Goo God - a postive article.

Good God - a postive article.

The last week has exposed the often breathtaking hypocrisy of too many so called sporting journalists in Melbourne.

But, too my shock, today a postive article on Eddie and the club in general (incluing the help its given to poor clubs like North, Bulldogs and Melbourne -

http://www.realfooty.com.au/news/ne...black-and-white/2008/08/08/1218139086152.html

Bagging Eddie is not all black and white

Martin Flanagan, The Age
August 9, 2008

LAST year, when the Ben Cousins story was running hot and West Coast was burning with him, the idea was mooted that poor player behaviour be punished by the clubs involved losing draft picks and premiership points.
I wrote a column objecting to what was being proposed. The tradition in Australian football has always been that the game was open to all, that everyone was given a go. What was being proposed, I said, would lead to clubs censoring themselves as to the type of people they recruited. There'd be no more players like Jimmy Krakouer and Gary Ablett snr, both of whom were in serious trouble before beginning their AFL careers, but it would actually cut a lot deeper than that.

The person who responded most energetically to what I wrote was Eddie McGuire. I received one enthusiastic text after another on the subject. In recent times, he told me, Collingwood had in its team one player who was completing a master's degree and another who couldn't read. Like all clubs, it had kids from broken homes. The AFL has former street kids basically rescued by footy. If you open your door to all-comers, as has been the tradition of our game, there is inevitably going to be trouble. The way football is dealt with by the media, each incident of trouble is portrayed as a crisis for the club and the game.

I originally got to know Eddie McGuire through having a difference with him. I sided with Tim Lane against Eddie calling Collingwood games on Channel Nine. About six months later he tracked me down and an animated discussion ensued. We didn't agree on that, but there was something we did agree on to do with reporting. Like all people who experience fame, he was finding that things he was alleged to have said or done were then being used as the basis for follow-up stories without anyone asking him for his version of the event. He was being fictionalised. I agreed to ring and get his side of any argument from him and not from the media.

Since then I have got to know him reasonably well. I don't understand the ins and outs of his career with the Nine network. I have no idea what his outside business interests are. He burns with a bright flame and I imagine working near him could be wearing. But I would also describe him as a naturally political person. Most people when they talk about politics are really talking about the political game. Eddie's like Michael Long. When they talk about politics, they're talking about what ought to be done, what can be done, to make a difference.

Not knowing him in 1999 when he went to John Howard's convention on the republic in Canberra, I silently agreed with those who said he'd be out of his depth. Now he's someone whose political views I listen to with interest. He was in America last month and what he saw was an economy grinding into recession, or worse. Eddie thinks big changes are coming, and they're not going to be kind.

This week, in the city of Melbourne, two Collingwood footballers featured more prominently in the news than the Olympics. Eddie and I agree on why Collingwood is such a major personality in Australian sport. The 1930s is to Australian sporting culture what the 1960s is to popular music. The world was then in an economic depression. Europe was flirting with fascism. Australians adored a cricketer and a horse, Bradman and Phar Lap. The football club which dominated the decade was Collingwood. Eddie knows a lot about the 1930s. He talks about people like Syd Coventry who captained Collingwood to four premierships, won a Brownlow medal and was later president of the club. "No one talks about him now," he muses, "but his achievements are greater than Michael Voss'."

He also talks about the soup kitchen set up in front of the old Ryder Stand to feed the poor and the homeless; the grandstand built by local tradesmen out of work. He tells me the unemployed got in free to Collingwood games during the Depression.

If you ask Eddie what Collingwood Football Club is about, he says it's about its relationship with the community. The club has a formal "community policy" and is involved in numerous community initiatives.
In the area about which I know most, relations between indigenous and non-indigenous Australians, I rate Kevin Sheedy and Michael Long as the major agents of change over the past 20 years. But Eddie's on the list. When he took over Collingwood, it had the reputation of being the worst club in terms of racial abuse. It was part of a culture that I thought couldn't be changed. Eddie changed it. He had key people who understood what he was attempting, like coach Mick Malthouse and captain Nathan Buckley, but nonetheless the change came from the top.
Of course, you could argue that the change was in Collingwood's interest. Young Aboriginal talent didn't want to go to Collingwood; they were terrified of the place. You can argue the change initiated by Eddie was an example of what is called enlightened selfishness, but I think it goes deeper than that. Under Eddie's presidency, Collingwood has a history of helping other clubs. Each year, Melbourne Football Club's biggest fixture is its Queen's Birthday match against Collingwood. Each year, Collingwood allows Melbourne to take the gate.

Western Bulldogs president David Smorgon says: "Without Eddie, we wouldn't have landed Lease Plan, our major sponsor for the past six years." Smorgon describes Eddie as "a very genuine person who does what he says he's going to do". When the AFL ignored the claims of the Moyston Willaura Football Club to be involved in the 150th celebrations (Tom Wills grew up at Moyston), I rang Eddie. Collingwood, along with Essendon, are now among the sponsors of the Tom Wills night being held at the Moyston footy ground on August 18.

Everyone pays a high price for fame. The price Eddie pays is that everyone thinks they know him and what makes him tick. I don't believe they do. As I read football politics, Eddie is now in a spot of bother. Politics at any level are in part about perception. His comment to the players about his commitment to Collingwood having cost him four gold logies — which he insists was a joke — has taken off.

The old Celtic chieftains were judged in part by the prosperity they brought their people. For 10 years, Collingwood has had great prosperity, but this year, while Eddie says the club will have an operating profit of around $2.5 million, it will have a loss of around $2 million after the sale of two hotels.

And then there's Alan Didak, the club's best player and, in that sense, most valuable asset. As I see it, whichever way Eddie goes on that, he loses. In terms of their careers within the game, a whole lot rests on tonight's match and the rest of the season for Eddie and Mick Malthouse.
Journalists say Eddie is hyper-sensitive to criticism. He may be, but look at the volume of criticism that has come his way in the past week. This paper even ran a full-length editorial critical of him. But if, as Eddie fears, much tougher economic times are just around the corner, I expect Collingwood to step forward and play a part. If that happens, it's in part because Eddie McGuire hasn't let Collingwood Football Club forget where it comes from.

Never be surprised by Martin Flanagan's insight and compassion, Prof. He's my favourite newspaper writer, about footy or anything else. And isn't he a Collingwood supporter?:p

I thought he was a Geelong supporter, but unlike most of the press he does not seem to be a Collingwood hater. Could be wrong. But yes it was a great article.

I met Greg Baum at a barbeque many years ago and he is a keen Collingwood supporter.
He told me he gets a lot of hate mail from Collingwood fans accusing him of being a Carlton supporter. But there again , being a Collingwood supporter in this town is a lot like being an African American in Klu Klux KLan territory. It's bound to create paranoia.

Nice article. Here's another positive editorial on Eddie, this time by the HUN's Andrew Bolt.

Lying is a black and white sin

Andrew Bolt

August 08, 2008 12:00am

BEING so smashed behind the wheel you ram two parked cars: a $10,000 fine from your club.

Lying to Eddie about it: the end of your season, and maybe even your future with the team.

And Collingwood is actually right: lying is indeed worse for your club than driving, boozed to the back teeth, down some suburban street.

That's not saving Collingwood president Eddie McGuire, though. The man now has a permanent gig as a duck in a shooting gallery and is once more taking buckshot, this time over Heath Shaw's mad drive.

I'm not quite sure what today's gleeful excuse for pinging Eddie is, having heard him attacked both for being a prima donna and for not fronting the cameras.

But some of the kapowing has been over the alleged mismatch between the fine McGuire imposed on Shaw for drink-driving and the axe he then brought out when he learned Shaw had also lied to him, claiming his passenger as he weaved from the pub may have looked exactly like teammate Last Chance Alan Didak, but was some completely different drunken donkey.

Cue the press conference, before Shaw's lie was exposed and became a bigger car crash than the one he was apologising for:

SHAW: I was with a mate.

REPORTER: Who was that mate?

SHAW: I don't really want to name his name. He doesn't . . . he's not really, he didn't need to be dragged through this. It's my problem.

REPORTER: There are strong suggestions it's Alan Didak.

SHAW: That's untrue.

Except, of course, it wasn't.

Shaw and Didak, it turned out hours later, had lied to their captain, their coach, their teammates, the media and McGuire himself, whose unusually healthy pride would have been mortified by headlines the next day such as "Magpie lies humiliate McGuire".

He had believed Shaw and fiercely defended serial offender Didak, and now he was exposed as a dupe. A patsy. A man who had so little authority that his players could look him in the eye and tell him black was white.

McGuire didn't become a media star and one of Toorak's newest residents by being someone's laughing stock, and revenge was as inevitable as it was swift.

Shaw, who'd been fined only $10,000 and allowed to play on after getting tanked and driving in ways that could have killed someone, suffered the penalty of doing something far, far worse: making Eddie seem a fool. Now he was banned for the rest of the season. Ditto Didak, whose days at the club are now said to be over.

This would be a welcome opportunity to give McGuire another whack about his ego, and to ask why his honour is more precious than the safety of residents along streets turned into drag strips by his drunk players.

Or I could get all ethnological and point out that it's not just the Chinese and Japanese who are manic about saving "face".

But fairness insists McGuire be defended. He's right: a club can survive boozing players, but it cannot survive a culture of lies.

Nor, in fact, can a community, which is why the Ten Commandments insist "thou shalt not bear false witness" but treat getting drunk as too trivial a sin to discuss. Check the Bible: better an honest drunk than a sober liar.

This is a point instinctively understood by many around Shaw and Didak. Former Collingwood captain Nathan Buckley, for instance, said going out drinking before a big game was "unacceptable", but lying to teammates was "unforgivable".

Club chief executive Gary Pert, after hearing Shaw may have lied, fumed: "If there's any inaccuracies in the story, that multiplies it (the seriousness) by 10."

And coach Mick Malthouse said that while he'd been "shocked and angry" by the drinking and driving, his emotions "became more extreme when we found out about the deceit".

He added: "How could those players break the trust which is a fundamental of any sporting organisation?"

This was McGuire's point too: Shaw and Didak's deceit "strikes at the principles and integrity that the Collingwood Football Club is built on".

What instinct suggested, reason confirms. The fact is no community can survive without trust.

No trust means no bonds. No trust means protecting yourself, rather than helping others. No trust means no reason to sacrifice for neighbours, since they can't be trusted in turn to sacrifice for you.

No trust means unpredictability instead of security. Anarchy instead of order. Courts instead of handshakes. And it means individuals, instead of a team.

Of course, there are many ways for people - and players - to build trust. One is by acting consistently, and, even better, with a concern for others.

Another is by doing your duty or just following the rules, including rules on drink driving. Yet another is, ironically for Shaw, to defend your mate, come what may.

But one of the most basic and universally understood ways to show you can be trusted is to simply tell the truth. To give your word.

How fundamental is that gift in building trust? Consider: How can a boss trust a lying worker to do anything he says - which in Didak's case meant keeping his promise, for instance, to stay out of the cars of gun-toting criminals such as murderer Christopher Hudson?

How can a coach trust a lying player to even train out of eyeshot? How can a liar be trusted to do anything at all that's not in his own interests?

A drunk, after all, can still be trusted to be honest. But can a liar be trusted not to be a drunk?

So McGuire was right. Shaw and Didak's lies were worse for the club than their boozing, and had to be punished harder too.

You might say this is crazy: you're far more scared by a footballer who hoons down your street, fuelled by booze, than you are by a footballer who fibs to his president. A court will almost certainly agree.

But you're not trying to keep together a community, a club, are you? You're not Eddie McGuire, and he's not a judge and jury, with a duty to protect another community, bigger still than Collingwood.

http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/story/0,21985,24145615-5000117,00.html