Hawks draw the biggest crowd for Rd 2

• Thread starter Thread starter Goldhawk

It was interesting to note that the Hawthorn v Melbourne game drew the biggest crowd for rd 2 with 49,905 , not bad for a Sunday twilight game.

The next best was Friday nights game between St.Kilda and Richmond on 41,465 and then Collingwood with their 60K plus members on 40,578.

Well done to all Hawthorn supporters that turned out to the G.

Am I the only person disappointed by the crowd? Sure it was a twilight game, but it was our first home match after a long hiatus and we have over 50k members and we played another Melbourne team. I would have thought 60-65k would have been a good number.

Not sure why they played this at 4.40pm and the Bulldogs game (which was always going to be a poor crowd) earlier. Maybe 60K if it was at 2pm.

To be fair, the dogs generally get their fair share of twilight games.

Thats said I couldnt help but think how many might have been there had it been a 2.10pm start.

Youd reckon 55k plus.

Geez the AFL hate us.

They hate us because we beat them in Tasmania.

They hate us because we are developing the game in New Zealand..doing what they are paid to do and dont in both Tasmania and New Zealand.

So they get back at us by

1st round NAB cup send us interstate.

1st round of this season...send us interstate.

2nd round they give us the Sunday twilight match and yet for all that we still draw the biggest crowd.

When are the AFL going to wake up to themselves. Give us the Collingwood type draw, best game times and dates and we will provide the entertainment and the crowds.

Am I the only person disappointed by the crowd? Sure it was a twilight game, but it was our first home match after a long hiatus and we have over 50k members and we played another Melbourne team. I would have thought 60-65k would have been a good number.

Russ, I hear what you saying but if you compare it to the 42k they drew for a 2.10pm start the week prior in the Honest Bombers v Dogs game, i reckon it's alright.

A good reason could be that the Tassie members didn't fly over, Just because we have 50,000 members doesn't mean they can all make it the game, especially at the awkward time slot which ruled out quite a few families.

Now that is news.

Almost 50000 attended a Sunday twilight game featuring Melbourne and walloping the crowd for a Collingwood Saturday afternoon game played at Irrelevant Stadium.

Rusty, the AFL under the ineffectual and bitter leadership of Demetriou will never give us a fair go. But guess what, we do not need a fair go to demonstrate that we are a real powerhouse.

If we continue with the all out attack game plan then even more fans will flock to our games. If only we had a Saturday home game against the DUDS.

Up yours Deleterious

Say what you like about the clubs interaction with the Melbourne members (we don't want to turn this into another Tasmania/NZ thread) but the consistent increase year on year is impressive.

In regards to the Sunday Early V Twilight slot, I think you'll find that Foxtel 'rank' the twilight slot higher (i.e. better ratings) and it generally gets the better game.

I have Foxtel (it's Aurora up here in Darwin). So I can sit at home in comfort and watch all I like. That isn't everywhere though. I feel for those in other areas that free-to-air and Fox fail to cover. AFL need to consider that.

It's no surprise to see free-to-air coverage in those places that AFL want to promote themselves in. Like Sydney vs Scum (wonderful to see Scum lose, Hird now has to deal with it).

Yet they hate us in Tassie. Won't schedule any big games there. Like ANZAC and Queen's Birthday weekend's, always dedicated to the two teams. Won't share the big crowds with teams that need it, like Footscray, North, nor even Hawks, the second biggest team in Vic bar the fickle Wobbler's mob.

That's just blatant sponsorship of certain teams by the AFL. Isn't this a national competition? What kind of tourism would AFL sponser if ANZAC day was Freo vs Sydney?

Crowd was ok given the chill in the air and the time.

Our mob certainly out-numbered the Dees show ponies.

Expect a big turn-out next week against the Tuggers.

Surely HodgePodge will now stroll on to B13 and announce that we are now the greatest draw card in the league?! :)

Yesterday I left home for the game at 3:00pm with plenty of time to get there. I drove in on the Monash and by 3:40pm I was at the Punt Rd exit.

(I moved house, so this is the first time I've come into the footy on the Monash, usually I would take the Eastern.)

From 3:40pm-4:20pm I sat pretty much stationary on the Punt Rd exit. Max of 1km away from the ground. It was there, in eyesight just teasing me.

At 4:20pm I had enough. I did a U-turn and somehow wound up at the Shrine of Remembrance. More gridlock.

I headed back to Punt Rd which still wasn't moving, went down some one way side streets, took out a Honda's side mirror, and eventually wound up at East Richmond station. Caught the next train to Richmond, and got to the game at QTR time around 5:15pm.

What a ****in joke! Did anyone else who came in on the Monash experience this? An absolute disgrace. Melbourne's roads would have to be the worst going round.

/rant

The only positive was being able listen to Triple M's coverage in the car of Essendon's narrow loss :thumbsu:

What a ****in joke! Did anyone else who came in on the Monash experience this? An absolute disgrace. Melbourne's roads would have to be the worst going round.
I came in from Northcote. Took one look at the Punt Rd gridlock then headed west to the city, parked at the Arts center and walked in, getting there about 15 mins in. Diabolical Sunday traffic on Punt Rd.

It was interesting to note that the Hawthorn v Melbourne game drew the biggest crowd for rd 2 with 49,905 , not bad for a Sunday twilight game.

The next best was Friday nights game between St.Kilda and Richmond on 41,465 and then Collingwood with their 60K plus members on 40,578.

Well done to all Hawthorn supporters that turned out to the G.

That is surprising goldhawk - I think it being a twilight game probably cost 10K as well.

I came in from Northcote. Took one look at the Punt Rd gridlock then headed west to the city, parked at the Arts center and walked in, getting there about 15 mins in. Diabolical Sunday traffic on Punt Rd.

Do you drive in from Northcote?

Mate, you're on the Epping line...I couldn't possibly imagine an easier (and cheaper) way to arrive than the train to Jolimont?

Do you drive in from Northcote?

Mate, you're on the Epping line...I couldn't possibly imagine an easier (and cheaper) way to arrive than the train to Jolimont?
I was at my neice's 1st birthday party and had to get back to home in Ballarat after. If I lived there, yes, I'd take the train.

Yesterday I left home for the game at 3:00pm with plenty of time to get there. I drove in on the Monash and by 3:40pm I was at the Punt Rd exit.

(I moved house, so this is the first time I've come into the footy on the Monash, usually I would take the Eastern.)

From 3:40pm-4:20pm I sat pretty much stationary on the Punt Rd exit. Max of 1km away from the ground. It was there, in eyesight just teasing me.

At 4:20pm I had enough. I did a U-turn and somehow wound up at the Shrine of Remembrance. More gridlock.

I headed back to Punt Rd which still wasn't moving, went down some one way side streets, took out a Honda's side mirror, and eventually wound up at East Richmond station. Caught the next train to Richmond, and got to the game at QTR time around 5:15pm.

/rant

The only positive was being able listen to Triple M's coverage in the car of Essendon's narrow loss :thumbsu:

The Eastern Fwy yesterday wouldn't have been any better for you. I drove my youngest and myself into the game from Fairfield so, against better judgment, I jumped off Heidelberg Rd onto Hoddle Street and ran smack into a massive traffic snarl off the Eastern Fwy. I managed to get onto Johnson Street, down Wellington Parade and then onto Clarendon Street - only to be confronted by "carpark closed" signs at gate 3. Drove around hoping to get into the MCG carpark off Punt Rd, but they were closed as well. Ended up jagging a carpark on Bridge Rd and got to my seats at the end of the first quarter. I was very angry to see the carpark closed with it less than 3/4ers full. A joke.

So what exactly would need to happen for us to start getting Collingwood treatment?

We have a huge amount of members... does this factor in, or is it just gate sales?
We post big profits... we are a big powerful club now, with decent money.
We play an exciting brand of football, with exciting players (no other team has a Franklin AND a Rioli...)
We are the most successful club in the last 50 years (10 premiereships)

Seriously, why are we treated so badly? Is it just that we're not as old as Essendon/Carlton/Collingwood. Or that we don't generate the same amount of gate sales?

I really want these circumstances to change, I don't see why Hawthorn doesn't deserve more games in Melbourne while Collingwood has 1000, I want more Friday night games, StK/Carl/Ess dominate this. Collingwood have nearly all of the feature games sewn up on bullshit 'tradition'. Demetriou played for us, how can he hate us that much?

The Eastern Fwy yesterday wouldn't have been any better for you. I drove my youngest and myself into the game from Fairfield so, against better judgment, I jumped off Heidelberg Rd onto Hoddle Street and ran smack into a massive traffic snarl off the Eastern Fwy. I managed to get onto Johnson Street, down Wellington Parade and then onto Clarendon Street - only to be confronted by "carpark closed" signs at gate 3. Drove around hoping to get into the MCG carpark off Punt Rd, but they were closed as well. Ended up jagging a carpark on Bridge Rd and got to my seats at the end of the first quarter. I was very angry to see the carpark closed with it less than 3/4ers full. A joke.

If you aren't against walking -- don't go anywhere near the MCG carpark -- best to park on the north side of Victoria Parade and walk ..