Grand final selection

Re: Gradn final selection

I reckon Reid and Dawes will swap at halftime

Looking forward to this one regardless of the outcome.

It will be good to see how we are tracking against, what I believe, is the best team in the comp.

Its nice to know nothing of any real value hinges on it, just a good game of footy

I still think they will want to get some game time into Reid. Having Cloke will replace one of them at half time would be a better option IMO.
We need a Quick Start and get in Front Early and You can Grantee that with Both Dawes and Reid in with no Cloke

On Fraser, I think he is fully fit and they are just resting him. There is no need to risk him with his history of injury. Furthermore, we need to really test out Wood and Bryan to see who is up for the 2nd gig in the ruck.

Agreed.

Very surprised they dropped Cook tbh...pleasantly surprised.

Shame about Stanley, but no surprise there.

I was more positive yesterday regarding our chances of winning.

We wont beat a good side this year unless Josh is playing, and with Harry, Heath and Rocca missing also, the side has some big holes.

The only hope we have is to win the ball out of the middle or at least place huge pressure on them when they have the ball, because if they can move the ball quickly into our backline, we wont stand a chance.

Guess we learned a few things on selection though;

* Toovey is favoured over Cook as out tagger.
* Leigh Brown and Corrie are just depth (guessed that anyway)
* McCarthy, Wellingham and Dawes will get games when they perform at VFL level.

Either way, we are in it, which is more then I can say for 14 other teams.

Fraser is Sore:( and that't why he is not PLaying
Sore my arse!

Saw (sore?) him on Ten news and he looked lame.

Sore from what though? A game over two weeks ago? A dead leg? Did Cous take Josh out for a bender after the game?

14 day soreness... :rolleyes:

Sore my arse!

Saw (sore?) him on Ten news and he looked lame.

Sore from what though? A game over two weeks ago? A dead leg? Did Cous take Josh out for a bender after the game?

14 day soreness... :rolleyes:
Figjam it could well be anything, it could well have happpened yesterday.

not all injuries occur during a game mate

We wont beat a good side this year unless Josh is playing, and with Harry, Heath and Rocca missing also, the side has some big holes.

The only hope we have is to win the ball out of the middle or at least place huge pressure on them when they have the ball, because if they can move the ball quickly into our backline, we wont stand a chance.

quote]

Is there some way our made-over midfield could make up for the deficiencies in the ruck through tackling and clearances? Bryan always tries so hard to get the ball out, even when he doesn't win the tap. He can knock people around quite effectively.

Or if we lack the class, is there some way the fitness and enthusiasm of youth could carry the day - had they but courage equal to desire?

Weren't our ruckman wood and bryan last year against geelong anyway?
Edit Fraser played 12 touches 5 hit outs, Bryan 8 touches and 14 hit outs

I like the side except for the inclusion of BJ. I would much rather see Stanners in the side and he deserves it more imho.

Agreed.

Very surprised they dropped Cook tbh...pleasantly surprised.

Shame about Stanley, but no surprise there.
I'm pleased to see Wellingham back in, hopefully for the GAblett tagging role. However Stanley missing even with Fraser/Shaw/O'Brien all out of the 22 is a depressing sign. :(

It seems Reid has already lifted his stocks in the eyes of the masses after this preseason, so I might have to start stoking up the Stanners bandwagon. :thumbsu:

I'm pleased to see Wellingham back in, hopefully for the GAblett tagging role. However Stanley missing even with Fraser/Shaw/O'Brien all out of the 22 is a depressing sign. :(

It seems Reid has already lifted his stocks in the eyes of the masses after this preseason, so I might have to start stoking up the Stanners bandwagon. :thumbsu:

Fate may yet smile upon him, if MM won't. Perhaps someone else will be taken with a weakness.:eek:

The other other other team selection is out too for those interested:thumbsu:

Also how young is that starting line up

quote]

Is there some way our made-over midfield could make up for the deficiencies in the ruck through tackling and clearances? Bryan always tries so hard to get the ball out, even when he doesn't win the tap. He can knock people around quite effectively.

Or if we lack the class, is there some way the fitness and enthusiasm of youth could carry the day - had they but courage equal to desire?

Snag, we haven't got a revamped midfield yet. We didn't draft allm these midfielders for this year, we drafted them for the future. Currently, we have only one fewer midfielder (Burns) than last year, and have yet to have cemented a permanent replacement.

This is not to say we won't beat them in the midfield, but we certainly aren't a heap stronger there than we were last year.

Wellingham, Dawes, McCarthy- EAT YOUR HEART OUT!!

Ecstatic with these inclusions.

I've always thought Wellingham was in our best 22-25 players.

J-Mac too.

Dawes is probably behind many of our other key forwards, however his inclusion into the side at the expense of Leroy Brown is promising. I think Geelong hay have a few headaches matching up on Jack, Cloke, Reid and Dawes. Obviously it's unlikely all will not be on the field at the same time (yet stranger things have happened) but it is a great sign towards the future.

Just look at the centre line. Beams, Pendlebury and Clarke. And the half back line too of Cox, Brown, Thomas.

It is exciting. Expect us to roll the cats quite comfortably even without Pebs, Heater, Josh and Rus.

Yep, very glad to have J-Mac in - the man is not a panic merchant like Cook. Wellingham could play the tagging role, but I wouldn't have minded Barham getting a go, or for Toovey to try that role out.

With a full strength Geelong midfield and no Josh, this could get ugly, and for that reason I hope that one of Beams or Sidebottom gets only a sub role. I'd like to see us win this or get close for the sake of confidence going into the season.

I think Daisy down back could be a revelation if Marty and Didak play up on the wings and HF flanks receiving Daisy's awesome delivery and kicking to perfection to our forwards. Dawes could do much better with Cloke, Medders and Anthony as forward options.

Snag, we haven't got a revamped midfield yet. We didn't draft allm these midfielders for this year, we drafted them for the future. Currently, we have only one fewer midfielder (Burns) than last year, and have yet to have cemented a permanent replacement.

But we have the makings of one. Clarke and Pendles = massive potential.

This is not to say we won't beat them in the midfield, but we certainly aren't a heap stronger there than we were last year.

Doesn't mean we won't win.:)

Geez Hutchy annoyed me tonight with his summary of the team selections. Apparently, Geelong are fielding a depleted side given that Mooney isn't playing, however Collingwood are full-strength (despite Fraser, O'Brien, Rocca and Shaw all missing).

I know they're a great side, but quit yanking our chain, FFS.

Geez Hutchy annoyed me tonight with his summary of the team selections. Apparently, Geelong are fielding a depleted side given that Mooney isn't playing, however Collingwood are full-strength (despite Fraser, O'Brien, Rocca and Shaw all missing).

I know they're a great side, but quit yanking our chain, FFS.

Too true, but he's a Cats fan, so maybe a little biased. Looking at their line up though, Mooney leaves quite a hole in their forward line. Hawkins and Lonegan are not players to fill our defenders with fear.

Our major problem, as always will be the ruck and on ball. If we hold our own in these areas and rebound well after the normal loss in the clearances, we could win this one.

Who was it last night that said Geelong's defence will be way too strong for our forwards? Fev?

That seems a little bizarre coming from him. He saw Carltanks forwards nearly pinch a game from Geelong without there only real forward in it. Especially now Medders is back I can't work this statement out from him.

Who was it last night that said Geelong's defence will be way too strong for our forwards? Fev?

That seems a little bizarre coming from him. He saw Carltanks forwards nearly pinch a game from Geelong without there only real forward in it. Especially now Medders is back I can't work this statement out from him.

To paraphrase Steven Wright, making sense of Fev's comments is like a photographer trying to take a close-up of the horizon...

Yeah but i hope you realise that those people on the panel spend about 30 seconds looking over the teams. they read off the teams off the screen and give an account of nothing. I wouldn't take anything said by them seriously, they don't spend time on bigfooty :p

Good point. I also heard Gary Lyon say that this could be a preview of the September Grand Final and that he rates us very highly.

Off topic: How terrible is the Footy Show? I watched the NRL Footy show last night and it shits all over the AFL Footy show.....At least they talk about sport.

That's why they've won three Logies to the AFL shows lousy one Logie.