ImperialPurple

In it for the long haul
SFFC, Aussie Women's Cricket, HNK
I'm just thinking... for a club that could still make the eight, there have been a few interesting decisions:

1. Not contesting Josh's charge to try and get him back to play Port.

2. Playing / carrying Cookie to 150 games.

3. Sending Blackie off for surgery before the end of the season.

4. Sending Matt Carr off for surgery before the end of the season.

5. Continuing to play Macca (okay maybe I'm kidding with that one... ;))

I dunno... just a thought.

I don't actually believe they will send a team out with the instructions not to play for the win... but they have made some decisions with finals on the doorstep that could be viewed as not necessarily giving themselves the best possible opportunity.

Like I said - just a thought.

Yes, I believe so.

I said in the 'Josh Carr suspended' thread that I thought we shouldn't try too hard to win against Port, and as predicted, not many agree with me.

Am I suggesting that the players will deliberately kick points or kick the ball to the opposition? Hell no. Harvey would not tolerate it. But long term goals are being given priority to short term ones (as IP has highlighted).

The intensity would only have to be 5% down for it to have a detrimental effect on the team's performance. I believe we will lose the Port game by a considerable margin, maybe five goals.

Flame away. :rolleyes:

I'm just thinking... for a club that could still make the eight, there have been a few interesting decisions:

1. Not contesting Josh's charge to try and get him back to play Port.

2. Playing / carrying Cookie to 150 games.

3. Sending Blackie off for surgery before the end of the season.

4. Sending Matt Carr off for surgery before the end of the season.

5. Continuing to play Macca (okay maybe I'm kidding with that one... ;))

I dunno... just a thought.

I don't actually believe they will send a team out with the instructions not to play for the win... but they have made some decisions with finals on the doorstep that could be viewed as not necessarily giving themselves the best possible opportunity.

Like I said - just a thought.

I think those decisions could just as easily be interpreted as having been made to give ourselves the best opportunity possible in the finals.

ie

1) Not contesting is a smart move at the tribunal if you are Freo, especially close to finals.

2) Playing a guy with one or two games left could ensure a real intensity in his attack (especially if its Cookie).

3) If he's that badly injured would he be a liability (like Sandi was becoming)???

4) see above

5) see number one (although he may be playing for his career as well).

I also heard that Freo have organised their end of year trip in the second week of the finals!!

Heath Black addressed this issue on 6pr. The Freo boys are going to Las Vegas for their end of season of trip...but have not bought any tickets for the trip yet.

LMAO

Boozin, blackjack and hookers on the strip. Nice one boys :thumbsu:!

I hope they remember the Vegas tourism slogan....

Its the prawns!!

Just digressing a little has anyone factored in the "Let down factor" port mite go thru after that sensational win V cats.

Actually Port mite be ripe for the taking??
Sorry if it upsets the planning on getting pick 4 or 5 or 6 or 7 etc

I think those decisions could just as easily be interpreted as having been made to give ourselves the best opportunity possible in the finals.

ie

1) Not contesting is a smart move at the tribunal if you are Freo, especially close to finals.

2) Playing a guy with one or two games left could ensure a real intensity in his attack (especially if its Cookie).

3) If he's that badly injured would he be a liability (like Sandi was becoming)???

4) see above

5) see number one (although he may be playing for his career as well).

Fair call... glass half full for you always, eh roundy?? ;)

Not always, I just try not to read to much into things that could interpreted in any number of ways.

The medicos could have as much do with the surgery decisions as the selection panel, and the coach may well rate Cookie as in our best 22 atm without ever entertaining the sentimental factor.

Not always, I just try not to read to much into things that could interpreted in any number of ways.

The medicos could have as much do with the surgery decisions as the selection panel, and the coach may well rate Cookie as in our best 22 atm without ever entertaining the sentimental factor.

Harvey said not long after he took over that there was still room for sentiment in footy, and that Cookie would most likely be given the 3 games he needs to reach 150. His performances prior to getitng a game were not scintillating by any stretch of the imagination, and he's pretty much done four-fifths of bugger all in the two games he's played (did kick a nice goal against the Saints though... :thumbsu:). Under normal circumstances I would've thought he hasn't really done enough to hold his spot... but then I'm not on the selection committee...

And if Blackie's been carrying this since Rd 16 - why have they let him play, let him play, let him play.... and then when we had "the loss" which pretty much ended the season, then he's in for surgery that week.

Josh's was a soft suspension - and wouldn't you want your VC, and one of your front line players available for the last roll of the dice? I reckon that would have been worth the punt of contesting....

Anyway... as I said - it was just a thought that crossed my mind. Now it's more firmly entrenched. ;)

Harvey said not long after he took over that there was still room for sentiment in footy, and that Cookie would most likely be given the 3 games he needs to reach 150. His performances prior to getitng a game were not scintillating by any stretch of the imagination, and he's pretty much done four-fifths of bugger all in the two games he's played (did kick a nice goal against the Saints though... :thumbsu:). Under normal circumstances I would've thought he hasn't really done enough to hold his spot... but then I'm not on the selection committee...

And if Blackie's been carrying this since Rd 16 - why have they let him play, let him play, let him play.... and then when we had "the loss" which pretty much ended the season, then he's in for surgery that week.

Josh's was a soft suspension - and wouldn't you want your VC, and one of your front line players available for the last roll of the dice? I reckon that would have been worth the punt of contesting....

Anyway... as I said - it was just a thought that crossed my mind. Now it's more firmly entrenched. ;)

All valid points, but "beware the undermanned team"!!

It has caught us a few more times than I care to think about.

It is only the last few weeks that We have had the young blokes pushing up to the same level as the regulars carrying injuries.

Just digressing a little has anyone factored in the "Let down factor" port mite go thru after that sensational win V cats.

Actually Port mite be ripe for the taking??
Sorry if it upsets the planning on getting pick 4 or 5 or 6 or 7 etc

Port had that win in Tassie against the hawks the week before too. Port are coming off back to back away games, a six day break and fine weather is forecast. There aren't any horses to bet on so get on Freo!!

Harvey also said more recently that he would play the best possible team in the final rounds because that is what the supporters deserve. That would seem to indicate that he thinks Cookie is in or around our best twenty two.

I would have thought that forgoing the likes of Cookie and Macca in preference to giving youngsters like Ibbotson and Dunn a game would be evidence of conceeding more than playing the hardened veterans anyway.

As for the Carr decision...nope. It's soft but contesting would almost certainly backfire and cost more weeks. Smart decision not to contest.

As for the injuries, sometimes the the harsh decisions have to be made regardless. Sandi had a similar injury to MCarr and is arguable a more important player than MCarr. He played injured for a long term, similar to the other two, but was sent to surgery when we were in hunt to a greater degree than we are now. Did that decision indicate we had conceded the season weeks ago? I don't think so. I think it was a similar hard call that just had to made as with Mcarr and Black.

If you are still becoming more convinced, I have a friend who sells time-share apartments on the Gold Coast that I'd really like to introduce you to.
:)

Steve Nelkovski just said on seven "If you think Fremantle are going to lie down this week to stitch up west coast, think again. They have actually locked the gates at tonights training session and are taking the match very seriously."

No shit sherlock. As if Harvey would tell the players not to try just to make things difficult for the eagles. Players don't go at 80% to get priority draft picks and they're certainly not going to take their foot off the pedal to stitch up another club.

Harvey also said on Ch 10 that Dessie wasn't a walk up start on Sat just coz he's fit. I love it, c'mon Harvey instill that mongrel that we've needed for 12 years. I reckon we might make Pt shake in their boots on Sat'day, also they are coming off a 6 day break.

I like that too. Headland's form has been very good this year, but if there isn't anyone in the 22 that deserves to be dropped then Dessie misses out.

I reckon we're a huge chance, the $3.55 for a Freo victory is good value.