Hall/Thompson

• Thread starter Thread starter Jimpson

apologies, i must of missed the bit where Thompson extended his arm to shake his hand.

Well now you are merely engaging in petty semantics. It was quite clear to all impartial supporters who saw the footage that Thompson deliberately and passively jogged over to Hall at the final siren, stopped beside him, and Hall chose to ignore him by continuing to walk and then Thompson turned, aggreived and uttering a few words towards North's change room. If you can honestly tell me you saw that footage and didn't think Thompson was just trying to do the "sportsmanly" thing then that is your perogative, but I think those who can look at the incident in an ubiased fashion would disagree.

I would like to see the AFL come down hard on those players whose main focus on the field to to harrass another player into a reaction. They should get double the suspension of the player who has reacted. That should stop them.

And while there at it they should make it compulsory to wear tutus and tiaras. Seriously people complaining about the afl making the game soft and then people come out after this incident and demand the afl make the game even more soft , grow up seriously there men not boys they should learn to deal with it.

This Brad Scott statement is all about spin and deflection. It deflects from result and performance of North Melbourne on Saturday. They were a disgrace and performed like a bottom 4 side. Scott would prefer we discuss Barry Hall, than his own side's dismal performance.

During the NAB cup the commentators were regularly talking about how when the real stuff starts Hall is going to get a lot of extra attention and sides are going to try to get under his skin and try to rattle him. And so now that the inevitable has happened... we get a avalanche of hysterical schoolgirl-like bleating from all and sundry.

Fair dinkum it was no different to what dozens of players have to put up with every week (boomer included, from picken on the weekend).

It seems everybody wanted Hall's return to be the fairytale story of a changed man but now that he's clearly shown he's still the pea-brained head case he always has been, everyone wants someone else to blame. Pathetic.

It seems niggling is fine every week as long as the target can handle it. If he can't, he needs special 'protection' from the umpires. Give me a ****ing break.

Without reading 50 odd pages of posts and knowing what others have said, my views are:-

1. Thompson was doing nothing illegal (i.e. outside the rules) and nothing particularly unusual for all those niggling defenders in today's games. I therefore find Eade's comments as somewhat suprising and, in amny respects, unfounded and plain false.

2. Hall's reaction was strong, but not particularly unreasonable given the build up during the game. If it was anyone else, no one would care. I think the only worrying thing is that the length of time he applied the headlock and (I can imagine) the force, had the potential to do some real damage to Thompson.

3. Hall is a grown adult and an AFL footballer, and like all players has to deal with the type of niggle he was receiving on the day, so long as nothing is being done outside the rules of the game. I don't quite understand the comparisons to midfielders like Judd, as as far as I understand the AFL's view on the matter, the reason for cracking down on the attention these midfielders was getting was because such attention was hindering their path to the ball at stoppages etc. The situation involving Hall was behind the play and did not seem to impact at all upon Hall's ability to get to a contest or lead for the ball.

4. Hall (rightly or wrongly) put up with the same treatment for years at Sydney, and the media paid no attention to it (unless there was a reaction) and when they did so, it was to condemn Hall's actions. There are a few double standards there.

5. Hall may have been confronted by other North players when he was leaving the ground but he was also raising his elbows to each, which did nothing more than provoke the situation.

6. Where Hall "imposes" himself on a contest by taking it up to a defender who has tried to spoil him or runs across the path of his lead, we don't expect the defender to react in the way Hall did. Granted those are one off instances, but I don't see how Hall can expect a defender not to niggle him all game if he gives it back in spades in imposing his physicality on a game. I think this really comes back to Hall's maturity or lack thereof.

7. I think Scott was right to react in the way he did, given Eade's comments seem to be not only unfounded, but seemingly done to deflect the attention away from Hall's reaction.

It seems niggling is fine every week as long as the target can handle it. If he can't, he needs special 'protection' from the umpires. Give me a ****ing break.

So whats with these North supporters calling for Hall to be suspended over a headlock? Give me a ****ing break.

Without reading 50 odd pages of posts and knowing what others have said, my views are:-

1. Thompson was doing nothing illegal (i.e. outside the rules) and nothing particularly unusual for all those niggling defenders in today's games. I therefore find Eade's comments as somewhat suprising and, in amny respects, unfounded and plain false.

2. Hall's reaction was strong, but not particularly unreasonable given the build up during the game. If it was anyone else, no one would care. I think the only worrying thing is that the length of time he applied the headlock and (I can imagine) the force, had the potential to do some real damage to Thompson.

3. Hall is a grown adult and an AFL footballer, and like all players has to deal with the type of niggle he was receiving on the day, so long as nothing is being done outside the rules of the game. I don't quite understand the comparisons to midfielders like Judd, as as far as I understand the AFL's view on the matter, the reason for cracking down on the attention these midfielders was getting was because such attention was hindering their path to the ball at stoppages etc. The situation involving Hall was behind the play and did not seem to impact at all upon Hall's ability to get to a contest or lead for the ball.

4. Hall (rightly or wrongly) put up with the same treatment for years at Sydney, and the media paid no attention to it (unless there was a reaction) and when they did so, it was to condemn Hall's actions. There are a few double standards there.

5. Hall may have been confronted by other North players when he was leaving the ground but he was also raising his elbows to each, which did nothing more than provoke the situation.

6. Where Hall "imposes" himself on a contest by taking it up to a defender who has tried to spoil him or runs across the path of his lead, we don't expect the defender to react in the way Hall did. Granted those are one off instances, but I don't see how Hall can expect a defender not to niggle him all game if he gives it back in spades in imposing his physicality on a game. I think this really comes back to Hall's maturity or lack thereof.

7. I think Scott was right to react in the way he did, given Eade's comments seem to be not only unfounded, but seemingly done to deflect the attention away from Hall's reaction.

Very good unbiased opinion

Interesting that the Hall reaction has drawn such a response.

What Thompson did isn't new. I have seen this occur on MULTIPLE occassions. It happened between Scarlett and Cloke on Friday night, has happened at the North Melbourne vs West Coast game (between Scott McMahon and Ashley Hansen).

Hall's reaction has brought this niggling tactic into the spotlight.

It will be interesting to see what the AFL have to say about it. I think it has been blown out of proportion to the extent that most North and Bulldogs supporters are eagerly awaiting 1 August.

The only issue I had with the Hall incident was with other North players getting involved as he was leaving the ground. I don't think that Pratt and Firrito needed to get involved as all Hall was doing was leaving the ground.

The game from that point turned quite spiteful. It will be interesting to see what the MRP findings will be. I hope it doesn't turn into the "trial by media" circus that has happened in the past - if it does I can forsee Hall, Thompson and Firrito getting weeks (although I don't necessarily agree that any of them should).

One incident that I missed (and haven't seen footage of) was between Eagleton and Ziebell. Has anyone seen it? I heard a number of people in the area that I sit in complain about what had happened but wasn't able to ascertain (as I didn't see it) what had happened. It did draw some tension between Eagleton and Rawllings.

Maybe Thompson is a mega w***er... Cam Mooney seems to flip out and try to kill him each time they play.

But Mooney is the bigger man and admits to thompson being a good player and doing his job ... he has said it on the footy show

I aint having a cry mate. Im pointing out what everyone is overlooking!

Shame AFL has no precedence. Danny Southern's headlock = fine, Tony Lockett's headlock = fine.

Yes true but with the AFL's new rule about unnessacary contact to the head makes this one that little more worse then those two , in terms of suspension that is

And while there at it they should make it compulsory to wear tutus and tiaras. Seriously people complaining about the afl making the game soft and then people come out after this incident and demand the afl make the game even more soft , grow up seriously there men not boys they should learn to deal with it.

Well then Thompson shouldn't have hit Barry Hall while he was doing up his shoe. Do it to his face....like a man...and see what happens.

b-%282%29-600x400.jpg

Well then Thompson shouldn't have hit Barry Hall while he was doing up his shoe. Do it to his face....like a man...and see what happens.

Ooooh lol , and as far as a hit goes little over top as it was only a light shove with the hip , maybe Barry should have acted like a man and moved on am i right?

b-%282%29-600x400.jpg
Sorry this is a pisstake surely, if approached, Hall would have been faced the other way, and then swung around, and king hit Thompson - like he did with Staker, LIKE A MAN?

Again, I hope Hall doesn't get done, but this whole issue is a pisstake, and this 'like a man' business is the pisstake cream on the top of a pisstake pie, consumed by flogs who enjoy the taste of a pisstake.

Yes true but with the AFL's new rule about unnessacary contact to the head makes this one that little more worse then those two , in terms of suspension that is

The neck is below the head. ;)

Glad you clarified it with your "in terms of suspension" as Danny's and Plugger's were far more brutal.

The neck is below the head. ;)

Glad you clarified it with your "in terms of suspension" as Danny's and Plugger's were far more brutal.

true plugger's and danny's were brutal lol i was'nt disputing that lol. Neck or head makes no difference. Look i do not give a stuff if Barry is suspended or not but you have to look at it this way he has 96. blah blah carry over points he only need 4 points or whatever it is from this incident and he's gone