Heat Wave

• Thread starter Thread starter Macca19

Anyone else not looking forward to another week of 35+ degree days?

Not looking forward to my next Electricity bill either. :(

They say the change will come next Wednesday, just hope that doesn't mean rain for Thursday night.

It's just ****ed Macca. Just ****ed. Can't stand this shit. El Juninho or whatever its name is can just piss off back to South America.

To make matters worse I have my first trial game for footy this Saturday. Forecast? 38.

Apparently we will break the National heat wave record tommorow.

I feel for you guys. Spoke to my dad yesterday and he is struggling in the heat. Hope you don't get black outs as a result of the peak electricity usage over the next week.

In Qld they have record rain fall in Febuary. MacKay got 600mils in a 24 hour period. In Sydney in February we had only 3 days of average or above average tempatures for the month. 3 weeks ago we got February's average rainfall in just over an hour. Most of last week and the next we have finally got decent weather.

n668067098_481243_1781.jpg

Doesn't it look nice? Hope it made you all feel a bit cooler at least. :p

If you guys wanna take the rain from up here in Darwin, feel free.

At least I will be able to dry my clothes propably without getting the crap dryer smell, and beable to walk to work without gettin rained on.

By all means, I would love to send the rain up here to Adel, mainly to help the farmers, but also to help the general puublic.

I just hate getting into a hot car at the end of the day. Can't touch my gear stick or steering wheel.

and Morell, we've got hockey trials and a Junior Day this weekend too. So many events have been cancelled/postponed lately it's a real shame.

My garden's looking shocking, but at least so is everyone else's. My trees are dying now though so hope they don't fall over!

It's shocking isn't it. Down here we usually avoid the intense heat that Adelaide has to deal with, but not of late, we are copping it to.

And to make matters worse even the north winds are not helping with the surf of late :(.

Worrying times indeed.

Hope everyone manages to keep as cool as possible, especially those that have elderly parents/friends or those with young children.

I ring my mum a couple of times a day to make sure she is drinking plenty of water and just to check on her general health. She refuses to have airconditioning and is happy with just fans on and wet towels to keep her cool. Mind you, her place isnt that hot inside as she has some lovely shady trees out the front.

Looking forward to next Wednesday when they say the temp will drop to 33*.

How sad that we have to look forward to the temp dropping to ****ing 33! :(

Gimme Winter any day over this shit!

I'm not keen on the hot weather and I certainly have sympathy for those affected by it. It's especially worrying for the elderly and frail who may not have air conditioning or are reluctant to use it for fear of it's impact on their power bill.

Personally I work in air conditioned comfort, my car is air conditioned and my house has ducted air conditioning throughout. It's like living in a cocoon and is so removed from when I grew up without air conditioning. In those days we didn't think twice about walking home from school several miles in blazing heat, about sleeping in a hot house without cooling during heat waves, getting out under the sprinkler during the day for a bit of relief.

At least we're copping this when the days are growing shorter. Last night I played tennis for about three hours and the temperature wasn't too bad at all.

I'm not keen on the hot weather and I certainly have sympathy for those affected by it. It's especially worrying for the elderly and frail who may not have air conditioning or are reluctant to use it for fear of it's impact on their power bill.

I think that's the saddest thing about our way of living these days. When the elderly don't use electricity to cool down for fear of not being able to afford the bill.

Something MUST be done about that for our aged people I reckon. Criminal it has got to that.

I ring my mum a couple of times a day to make sure she is drinking plenty of water and just to check on her general health. She refuses to have airconditioning and is happy with just fans on and wet towels to keep her cool. Mind you, her place isnt that hot inside as she has some lovely shady trees out the front.

Looking forward to next Wednesday when they say the temp will drop to 33*.

Yeah, me too Shaz. I worry about them so much during extensive periods of heat. They avoid using the air/con for fear of power consumption, even though we offer to pay their bills. :(

the weather is crazy over the last 2 days Mannum was a good 5-7 degrees cooler than adelaide which is strange as we are usually a couple of degrees hotter. not that i'm compmainging as 32 is much nicer than 39, but looking at my outside thermometer it is a nice 42 degrees :mad:. we also got a couple of mm's of rain last night. so much for la nina kicking in still seems like el nino is here. i'll try and post some pics of how much the murray and it's lagoons have dropped over the years, i don't think alot of eastern staters realise the terrible state the murray is in. just having our second ferry shut down has caused huge problems, can't understand why the government won't pay to extend the ramp so it can be operational again. just the other day an ambulance had to wait for a ferry, to me thats just not good enough

I think that's the saddest thing about our way of living these days. When the elderly don't use electricity to cool down for fear of not being able to afford the bill.

During the 1993 Jan/Feb heatwave it was the same story. Either Channel 10 or Channel 9 ran little ads with Keith Martyn giving hints'n'tips on how to stay cool - while the health services implored the elderly to worry about the electricity bills later.

Phenomenal stuff, I'm originally from Adelaide but now in Darwin, a bit a pissed I can't experience this because I love heat, more for the records only however.

Adelaide today has had the 11th consecutive day over 35C and the 9th consecutive day in a row over 100F. The 11 days equals the all time record for days over 35C in Adelaide and this is a summer record so to equal this in March is incredible. What is more incredible is there is a very good chance it will end up as 16 days in a row over 35C and 14 days in a row over 100F. That is one to tell the grankids about. It has also beaten Perth's 1988 heatwave as the longest capital city heatwave in history.....and come the end of it all will smash it.

Hope the fires are controlled over there, heard a new one near Willunga near Kuipto or something.

And also El Nino has nothing to do with this as we are currently in La Nina. However often La Nina results in hotter and drier summers than El Nino but only focused in SA/VIC. The east coast this summer has been saturated and quite cool.

my baby sister is in hospital.
the doctors say it's because of the heat but the airconditioner is always on. we told them that, but they still say its the heat.
:confused::confused:

my baby sister is in hospital.
the doctors say it's because of the heat but the airconditioner is always on. we told them that, but they still say its the heat.
:confused::confused:

Dehydration.

When I almost carked it due to the heat in 1993 it was because I spent a lunchtime at school in the sun and didn't drink anything. After lunch I sat in airconditioned bliss for 2 hours but the damage had been done.

Kids in summer are like puppies in hot cars. Doesn't take much for things to go wrong.

the first couple of days i was ok with it but now im over it. for the first time ever i cant wait for winter and i dont like winter really at all.

Im central Victoria, and we always get Adelaides weather about a day or two after you get it. We've had over a week of 32-36* days too... Let me know how it goes, so I can carefully plan when I can leave the house.

Half the ****ing Uni Lecture theatres and tutorial rooms have no air conditioning.... Terrible. Utterly terrible.

Its supposed to be 37 on friday (my birthday) and then 38 on Saturday, where I will be spending the day in the kitchen at work (Work at a restaurant) where it is always 5-10 degrees hotter due to the ovens etc... It will be shit.

Dehydration.

When I almost carked it due to the heat in 1993 it was because I spent a lunchtime at school in the sun and didn't drink anything. After lunch I sat in airconditioned bliss for 2 hours but the damage had been done.

Kids in summer are like puppies in hot cars. Doesn't take much for things to go wrong.

probably true,
since Lucia always has a bottle full of water in her hands but never drinks it.

and also on the topic of the heat wave, today i had P.E and we had a special teacher from a dance skool to teach us a hip hop routine for that song 'Low". Anyway, we were on the concrete dancing and when it says "Low, Low, Low, Low, Low, Low, Low, Low we had to bend over backwards with out falling over and The PE teacher said that if we couldnt do it we had to 60 push ups. SOme of the kids spent the whole double lesson doing push ups in the hot sun. Not to mention, the concrete was burning hot and every time our hands touched it they burned. :mad: