News Gone: Daniel Talia

Daniel Talia next year?

• Takes a year off, he’s a champ, he can do what he likes!

Votes: 2 3.9%
  • Is drafted / signs to another team

Votes: 42 82.4%
  • Goes undrafted / not signed to another team

Votes: 7 13.7%
  • Signs as a coach somewhere next year

Votes: 1 2.0%

He literally admitted he hadn't but "oh I'll start now because they've earned my respect"

How can you try and lie when the man himself said he hadn't
He's always done it, the same way Truck had done for him.

Some people dont want the plaudits for it

He literally said he hadn't been.
He's been in the leadership group of the footy club FFS, you dont reckon he'd have mentored the kids during that time ??

Youre not a smart man

He's been in the leadership group of the footy club FFS, you dont reckon he'd have mentored the kids during that time ??

Youre not a smart man

Who am I going to believe about what Daniel Talia has done:

1)Daniel Talia

2)One of the biggest apologists on the Bigfooty AFC forum

Hmm, I'll go with option 1.

Who am I going to believe about what Daniel Talia has done:

1)Daniel Talia

2)One of the biggest apologists on the Bigfooty AFC forum

Hmm, I'll go with option 1.
I know for a fact he mentored young players during his career

Nothing but love and respect for Talia. Clearly our best ever CHB and a consistent and determined player.

Club has 100% made the right call, as we see by his foot set back. Unfortunately, the reality is that his body is cooked.

Whilst I've always felt that Talia had a lot to offer off field, I've also been very critical of the club just continually filling roles with ex-players (it breeds contentment and limits new ideas and approaches). I think the club has done the right thing here.

Nothing but love and respect for Talia. Clearly our best ever CHB and a consistent and determined player.

Club has 100% made the right call, as we see by his foot set back. Unfortunately, the reality is that his body is cooked.

Whilst I've always felt that Talia had a lot to offer off field, I've also been very critical of the club just continually filling roles with ex-players (it breeds contentment and limits new ideas and approaches). I think the club has done the right thing here.
Nathan Bock for me.

It's really not, go back and watch his BnF speech

That's a long time ago, and since then, he had to deal with Adelaide imploding on themselves.

That's wide eye, idealistic lad could have easily been made jaded in an environment like ours.

Did he not mean while he was in rehab, I find it hard to believe he hadn’t been before then.

I don't. Not in our 2018-20 side.

The culture of self survival would have run rampant in the joint during those years. There is no doubt Butts would have learned from Talia, but that doesn't mean Talia took an active role in mentoring Butts (as an example).

Nathan Bock for me.
Talia for the “body of work” but Bock was just awesome in his prime.
One of the few that could go with Nick Reiwoldt and beat him in his prime.

Imagine what could have been if we didn't play Talia through injury at the end of 2020 to improve our ladder position from 18th to 18th

I know you're first to blame the club at every opportunity, mate, but players get on the oval with niggles all the time. There would have been plenty of chats with Talia himself and if he still had mobility enough to run out games then how were the club to know he was running around with a torn meniscus?

Plus, his issue that has ended his career is to do with his FOOT. The issue with his knee that he played through at the end of 2020 is likely resolved itself.

'After nursing the injury through the second half of the season, Talia battled through swelling to play his 200th in the final match – something he admits may not have happened in previous years.

"I couldn't really train, I couldn't bend it or change direction … I'd have one run and my knee would blow up," he said.

"It was really about managing it and we're a pretty young group and in normal circumstances in a team that's top-four you probably just wouldn't play.

"But I think in the position we're in it's really important to be out there and teaching the young guys and developing them."

This sounds a whole lot like a guy who was pretty keen to get to 200 games.

That's a long time ago, and since then, he had to deal with Adelaide imploding on themselves.

That's wide eye, idealistic lad could have easily been made jaded in an environment like ours.

I don't. Not in our 2018-20 side.

The culture of self survival would have run rampant in the joint during those years. There is no doubt Butts would have learned from Talia, but that doesn't mean Talia took an active role in mentoring Butts (as an example).
I’m not specifically talking about Butts, I find it hard to believe Talia didn’t mentor say Hartigan or Kelly over his time here.

I'm guessing he taught those two how to kick a football lol.

I know you're first to blame the club at every opportunity, mate, but players get on the oval with niggles all the time. There would have been plenty of chats with Talia himself and if he still had mobility enough to run out games then how were the club to know he was running around with a torn meniscus?

Plus, his issue that has ended his career is to do with his FOOT. The issue with his knee that he played through at the end of 2020 is likely resolved itself.

'After nursing the injury through the second half of the season, Talia battled through swelling to play his 200th in the final match – something he admits may not have happened in previous years.

"I couldn't really train, I couldn't bend it or change direction … I'd have one run and my knee would blow up," he said.

"It was really about managing it and we're a pretty young group and in normal circumstances in a team that's top-four you probably just wouldn't play.

"But I think in the position we're in it's really important to be out there and teaching the young guys and developing them."

This sounds a whole lot like a guy who was pretty keen to get to 200 games.
So what you're saying is despite Talia admitting he couldn't do anything at training, somehow we didn't notice the extent of his injury?

The injury was so bad he needed post-season surgery and couldn't run for four months which likely led to underconditioning of his legs and the foot injury earlier this year

Nathan Bock for me.
Interesting. Vastly different players, but Bock definitely had some good years and real ability.
For me I just liked Talia's no-fuss way of shutting down the best big forwards. Always reliable. Didn't provide the run of Bock granted.

So what you're saying is despite Talia admitting he couldn't do anything at training, somehow we didn't notice the extent of his injury?

The injury was so bad he needed post-season surgery and couldn't run for four months which likely led to underconditioning of his legs and the foot injury earlier this year

Oh wow, thanks for that, Dr Scorpus!

Even then, it's unlikely. Talia was only just establishing himself in 2012-13 when both Hartigan and Kelly were drafted. Hartigan being someone Talia had been in the same initial draft year (and both being Vic Metro lads). The likelihood is the mentoring would have been done by Doughty, Rielly etc.

Butts I'm picking as a later example, and Talia himself has said he wasn't active in the mentoring front just before leaving the club.

News Gone: Daniel Talia