Hammo the hack is at it again.

The Kangaroos are battling he says and we should have won. Well Hammo old son we are battling as well. Have you not watched us for the last few years? We are a poor footy side and your shock is to be frank shocking from someone who is in the know. Cmon you are either a troll or an idiot if you think you are being revelatory. I mean us being a poor footy side is as obvious as your owners newspaper being closed down for phone hacking.

John love you work, but when it comes to Hammo these two aren't mutually exclusive!

Almost tempted to watch it, to witness ignorance at its best (or should that be worst?)

If you watch it, even if you don't like it, the Courier Mail will view that as validation. It's about hits (and advertising downloads), not what your opinion of the dreck is.

Now if only they hurried up and paywalled the Courier Mail.

Love your work John.you should be a journo after that effort:thumbsu:

I wont watch it,he is such a tool.
Unfortunately unless our boys give us something to be proud of,Hamilton will do this stuff, because he hates our club.

Not sure why he is allowed to get away with it to be honest.
Disgraceful.:thumbsdown:

If Simon Black carries the team why did the team perform 1000x better after he was subbed off?

Wonder how long until there are 1000 posts in this thread dedicated to how terrible a "journalist" he is.

IMHO I think Hamilton's latest was pretty well spot on. Abusing the correspondent and others in personal terms, to boot using poor grammar and derogatory sexist language that would never pass the sub-editors's desk untouched [dribble?? methinks perhaps drivel] does nothing to detract from the substance of the article.

News flash- club travelling badly gets reported on as travelling badly. Wow- how unfair can you get.

So there's as least one club going worse than us. Guess what- that club and its coach has been pounded all over the media and has been rightly attracting bucketfulls.

We seem to escape a fair bit of criticism because we are more or less out of the mainstream and because the CM clearly doesn't rate AFL all that highly. Given the recent thorough cleanout of procedures and processes, I think it highly unlikely that our performance this year when all we have beaten are non-starters would escape the attention of the hierarchy. I think there has already been one non-too subtle shot across the bows.

This weekend we got done over by a busted arse club that seems to have somehow done a pretty good job in recruiting from limited resources. That's an honest reality check in my book. Just as Hamilton says.

I stick by my assessment that if Voss finishes the year with 4 or thereabouts then it will be all over, red rover. I will say this in his favour- at least he is sifting through the ranks and doing his best to bring on the available talent. And our 2's are greatly improved over last year. Unfortunately, some of the improvements we might have anticipated from those with a bit of senior experience under the belt simply have not eventuated.

We have got two Rising Star nominations so far this year Tassie. Did Hammo do any positive stories on those guys?

Hamilton is a Sydney supporter who takes every opportunity to sink the boot in and deride the club. The facts behind some of what he says may be right but the gloating and the general lack of anything resembling journalism coming from him rightly sees him condemned by the club and those of us who actually support the club.

We have got two Rising Star nominations so far this year Tassie. Did Hammo do any positive stories on those guys?

Hamilton is a Sydney supporter who takes every opportunity to sink the boot in and deride the club. The facts behind some of what he says may be right but the gloating and the general lack of anything resembling journalism coming from him rightly sees him condemned by the club and those of us who actually support the club.

Exactly. The man is incapable of writing positive stories about the Lions. He's basically at the level of a Bigfooty troll. And not a very good one.

Does Hammo post on bigfooty under the name LRL '44?

IMHO I think Hamilton's latest was pretty well spot on.

In that is said we are playing shit football, yes, it was technically correct, but the complete lack of any sort of critical analysis as to why it is so, and what could or should be done to address it means that it provides no value whatsoever.

- Protect the financial and political interests of the parent company at all times.
- Tell the readers what they want to hear at all times, exaggerate for effect.
- Don't ever require your readers to think at any time.

That is the Courier Mail approach in a nutshell. I often glance at the copy that sits in our pod at work and wonder what type of people actually find value in it. I just cant work it out.

I know you have issues with a lot of areas of the club at the moment Tassie, as many of us do, but please man... have the balls to call out irredeemable dreck when you see it, even if it is telling you what you want to hear.

They pretty much said North are a worse club than us and this should have been an easy win, which is laughable in itself. If that was what they think they are in the minority of the football world, what were the odds? About 4:1?

Whilst it was a winnable game, they treated it as if it was a loss to GWS. We aren't playing great footy at the minute, but the club isn't a shambles like they make out.

If you watch it, even if you don't like it, the Courier Mail will view that as validation. It's about hits (and advertising downloads), not what your opinion of the dreck is.

Now if only they hurried up and paywalled the Courier Mail.[/quote]

Re: http://video.couriermail.com.au/2239941064/The-Terrible-Lions[/COLOR]"] So… “How do I sugar-coat this?” – with an… articles/videos such as this will not “in a million years” be behind a pay-wall because people will not pay for crap like this?

Why? Because people get a more ‘interesting’ and ‘knowledgeable’ read elsewhere in the i-web.

Consider… http://www.omnilogos.com/2011/05/27/journalism-public-relations-and-their-struggle-for-public-attention/ and this from 2008 and before the current twitter boom.

Recent research confirms that journalism and public relations are converging around new developments in social media. Consumer-generated media in the form of blogs, message boards, social networking sites like Facebook and MySpace, and viral video on sites like YouTube are proliferating throughout society and changing the way both journalists and PR practitioners conduct business. Indeed, the relationship may no longer only be about journalists and PR people, but about journalists and bloggers, PR people and bloggers, and the resulting changes in information management and public opinion formation.
- Brian G Smith. “A Complicated, Antagonistic, Symbiotic Affair: Journalism, Public Relations and Their Struggle for Public Attention.” Journalism and Mass Communication Quarterly. Columbia: Winter 2008. Volume 85.

IMO it seems to be a yin and yang of the world as we are not Robinson Crusoe [also look at politics - and interchange with 'sporting clubs'] in having to pamper/give up scoop information or exclusivity to the media for an equal or part thereof ‘balanced’ time or space… and this will continue to be argued till the cows come home or a ‘million years’, whichever comes first.

http://www.abc.net.au/news/2011-04-12/an-antagonistic-relationship/2620328

An antagonistic relationship
The Drum – [The Drum is on Monday to Thursday at 6pm (EST) on ABC News 24]
Marius Benson
Updated April 12, 2011 09:10:00

The relationship between journalists and politicians varies. They talk, they socialise, they argue, they leak, they fight, they party, they couple, they wed.
Professionally the relationship is sometimes symbiotic, at times parasitic, sometimes sycophantic - but the public is best served when it is antagonistic.

I was reminded of this after a particularly sharp exchange with a senior federal politician. In fairness I'll leave the politician un-named because they just provided the latest in a pattern of encounters that recurs between every journalist and every politician. Call the person in question MP…..

They pretty much said North are a worse club than us and this should have been an easy win, which is laughable in itself. If that was what they think they are in the minority of the football world, what were the odds? About 4:1?

Whilst it was a winnable game, they treated it as if it was a loss to GWS. We aren't playing great footy at the minute, but the club isn't a shambles like they make out.

Don't have an opion on "hammo" as he is not on my must read list.
But if hammo is suggesting we are a shambles then pity him as he has got it very wrong.
We will be a powerhouse again, much sooner than a lot of footy fans think.
The reason: its recruiting over the last couple or three drafts. I am confident they have gone for the right types.

In that is said we are playing shit football, yes, it was technically correct, but the complete lack of any sort of critical analysis as to why it is so, and what could or should be done to address it means that it provides no value whatsoever.

- Protect the financial and political interests of the parent company at all times.

- Tell the readers what they want to hear at all times, exaggerate for effect.
- Don't ever require your readers to think at any time.

That is the Courier Mail approach in a nutshell. I often glance at the copy that sits in our pod at work and wonder what type of people actually find value in it. I just cant work it out.

I know you have issues with a lot of areas of the club at the moment Tassie, as many of us do, but please man... have the balls to call out irredeemable dreck when you see it, even if it is telling you what you want to hear.

First up, TBD, you don't know who I am and as far as I know we have never met. So cut out the personal abuse. Just because I disagree with you, at least to some extent apparently, doesn't leave me bereft of balls.

Next, I don't agree with everything Hamilton writes and have told him so more than once, face-to-face. However, I think his latest article summed up pretty honestly where we are at as a club. Maybe not what I "wanted to hear", but honestly.

Nor does the fact that I subscribe to the CM and The Australian make me a card-carrying News Ltd. supporter. Unfortunately we lack newspaper options in this State, which is one reason I also read online the Guardian, SMH, Telegraph, the Mercury etc whenever I have time. The main reason I subscribe to the CM, if you must know, is that my wife likes to keep up with local affairs. As far as I am concerned the CM totally lost my confidence the day they ran the news that Queensland had lost its triple A rating on Page 7 or 8. And I told the editor so.

But an option is available to all those who disagree with the stuff written in the Australian or the CM- don't buy or read the damn thing. Just, eg, like I don't watch Q&A- you know what you're going to get.

And last, I don't have a multitude of "issues" with the club- my principal concern is and has been our poor recruitment, for which we are condemned to suffer for many a long season I fear. Apart from that, I reckon Angus seems like he has a very good grasp on the business- ie, winning football games.

On reflection, it was a pretty unfair gig to offer Voss so early in his coaching career, not that I blame him for taking it up. There are some hopeful signs, but precious little that Harvey is having any impact.

Re: Wall of text.

My point remains largely the same. As a piece of professional journalism from what is the State's leading (only) newspaper, that Hammo video was irredeemable, lowest common denominator trash. I can't agree with any argument to the contrary.

EDIT: I will point out that I have actually complimented Hamilton via Twitter on the rare occassion that he has stumbled into the realm of competent, professional journalism. We aren't all bitter irrational types foaming at the mouth at everything he says.

That said, I apologise for declaring you bereft of (metaphorical) balls.

Big difference IMO between saying 'the Lions are playing terrible football' and 'the Lions are a terrible club'. The latter implies they are not worth supporting, which is insulting to anyone who is, or feels, a part of it.