Jeeves

Jul 27, 2008
In enemy territory.
Perth Demons, Perth Wildcats
"Former champion full-forward Austin Robertson has urged West Coast to employ a specialist goal-kicking coach to help improve the side’s woeful conversion rate."

He makes many valid points. Ok, so who's out there that we should get? I'll nominate a few, in no particular order.

1. Plugger
2. Dunstall
Some good goalkickers with WCE connections
3. Chad Jones
4. Brad Smith

I know it's a very poor list but it's what I came up with quickly

https://au.news.yahoo.com/thewest/s...-great-says-expert-would-help-eagles-kicking/

Wasn't Brad Smith employed at the club previously?

If they don't have a goal kicking coach, why don't they? Obvious flaws are obvious.

If they do have a goal kicking coach, sack him, he is s**t.

Someone from the Eagles should give Lindsay Thomas a call and ask him what helped him a few years ago.

Seriously.

Someone from the Eagles should give Lindsay Thomas a call and ask him what helped him a few years ago.

Seriously.

get shuey to call him

205070-147974052.jpg

There's some fundamental problems.

Hutchings literally tossed the ball in the air and swiped at it with his foot. Nothing that even resembled an orthodox kicking action.

Darling kicks across his body which results in a hook style kick. It gives him good power and he'll be fine when kicking from long-range and he can "hang it out" to the right and let it draw back, but when he's 30m out he'll have trouble.

I think there are a lot of similarities between setshot goal kicking and a golf swing.

1. Alignment- if you aren't aiming square to the target, you introduce an unnecessary variable andare relying on your body to compensate in a split second prior to contact with the ball. Over the long term this will result in inconsistency.

2. An "in-to-in" swing. If you're not into golf this may be hard to understand. Imagine a line going through the ball to the target. This is the target line. In golf, the club head should travel inside this line prior to impact, hit the ball square with the target line and follow-through inside the target line. Similarly, a footballer's leg should follow the same path, with the pivot point being the non-kicking foot.

When LeCras was going through his problems last season, he was kicking with an "out to in" swing path on his leg. He was undercutting the football which meant the ball travelled from left to right or in golf parlance, a slice. Kennedy kicks with an "in to out" legswing which means he hooks them a lot.

3. Hitting a golf ball off a tee should be the easiest thing in the world. The ball is just sitting there stationary. Similarly, a setshot should be very simple for a prefessional footballer. So why can't they kick the ball straight every time? It's a mental thing. Not having a clear mind and a simple, repeatable technique.

Forget the former footballers, get a golf coach down there.

edit: should have read the article before posting. Austin is spot on.

Hutchings literally tossed the ball in the air and swiped at it with his foot. Nothing that even resembled an orthodox kicking action.

Darling kicks across his body which results in a hook style kick. It gives him good power and he'll be fine when kicking from long-range and he can "hang it out" to the right and let it draw back, but when he's 30m out he'll have trouble.

I think there are a lot of similarities between setshot goal kicking and a golf swing.

1. Alignment- if you aren't aiming square to the target, you introduce an unnecessary variable andare relying on your body to compensate in a split second prior to contact with the ball. Over the long term this will result in inconsistency.

2. An "in-to-in" swing. If you're not into golf this may be hard to understand. Imagine a line going through the ball to the target. This is the target line. In golf, the club head should travel inside this line prior to impact, hit the ball square with the target line and follow-through inside the target line. Similarly, a footballer's leg should follow the same path, with the pivot point being the non-kicking foot.

When LeCras was going through his problems last season, he was kicking with an "out to in" swing path on his leg. He was undercutting the football which meant the ball travelled from left to right or in golf parlance, a slice. Kennedy kicks with an "in to out" legswing which means he hooks them a lot.

3. Hitting a golf ball off a tee should be the easiest thing in the world. The ball is just sitting there stationary. Similarly, a setshot should be very simple for a prefessional footballer. So why can't they kick the ball straight every time? It's a mental thing. Not having a clear mind and a simple, repeatable technique.

Interesting read, even though I'm not into golf. Sounds like you have just got yourself a job as kicking coach. o_O

Im all for hiring this guy

Is agree in some ways

I play golf off 7 ......alignment is so important

I watch eagles run in ...they never run in straight Nd yes they cut across the ball like Austin Robertson said in today's west (please all read it)

Players also need to know this react distance they can kick. Lecca is the only one who runs in straight.

I would get Lecca to coach other players ...I'm serious ...they would listen to him for start

You should also practice with a guy standing on the mark jumping about ....rick charlsworth said you should train the way you play ...simulate it as close as possible

I have watched afl teams train and I rarely see someone standing on the mark.

Also get some soccer balls out and learn to kick those ....if you don't kick a soccer ball pure it goes left or right quite savagely

Also from a golf perspective ....you must learn your natural shape ...if it's a draw or fade and work with the that ...be aware a slightly hooked kick will go further

And just while we are on kicking ...our midfielders all kick the ball too high at west coast watch hawthorn players kick it...the ball never gets more 3 meters off the ground, it gives the defender no chance.

Yes biomechanists are useful but none of them have ver played much footy

Pressure and fatigue ate factors

If you know at 45 meters that you can kick a goal ...that's finec

Can you do after multiple leads late in a quarter ?

I also oddly believe in a bob rotella style coach too (google him) ...he's a mental coach in golf ...he teaches pros to visualise the ball going into the hole ....no swing thoughts

He thinks once you know how to do a kill you should be able to repeat it about 80-90% of the time well

At the moment we are running at less than 50%

A combination of match simulation and mental coaching I required to perfect a technique.

I think the most important issue highlighted in that article was the lack of intensity at training. Before the Carlton game they were all joking around not training with any purpose and they lost too. I am a big believer in the way that you train reflects in the way that you play and if the Eagles aren't having intense training sessions, where they are working on their skills, and having someone correct their mistakes, then they will continually struggle throughout the remainder of 2014.

With the money this club has stashed away you have to ask why we don't have the an "expert" coach in EVERY aspect of the game. If there is a man for this job ffs get him! If our players could kick straight we'd be 6-1. Kicking in general would easily be West Coasts biggest failure and considering these guys are paid big dollars because they are apparently some of the best in the country at playing football I really do scratch my head :drunk:

I think the most important issue highlighted in that article was the lack of intensity at training. Before the Carlton game they were all joking around not training with any purpose and they lost too. I am a big believer in the way that you train reflects in the way that you play and if the Eagles aren't having intense training sessions, where they are working on their skills, and having someone correct their mistakes, then they will continually struggle throughout the remainder of 2014.

Under Woosha's watch from all reports the Eagles were one of the hardest trainers in the league. Players that were drafted in from other clubs had stated that the intensity of West Coasts training was something they weren't used to and was a lot tougher than any training they'd been through before. Is this something Simpson should be being questioned about?

It might be that he's chosen to go a bit easier to limit injuries but there has to be a happy medium surely.

"Former champion full-forward Austin Robertson has urged West Coast to employ a specialist goal-kicking coach to help improve the side’s woeful conversion rate."

He makes many valid points. Ok, so who's out there that we should get? I'll nominate a few, in no particular order.

1. Plugger
2. Dunstall
Some good goalkickers with WCE connections
3. Chad Jones
4. Brad Smith

I know it's a very poor list but it's what I came up with quickly

https://au.news.yahoo.com/thewest/s...-great-says-expert-would-help-eagles-kicking/

Chad Jones? He suffered the exact same goal kicking yips when he was an Eagle. Kicked well in WAFL then miss easy set shots in big league. Hence he wasn't on list for long.

Under Woosha's watch from all reports the Eagles were one of the hardest trainers in the league. Players that were drafted in from other clubs had stated that the intensity of West Coasts training was something they weren't used to and was a lot tougher than any training they'd been through before. Is this something Simpson should be being questioned about?

It might be that he's chosen to go a bit easier to limit injuries but there has to be a happy medium surely.

They were shithouse at goal kicking last year too. You seem quick to jump on him.

Its all mechanics. Watch Scooter or Hutch kick, its horrendous. No consistency in action and they rarely kick straight because of it.

He was brilliant last year with his kicking, it was a highlight of his game. You don't just lose the ability to kick. He is coming off a back injury and has only played a hand full of games. People need to give our younger guys a chance.

I also oddly believe in a bob rotella style coach too (google him) ...he's a mental coach in golf ...he teaches pros to visualise the ball going into the hole ....no swing thoughts

He thinks once you know how to do a kill you should be able to repeat it about 80-90% of the time well

At the moment we are running at less than 50%

A combination of match simulation and mental coaching I required to perfect a technique.

Just read Putting Out Of Your Mind. Reckon all the boys should get a copy of it. Makes a lot of sense and would help a bit I reckon.

i just cant believe professional footballers cant kick straight or cant kick goals?!??
its like having pro basketballers getting paid a swag of dough, but they cant shoot a ball!?
what have these guys been doing for past several years in AFL, then suburban teams and school teams before that...
then Simmo says theyve been doing intense goalkicking practise, and somehow will have to do more...but the guy in the article says he witnessed really poor halfhearted attempts at goal practise, even called it lazy!?

Ther was this bloke and hed been a good bloke all his life - a real good bloke - given to the poor, helped junkies off the gear, built an orphanage - real good bloke - so one day the big beardy bloke in the sky says to him -

hey mick

Mick just about falls off his chair - what?

Its god mate

Wtf says mick

Its god mate - listen - youve been a real good bloke and id like to do you a solid a make a wish my friend and ill make it come true

Mick thinks for a bit and says - well god - i had to get rid of me boat cos im too old to go out - but i really miss fishing rotto on the weekends - can you build me a brodge out there?

God goes - cmon mate dont take the piss - thats 40 odd bloody kilometers - be reasonable yer knob

So mick thinks for a bit longer and goes - well can yer fix the eagles bloody goal kicking - its tragic and i hate seeing em lose cos they cant kick

God said - so do you want 2 lanes or 4 on that bridge

A kicking coach would be excellent. sorry in advance for going off topic, but I watched a video that Sydney put up last year (i think) talking about how they hired an ex Olympic sprinter to work on running / sprint techniques, I'm not saying the players technique is wrong or anything, just if it could improve their pace a bit it would be worth looking at.

He was brilliant last year with his kicking, it was a highlight of his game. You don't just lose the ability to kick. He is coming off a back injury and has only played a hand full of games. People need to give our younger guys a chance.
I wouldn't say brilliant. It was adequate, but is also pretty one-sided too.

No not at all. I'm happy with Simpson so far, it was just a question. You seem quick to jump on me.
It wasn't the intention of my post, so it's unfortunate that you feel that way.

It's too soon to be asking any questions of Simpson. It took Clarkson 4 years to make his mark on Hawthorn, we would be misguided to think Simpson could wave a magic wand and solve all of our problems in one day.