Gta IV

GTA is starting to lose its replay value.

Yeah i dunno. I'm further behind most on here, because i went on a massive fishing holiday in the tropics 3 days after release, and have only just got home and started playing again. I just unlocked the middle island (manhattan clone) and thought i was smashing the missions a bit too fast.

Given i find it hard to replay most games as vast as GTA, and get the same amount of enjoyment as the first run through, i'm now doing as many side quests as possible. Vigilante missions, Most wanteds, car thefts for brucie, drug running, etc etc. It'll make this first playthrough last so much longer.

That all said, i replayed mass effect 3 times so i'll probably hit this up again...and then there's multiplayer which i haven't touched yet.

I'm definately loving it

Yeah i dunno. I'm further behind most on here, because i went on a massive fishing holiday in the tropics 3 days after release, and have only just got home and started playing again. I just unlocked the middle island (manhattan clone) and thought i was smashing the missions a bit too fast.

Given i find it hard to replay most games as vast as GTA, and get the same amount of enjoyment as the first run through, i'm now doing as many side quests as possible. Vigilante missions, Most wanteds, car thefts for brucie, drug running, etc etc. It'll make this first playthrough last so much longer.

That all said, i replayed mass effect 3 times so i'll probably hit this up again...and then there's multiplayer which i haven't touched yet.

I'm definately loving it

It's a weird one, because it's not like the game ends when you finish the stroy missions. When I was about half way through I realised there is an achievement for completing the story missions in under 30 hours, so I went for that (and failed by about half an hour :() and am now going aorund stealing the cars, doing the assasinations, getting random achievements (flying helicopter under all bridges, wheelie etc) and Most Wanted. I can see myself coming back again and again, just to do silly stuff like spawn a motorbike on top of the Rotterdam and riding off. And that's not even counting the multiplayer, which I find to be excellent fun.

Jaysus! I took Kate out to that wee Irish pub, she goes 'Sure I drink, my family's Irish', we get pissed and she passes out and dies! Still inside the bloody pub!

We finish up, the screen starts shaking around (cool effect), then she collapses on a table, falls on the floor and I get 'Kate has been killed' message! You little ripper!:D

When I was about half way through I realised there is an achievement for completing the story missions in under 30 hours, so I went for that

Yeah i couldn't do that on my first play through ay. I'd hate the constant grind of having to rush around all the time, you'd miss a lot of the enjoyment i think.

There's a few of these "time to complete" achievements in the 360 game library. Unless its an ordinary game, i'm usually happy to leave that one for the second playthrough.

How many points is it?

Yeah i couldn't do that on my first play through ay. I'd hate the constant grind of having to rush around all the time, you'd miss a lot of the enjoyment i think.

There's a few of these "time to complete" achievements in the 360 game library. Unless its an ordinary game, i'm usually happy to leave that one for the second playthrough.

How many points is it?

Not sure, and I don't even know why I care about those silly achievements, but they get me :D

I don't mind playing through again anyway, yeah.

Not a bad concept by the Xbox team with those achievements, pity the PS3 doesn't have the same...

Although the Xbox has a Ungainly pig of a controller and I can't look past that!

Bring on RE5 and FFXIII

Although the Xbox has a Ungainly pig of a controller and I can't look past that!

You should try using one mate. It feels solid more than ungainly. It is a lot slimmer than the old original Xbox controller, very ergonomically designed, and the offset analogues are just located perfectly for ease of use. The Sixaxis feels positively agricultural in comparison personally

I've dropped it on the tiles a few times with no worries either...unlike a few of my ps controllers whose analogues have stopped functioning just with a little tap.

And yeah, i love achievements. Mean nothing...except in a few games where it unlocks stuff in game...but it makes you try stuff you might otherwise not bother with. Extends the gameplay.

I think PS are doing something with their HOME social network thing. You get trophies, or a new virtual futon for your virtual home, or something...

You should try using one mate. It feels solid more than ungainly. It is a lot slimmer than the old original Xbox controller, very ergonomically designed, and the offset analogues are just located perfectly for ease of use. The Sixaxis feels positively agricultural in comparison personally

I've dropped it on the tiles a few times with no worries either...unlike a few of my ps controllers whose analogues have stopped functioning just with a little tap.

And yeah, i love achievements. Mean nothing...except in a few games where it unlocks stuff in game...but it makes you try stuff you might otherwise not bother with. Extends the gameplay.

I think PS are doing something with their HOME social network thing. You get trophies, or a new virtual futon for your virtual home, or something...

Very articulate first paragraph there sir!

My house mate has the Xbox 360 and whilst I agree that it is a much more improved model than its predecesor, I still rate the PS controllers as the more comfortable.

Having said that I am probably just used to them.

Praise the ____ing lord.

i beat the Game (100%) in 62hrs.

Such Bullshit though...it took 5 hrs for the last mission to trigger.

Jaysus! I took Kate out to that wee Irish pub, she goes 'Sure I drink, my family's Irish', we get pissed and she passes out and dies! Still inside the bloody pub!

We finish up, the screen starts shaking around (cool effect), then she collapses on a table, falls on the floor and I get 'Kate has been killed' message! You little ripper!:D

The exact same thing happened to me. So much for being Irish Kate, you can't drink worth a shit.

Not a bad concept by the Xbox team with those achievements, pity the PS3 doesn't have the same...

Bring on RE5 and FFXIII

I was a big PS2 player, but I have always hated the ps controllers. The sticks ar ein such uncomfortable places, yerk.

Maybe you're going it the wrong way.

I love the PS controllers, they are very comfortable. I have had to buy two extra PS3 controllers though but that's because I'm a drunken idiot, it's not Sony's fault. :cool:

Maybe you're going it the wrong way.

I love the PS controllers, they are very comfortable. I have had to buy two extra PS3 controllers though but that's because I'm a drunken idiot, it's not Sony's fault. :cool:

Have you tried a 360 controller? Did you rate the N64 controllers?

I found my hand would cramp on the N64 controller because of the wrap around on the grip..

The PS3 controller i find i am pushing really hard down on X and my thumg hurts really bad after...

the XBOX controller seem to be a bit better for the hands because the grip pad area is wider but still it is too big...

i have a PS3 BTW and dropped the bastard the first time i used it! I thought it was broken but i reliased the the button in the middle had been pressed and was turned off... I nearly died when it wouldnt work:(

this game sounds awesome i cant wait to get it. vc was my fave this sounds heaps better

Graphically yeah, map size yeah.... But i;d still rate the VC storyline, music, 80's theme and most other things over IV

I found my hand would cramp on the N64 controller because of the wrap around on the grip..

The PS3 controller i find i am pushing really hard down on X and my thumg hurts really bad after...

the XBOX controller seem to be a bit better for the hands because the grip pad area is wider but still it is too big...

i have a PS3 BTW and dropped the bastard the first time i used it! I thought it was broken but i reliased the the button in the middle had been pressed and was turned off... I nearly died when it wouldnt work:(
360 controller>>>>>>>>>>>>>ps3 controller

Wow this console war shit has gone so far you are now at the controllers, lol.

Really it depends on what controller you grew up with, if you had an xbox most your life then that control would feel most comfortable for you, vice versa with the ps controller.

I grew up with a Atari 2600 joystick...so where does that leave me.:D

Really it depends on what controller you grew up with, if you had an xbox most your life then that control would feel most comfortable for you, vice versa with the ps controller.

I've grown up with the following consoles:

Atari 2600
NES
Sega Master System II
Megadrive II
Nintendo 64
Playstation
Playstation II
XBox
XBox 360

My favourite controller of the lot for comfort was the 6-Button that came with the MDII. That was sweet. Small, smooth, nice layout, etc.

For ease of use/memorising controls the Playstation I/II contoller was great. With the XBox, for some reason I still find myself looking down at the pad on a game like CoD3 when you're planting explosives, whereas the Sony Square/Triangle/Cross/Circle buttons are totally ingrained.