Here comes the sun:CFC.com.au article

• Thread starter Thread starter Silvagnis

If this article doesn't make you excited about our future after this Saturday then nothing will. :thumbsu: :)

Link - Here comes the sun.

These are probably my favourite parts.
Someone else who seemed to be moving nicely was Saddo. It would be nice to worry about where to fit him Harts and Bower in that backline with T-Bird and Setanta. Maybe Lance back forward again (and then I immediately wondered about where Waite will play?) and suddenly things do not look too bad. Not expecting miracles or a charge into the top of the ladder, but a progression – a progression through the acquisition of depth.
Young Jacko is a point. The fact that this kid is still on the rookie list means we are getting better. Has a touch of class about him I reckon and could develop into a front liner yet he is in the back of the pack of midfielders we are developing at Carlton (maybe add Gibbs and 1 or 2 others and it becomes a serious midfield).
I can see the wave coming. This is a young list the core of which will be together for a very long time, a list with the likes of Tex and Marc and JK as future champions. A list we will add to this weekend so that it is even better by this time next week!

So get aboard you Bluebagger sons and daughters. I know it’s been a hard road but the list is getting bigger, better, the fat is being cut and the stars are closer to shining so bright the whole football world will finally be forced to sit up and take notice.
And TheGhost is right when he wrote that the only thing we really lack are a couple of young rucks to complete the list that we're putting together.

Exciting times ahead. :)

/parrot

This article sums up the reasons for us to be optimistic about our future, and you can't help but get excited....that's why it sh*ts me so much when people are negative about the club for no apparent reason!

Get on board, cos there won't be many seats left on our bandwagon in a couple of years...and who likes standing anyway!

F**kin GREAT ARTICLE!!!!!! Major Goose-bumps
JK - MM - Tex, + the draft...... maaaaaaaaaaaan
Sunday arvo Rnd 1 - cant wait!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

This article sums up the reasons for us to be optimistic about our future, and you can't help but get excited....that's why it sh*ts me so much when people are negative about the club for no apparent reason!

Get on board, cos there won't be many seats left on our bandwagon in a couple of years...and who likes standing anyway!

let them be negative all they like the loyal ones can see the improvement of the young blokes all the time, baby steps is what it takes you just have to remember that this years draft and what we have already is not going to click over night they have to develop and mature in there bodies and footy smarts and learn to play together.....be patient and tell all the negative people to go get ?????/ we are coming its just going to take time
and then when it happens probally 2008/9 we will let them all know we are BACK IN TOWN BIG TIME

let them be negative all they like the loyal ones can see the improvement of the young blokes all the time, baby steps is what it takes you just have to remember that this years draft and what we have already is not going to click over night they have to develop and mature in there bodies and footy smarts and learn to play together.....be patient and tell all the negative people to go get ?????/ we are coming its just going to take time
and then when it happens probally 2008/9 we will let them all know we are BACK IN TOWN BIG TIME

Don't worry...I've got a list!!

NOT WORRIED AT ALL BECAUSE I HAVE A LIST TOO AND I DO GET MAD SOMETIMES BUT I DO GET EVEN EVERYTIME AND SOME BLOKES ARE REALLY GUNNA COP IT ,I JUST HAVE TO BE PATIENT AND I WILL
THEY SAY GOOD COMES TO THOSE THAT WAIT AND WAIT I WILL

Correct.
IIRC, played alot of his games in the Bullants reserves. Hardly someone we could pin our hopes on!
Diehard Carlton supporters who watch the VFL's reserves and seniors say he couldn't even get a regular game in the ruck in Preston's ressies and was played as a forward.

I think even Aisake was first ruck ahead of him in the twos. :cool:

Diehard Carlton supporters who watch the VFL's reserves and seniors say he couldn't even get a regular game in the ruck in Preston's ressies and was played as a forward.

I think even Aisake was first ruck ahead of him in the twos. :cool:

Well, there you go. Little wonder he was not retained after the 2 years he spent on the rookie list.

So from that article we can summarise...

- You know things are really bad when even the most optimistic fans are making jokes like "this group of players hasn't lost a game yet" and "the new coaching panel hasn't lost a game yet". Carlton just don't do that. Surely we have slightly higher expectations for our club?

- 4 years after retiring at the age of 162, Craig Bradley is still our best midfielder. He'll be backed up handsomely according to the article by Ratten and Crossisca.

- Contrary to popular opinion, our midfielders ARE able to hit a target on the forward line - providing that they have 2 options being guarded by the same retired 45 year-old with a bung knee.

- Cain Ackland apparently 'fits in nicely'; not exactly a great complement when you consider he's the new addition to the worst team in the competition. I was kind of hoping for phrases like "dominated", or "lifted the standard of the group with his work ethic and superior skills". Oh well, perhaps in 2007 we can make it third time lucky when we take an undersized, under-talented ruckman with the first pick in the PSD.

- Saddington has apparently improved to the point he might almost challenge two guys with a combined 2 games senior experience for a KP role in defence. Wow - forwards across the league must be quaking in their boots to read that...

- Good point regarding our midfield - "add Gibbs and one or two others and it becomes a serious midfield". So all we need is to add, say, 3 AFL standard midfielders, and we'll no longer be a joke? Wow, I'm really feeling optimistic now...

- Quote of the article: "I love that word - potentially". Personally, I prefer words like 'definitely', or 'premiership contender', or 'all-australian' when referring to players on my teams list. Oh well, each to their own though.

Of course, blind optimism was kind of cute 4 years ago. Now its just papering over the cracks. Fact is, nothing significant has changed from last year, and no doubt we'll be reading the same puff piece with a few names switched around in 12 months time...

Well stated.

Bit shhhhhhhhh the kids will write your name down on a bit of paper and call you names :rolleyes:

The list will be better than last years, if not for the fact we got rid of so many ordinary players.

As to who steps up it's anyone guess at this stage.

Optimism is good, losing touch with reality not so good.

Hold on to your britches.

We are still a good 3-4 years away from pushing for finals football.

Some promising signs, if the young players we have now improve, as always there's that word "if".

You're a positive fella btdg. Do people that talk to you inexplicably jump out of windows etc?

Meh, I'm a realist. Carlton aren't going to be very good next year, regardless of whether people are blindly optimistic or whatever in November. If everything goes right next year we may win 8-10 games, if it all goes pear-shaped we win 1-2. As AndSmithMustScore said, we're 3-4 years away from being competitive.

I can be realistic about it because I know I'm passionate about the club, I'll follow them through thick or thin, and I'll still be around when we do start competing again. But just cos I bleed navy blue doesn't mean I'm going to start believing that Saddington being fit gives us AFL standard depth on the backline, or that midfielders hitting open targets during a half-assed November training run is a reason for me to start clearing out my calender for September. Sure, its great to love your club and hope for the best, but lets keep things well and truly within the bounds of reality here.

So from that article we can summarise...

- You know things are really bad when even the most optimistic fans are making jokes like "this group of players hasn't lost a game yet" and "the new coaching panel hasn't lost a game yet". Carlton just don't do that. Surely we have slightly higher expectations for our club?

- 4 years after retiring at the age of 162, Craig Bradley is still our best midfielder. He'll be backed up handsomely according to the article by Ratten and Crossisca.

- Contrary to popular opinion, our midfielders ARE able to hit a target on the forward line - providing that they have 2 options being guarded by the same retired 45 year-old with a bung knee.

- Cain Ackland apparently 'fits in nicely'; not exactly a great complement when you consider he's the new addition to the worst team in the competition. I was kind of hoping for phrases like "dominated", or "lifted the standard of the group with his work ethic and superior skills". Oh well, perhaps in 2007 we can make it third time lucky when we take an undersized, under-talented ruckman with the first pick in the PSD.

- Saddington has apparently improved to the point he might almost challenge two guys with a combined 2 games senior experience for a KP role in defence. Wow - forwards across the league must be quaking in their boots to read that...

- Good point regarding our midfield - "add Gibbs and one or two others and it becomes a serious midfield". So all we need is to add, say, 3 AFL standard midfielders, and we'll no longer be a joke? Wow, I'm really feeling optimistic now...

- Quote of the article: "I love that word - potentially". Personally, I prefer words like 'definitely', or 'premiership contender', or 'all-australian' when referring to players on my teams list. Oh well, each to their own though.

Do you walk around with a permanent grey cloud hovering above you? I reckon you could find a negative even after winning a premiership.

Over & over again, I have sought an answer from you & the other members of the negative minority as to why our playing list is like it is & why potential & hope is all we have at the moment. Let me ask the question again & some others to go with it. Where are the dozen or so 25-29 year old players on our list who have played 100-200 games at the club? Why are there only 6 players on our list that were recruited prior to 2002 (one of which is Simon Wiggins)? Why has Aaron Hamill played more games at St Kilda than he did at Carlton? Why has Kris Massie played more games for Adelaide than he has for Carlton? Why are Brendan Goddard, Daniel Wells, Brock McLean not wearing the Navy Blue & White? Why did we recruit Mick Mansfield, Stephen O'Reilly, Corey McKernan, Laurie Angwin, Andrew Eccles, David Gallagher among others? What happened to Adam Chatfield, Murray Vance, Luke Livingstone, Trent Sporn, Blake Campbell & Justin Davies (all these players were first or second round picks between 1997 & 2001)

On the other hand how good has been the development of Fevola, Simpson, Thornton, Fisher, Houlihan, O'Hailpin, even add Scotland to that list, under Pagan's coaching (not a first or second round draft pick among that lot)? Why was Fevola almost put on the scrap heap by Wayne Brittain?

If only we had drafted Simon Black instead of Adam Chatfield in 1997. If only we had drafted Josh Carr, Jude Bolton or Lenny Hayes instead of Murray Vance in 1998. If only we had not traded first & second round picks for Mansfield & O'Reilly in 1999 we might have been able to add Brad Green, Adam Hunter or Paul Chapman (he was drafted by Geelong with one of the picks we traded) to our list. If only we had drafted Jordan McMahon & Shaun Burgoyne instead of Luke Livingstone & Trent Sporn in 2000. To paraphrase The Bible, " the sins of the previous administration shall be visited on the current administration.

Why was Fevola almost put on the scrap heap by Wayne Brittain?
I agree with the first sentence, but why do you back Pagan after he tried to trade your favourite player in Whitnall and Fevola?

Why did he try to offload the AA full forward only 12 months ago if he's such a brilliant coach and list manager? :confused:

I agree with the first sentence, but why do you back Pagan after he tried to trade your favourite player in Whitnall and Fevola?

Why did he try to offload the AA full forward only 12 months ago if he's such a brilliant coach and list manager? :confused:

Pagan didn't want to offload Fevola. Fevola decided he wanted to go to Richmond & play with his best mate. Pagan sat down with Fevola & convinced him to stay. As for Lance he put the feelers out more than the club tried to trade him. Both club & player agreed his best interests would be served by staying at the club & 12 months later he has a B & F to his name & is almost a certainty to be captain.

Let's not forget that Pagan & the football department dug their heels in about Thornton & Russell & we all know the outcome of that. No quality players with plenty to offer the club will be traded in the rest of the time Pagan is coach. In fact Campo is still the only 'quality' player to be lost from the club during Pagan's period as coach.

Do you walk around with a permanent grey cloud hovering above you? I reckon you could find a negative even after winning a premiership.

Over & over again, I have sought an answer from you & the other members of the negative minority as to why our playing list is like it is & why potential & hope is all we have at the moment.

A Champion team will always find fault in it's game and try to improve that, it's why they are champions.

Some people on here overate some players imensely.

The people you label as pessimits often view these players through they eyes of people "with" football knowledge not just football bias.

It's one thing to support your side , it's another to blindly pump players up without any real eveidence to back these lofty expectations.

Pagan didn't want to offload Fevola. Fevola decided he wanted to go to Richmond & play with his best mate. Pagan sat down with Fevola & convinced him to stay. As for Lance he put the feelers out more than the club tried to trade him. Both club & player agreed his best interests would be served by staying at the club & 12 months later he has a B & F to his name & is almost a certainty to be captain.

Let's not forget that Pagan & the football department dug their heels in about Thornton & Russell & we all know the outcome of that. No quality players with plenty to offer the club will be traded in the rest of the time Pagan is coach. In fact Campo is still the only 'quality' player to be lost from the club during Pagan's period as coach.
Carlton did try to trade Fevola and they tried to trade Lance, so how can you possibly come to the conclusion Pagan wasn't involved in the decisions to offer them around?

Did the football department and board try to trade senior players without his approval?

And I wouldn't attribute Thornton's and Russell's decisions to stay as a tick for Pagan given they stated they wanted to leave Carlton.

You're pretty naive and you shouldn't believe everything you read.