mick Malthouse.

Last year even after we won 10 in a row it never felt like we were good enough, and we weren't, so it was no surprise we didn't make it.

Looking forward to this year, the team has changed a lot, lots of new blood, big clean out of unko players..reminds me of 2010 but with more confidence. Should be a big year but never can tell till late in the season whether we will be challengers or not. You never know what other team might evolve and take over..

I've been around too long to get complacent about anything. Even during 2011 I kept waiting for the wheels to fall off and they did. I was as upset by losing the 2011 GF as I have ever been. It was devastating.

I'm just strapping myself in for the roller coaster ride again, hopeful as always. These premierships are just so frickin hard to win.

Yeah, I lost a bit of the passion in 2011.

I didn't really watch any replays because we were playing like shit for most matches and then blowing teams away in 10-15 minutes of football. Made the replays impossible to watch outside those bursts.

You don't win flags like that.

Last year was similar, but still different. Our wins were grinds. We played shit most weeks but still found a way to win. Again, you could see we weren't good enough to win the flag. Which is why I'm hesistant about our flag chances this year. I'm confident of finishing Top 2, but not the flag. Last year showed you can finish top without really blitzing, but finals are different.

We never, at ANY point last year showed any sort of dominance that you could see would win finals.

The West Coast NAB Cup game gives me hope. If our full squad, or near enough full squad can put that sort of application into it's game this year, then bring this f**king shit on. If the other games are a better reflection of how we're going to go about it, then to pull out an old chestnut "Maybe next year boys".

Good Point Last Season we won quite a few games but they where Grinds and Only won thru Bursts. As you read last year I never felt we could win the flag as I thought we where not Good Enough.

2011 for most of the Season we beat teams as they where scared of us but in the End MM having a Sook and Gameplan getting worked out cost us the Flag
icon_cry.gif

The West Coast NAB Cup game gives me hope. If our full squad, or near enough full squad can put that sort of application into it's game this year, then bring this f**king shit on. If the other games are a better reflection of how we're going to go about it, then to pull out an old chestnut "Maybe next year boys".

Agree the Eagles game was the 1st time I seen us play like that since 2010. Agreed it was only half a side that did that. Showed real Depth. Then our last 2 games made me worry quite a bit with the 2 losses

I was as upset by losing the 2011 GF as I have ever been. It was devastating.

I'm just strapping myself in for the roller coaster ride again, hopeful as always. These premierships are just so frickin hard to win.
This... although in the aftermath I did console myself with the fact that we'd won in 2010. Had we lost both I would have been beyond help!

Same here mate. We lost that game but you can tell yourself we won the flag last season and that made it hurt less. Not like in 2003 GF we got Flogged, People where beside themselves and very upset because of the Screw-Job in 2002 GF:mad:

I have a very good feeling about this year.
signs ''omens'' everywhere pointing for good this year.
if everythign falls into place this year we should be having another good year.

I have a very good feeling about this year.
signs ''omens'' everywhere pointing for good this year.
if everythign falls into place this year we should be having another good year.

I agree if we have Luck on our side, I can see us winning the Flag

2011 was a really deflating year, I have to say, and that probably carried over into 2012 for a lot of the supporters, it might have done for the players as well. I mean, to have such a great season and then have the wheels fall off, just such a disappointment. I considered that 2011 team to be the best Pies outfit I've ever seen, but injuries and worries during the season, as well as the Malthouse situation just seemed to add up to the point where we were destined to fall at the last hurdle, and that fall hurt pretty badly because we were so good that year.

I can totally get why a lot of supporters felt a bit lethargic last season and felt their passion wane. I know I almost lost all interest in footy after 2003, but I think it made me stronger as a supporter.

2011 was a really deflating year, I have to say, and that probably carried over into 2012 for a lot of the supporters, it might have done for the players as well. I mean, to have such a great season and then have the wheels fall off, just such a disappointment. I considered that 2011 team to be the best Pies outfit I've ever seen, but injuries and worries during the season, as well as the Malthouse situation just seemed to add up to the point where we were destined to fall at the last hurdle, and that fall hurt pretty badly because we were so good that year.

Yeah I agree 2011 seemed a Better Side then 2010. But it was Oppostie though when we reached out Best. 2010 we got to it at Finals Time and in 2011 it was Start of the Season

I can totally get why a lot of supporters felt a bit lethargic last season and felt their passion wane. I know I almost lost all interest in footy after 2003, but I think it made me stronger as a supporter.

I find a Lost restarts the Passion and winning the Flag kind of Wanes a little bit because you expecting win after win after win. Even when you lose you just think of the Flag the team won last season

2010 was 20 years in the making... there aint no build up like one that spans decades.

Even if the Pies win in this year, it won't have as much impact on me as 2010. I honestly thought we would never win one in my lifetime... not until we smashed the cats in the prelim did I even let myself imagine.

Now I probably have higher expectations than 'never going to win one'. I think we 'should' net another premiership with this squad.

First time I really got into a game last year was fairly late in the season. It may have even been the West Coast game (although I think for some reason it may have been the St Kilda game a month earlier).

I'm hoping I get it back this year - because I used to love going to the every game, but ever since the premiership win it's lost a lot a lot of emotion for me. Like others, I expect to win, so wins aren't exciting and losses are a strange feeling, but not all that disappointing.

I guess I've always preferred going for the underdogs.

After watching the Pies for 36 yrs I do not get blase,2011 I was devasted after losing I always hark back to 92 we were the best side that yr and things just seemed to go wrong in the last month of that season.

As Hawthorn showed last season the best team does not always win you have to get everything right or at least more than any other club.

As others have said they are so bloody hard to win everyone has to be on the same page,if I was not in my 50,s I would still be crying after that GF but I trust Buck,s to lead us to the promised land.:thumbsu:

Go the Pies.

Ps The team that won the flag in 90 had more than 1 flag in them and do not let anyone tell you otherwise.

After watching the Pies for 36 yrs I do not get blase,2011 I was devasted after losing I always hark back to 92 we were the best side that yr and things just seemed to go wrong in the last month of that season.

As Hawthorn showed last season the best team does not always win you have to get everything right or at least more than any other club.

As others have said they are so bloody hard to win everyone has to be on the same page,if I was not in my 50,s I would still be crying after that GF but I trust Buck,s to lead us to the promised land.:thumbsu:

Go the Pies.

Ps The team that won the flag in 90 had more than 1 flag in them and do not let anyone tell you otherwise.

Agree I always thought that once we got over the hurdle of getting one they would come

Can't say I lost passion in 2011. In fact if anything passion grew. I saw 2011 and 12 as opportunities to see a Collingwood dynasty. We need another flag as a minimum now for that to happen. May be last chance in my lifetime to see a magpie team that wins multiple flags and goes down in history as more than just a premiership team. I think this team has it in them but the mental resolve to do it has to be there . Plenty of good sides have missed their potential. Also Geelong in 2011 was a constant thorn in our side whereas in 2010 once we got into stride I was very confident we were the best team out there. In 2011 with 3 losses to Geelong we could never say that.

So no I am more passionate than ever. 1 flag only whetted my appetite for the great side I want to see. When I talk to Carlton or Essendon flogs I want to lord over them with this team. I want to point out after 2 more flags that whichever way you look at it AFL, VFL, long term, short term there are no arguments that hold up against Collingwood being clearly thhe greatest of them all. I want us to dominate everyone everyway. I want their hate, bare, passionate and unable to be hidden. We are the greatest and we are on the verge of total domination.

I want Bucks to lead us there and have the rightful acknowledgement of the football world. I want Luke Ball to be a 3x plus premiership Magpie and snuff out any rememberence of his time at St Kilda. I want Maxy to bow out as a multiple flag winning captain so no one doubts his standing. I want Swanny to win a B&F, NS and Brownlow in 2013 so everyone sees him for the dominant player he is. I want Fas to become an arrogant star they hate and we love. I want Clokey to rip this comp apart. I want all our cups overflowing with riches. I want to hear opposition supporters saying this domination is boring them and Collingwood winning everything isn't good for the comp

Get your passion Magpies. Total domination will = Total passion for the game.

11 and 12 were wasted years. 11 annoys me the further we get away from it. The Cats had our measure that year but why? They lost the best player in the comp and we rolled over. 12 irks me almost as much, as the eventual Premier was a side we owned for a long time, and wasn't anywhere near the Lions or Cats sides who had beaten us in year by. I'll be shattered if the nucleus we have of Pendles, Thomas, Cloke etc only ever win one flag at their time here. Big year coming up.

Agree 100% Dave!

2011 was a weird year, I would go to matches expecting us to win, and most weeks we did. At stages it got pretty boring. Even last year to a lesser degree going to the football was getting a bit monotonous. However the back end of last year the passion started to lift as we became more vulnerable.

Now enter 2013, the premiership of 2010 is well and truly behind us, we have so many new faces wanting to forge their own dynasty. Can't wait for our first 5-6 matches, should be electric!

Agree 100% Dave!

2011 was a weird year, I would go to matches expecting us to win, and most weeks we did. At stages it got pretty boring. Even last year to a lesser degree going to the football was getting a bit monotonous. However the back end of last year the passion started to lift as we became more vulnerable.

Now enter 2013, the premiership of 2010 is well and truly behind us, we have so many new faces wanting to forge their own dynasty. Can't wait for our first 5-6 matches, should be electric!

Wash you mouth out! I would happily watch the Pies win by 10 goals every week for the rest of my life.

Odd feeling for me about this year. I'm equally as nervous as I am confident. I know our best can be the best in the comp, but there are quality sides that have attributes which concern me (Hawthorns kicking, Swans outside speed etc.). Also concerning is the injury list at the moment and the fact it will be a few weeks before we can settle on a best 22.

Whatever happens though I'll be there weekly, supporting my guts out. Go Pies!

Wash you mouth out! I would happily watch the Pies win by 10 goals every week for the rest of my life.
Agree with this sentiment 100% after seeing so many heartbreaking defeats I could quite happily go 20 yrs without a lost,I could always review it after 20 yrs to see if I still enjoyed it as much.

I must say though that the Pies after so many near misses and misfortune for the club I would not mind another 2 decades of success.:thumbsu:

Odd feeling for me about this year. I'm equally as nervous as I am confident. I know our best can be the best in the comp, but there are quality sides that have attributes which concern me (Hawthorns kicking, Swans outside speed etc.). Also concerning is the injury list at the moment and the fact it will be a few weeks before we can settle on a best 22.

Whatever happens though I'll be there weekly, supporting my guts out. Go Pies!

I agree with that. I am very nervous this season but have the Same Confidence that we can win it allIF everything goes our way.

I be there for all games in Melbourne