Heritage Bank Stadium (Carrara)

Went up in June last year for the Suns Saints game...and thought the whole experience was wonderful. had no issue with the transport at all

Stayed in Broadbeach...walked to Vic Park for the shuttle bus..easy trip out there nice and early. Love the Fifth Quarter bar with the cool covers band and outside seating . Drinks/food horrendously expensive but thats the AFL

Love the layout of the ground. Easy to see. Post game there were a plethora of buses waiting, queues properly monitored, destinations properly signed. Got back to Broadbeach and off we went to dinner (twas a Twilight game but still had time to make a Surf Club before they stopped serving meals)

Would have headed back up there this year but its Easter and the game clashes with Bruce Springsteen at Hanging Rock :)

Recommended

TRAIN
Metricon Stadium is not near a train station so patrons will need to get to Nerang station and take the free shuttle bus to the stadium. Currently the Gold Coast has 7 train stations: Beenleigh, Ormeau, Coomera, Helensvale, Nerang, Robina and Varsity Lakes. To the best of my knowledge I do not believe train rides are free with a game ticket.

Train travel IS free with a match day ticket from a few hours before the game to several hours after the game. Same applies to Lions games. You DO however have to pre-purchase a ticket to take advantage of this. From my experience there are limited (read 1 or 2) extra train services to Nerang to cater, but none to my knowledge that run back to Brisbane.

I went to Metricon last year and I found the bus transport to the game rather pleasant. It was only roughly a ten minute drive from our car-park, the staff were friendly, and we got to have a good chat with some GC residents about the stadium, transport, etc. on the way there. Getting a bus after the game is a different story. The bus stations were crammed, and it was awfully confusing trying to figure out what bus to hop on.

In regards to the stadium itself, it's brilliant. Amazing viewing wherever you go, helpful staff, (unlike staff at other stadiums), and a surprisingly good atmosphere.

Can anyone suggest the best place/area to stay in GC when doing weekenders to games?

I am a Perth based fan and plan on going up a few times this year for home games.

Just recently had a look on the stadium website and can't seem to find the parking options near the stadium available anymore. The Gold Coast Suns website also posted not long ago that patrons will be fined if they park near the stadium so I am going to presume that option has been taken away and I will remove it from the overview I made. I will however make directions and a description of how to use the light rail (tram) when it is installed here and opens in June 2014. I will also answer a few questions that have been asked on here (sorry about the late replies).

Well it took longer than I expected but I have now added the light rail (tram) information to my post on the first page so when it is opened in June 2014 people will already have the information. I added all stops from Main Beach to Broadbeach South, excluding Broadbeach North because there is no point in catching the tram to get further away from the shuttle bus at Victoria Avenue.

Can anyone suggest the best place/area to stay in GC when doing weekenders to games?

I am a Perth based fan and plan on going up a few times this year for home games.

As was suggested above, Royal Pines Resort is located quite close to Metricon Stadium and would appear to be ideal. However, getting around Royal Pines isn't as simple as it would seem and walking to Metricon Stadium would probably take longer than if you were to take a shuttle bus from anywhere else. On top of that there really isn't anything near Royal Pines other than Metricon Stadium and is quite a distance from the beach. As a tourist you want the full Gold Coast experience and that means Surfers Paradise, Broadbeach and to a lesser extent Main Beach.

If the tram line already existed I would say it wouldn't matter where you stayed (given you are in Surfers Paradise, Broadbeach or Main Beach) because it would be easy to get to the shuttle bus area in Broadbeach but that is not the case yet. Staying in Broadbeach and near Victoria Avenue is your best bet to avoid any confusion. Jupiters Casino and Hotel would be the best hotel to stay in I would say, you literally just need to head east and cross two roads (the first being the Gold Coast Highway) and you will be at the shuttle bus area on Victoria Avenue.

If for any reason you can't stay at Jupiters it isn't a big deal, there are lots of hotels in that area so just pick one that you are happy with and one in which the walking distance to and from Victoria Avenue is suitable for you.

IMPORTANT UPDATE: Shuttle buses no longer run from Nerang station and instead run from Helensvale station. Parking is allowed at Helensvale station but is limited like Nerang station. Also, the parking area at Boowaggan road was almost 100% filled around 40 mins before the start of the Saints game on Saturday. So planning to get to the game is starting to become essential. I hope no one missed out on going to the game when Boowaggan car park filled up but I have a feeling there were people that went home.

As for after the game, I am unsure as to whether the shuttle runs to Nerang or Helensvale station but I know for sure it is one of them.

Atmosphere sounded great there on the weekend! Imagine when its full!
Only time Metricon has filled up was against Collingwood in 2011. Probably over half the crowd were Magpies supporters so it was a bit rough when Gary Ablett got booed in his own stadium. The crowd is starting to become knowledgeable and realising that making noises can effect the outcome. Could you hear the Saints players getting booed when they lined up for a set shot on TV?

The last quarter was definitely the loudest. The crowd went wild when Gary kicked those two important goals.

Only time Metricon has filled up was against Collingwood in 2011. Probably over half the crowd were Magpies supporters so it was a bit rough when Gary Ablett got booed in his own stadium. The crowd is starting to become knowledgeable and realising that making noises can effect the outcome. Could you hear the Saints players getting booed when they lined up for a set shot on TV?

The last quarter was definitely the loudest. The crowd went wild when Gary kicked those two important goals.
I remember when they first came into the comp and started playing at Metricon the crowd didnt quite know what to shout and when. Whereas now you hear shouts of 'BALL!' and the atmosphere is beginning to help the Suns.

Absolutely fantastic stadium to WATCH the footy at. You get so close to the action it is amazing. Having grown up in Melbourne and been to Waverley Park and MCG a million times, to be so close is refreshing. However, there are a myriad of problems with ACCESS to and from the ground. Seriously it is a joke and unless the AFL fix it soon people will stop going. Unless you are prepared to park your car at some shopping centre and ride a bus, you can't get there any other way. There are no drop off zones, no parking, no train stations etc. For those not in QLD, our police service up here are a joke. The allocation of their resources is nothing short of disgraceful, yet come game time for the Suns, there are cops everywhere stopping people doing things. I guess that's the country we live in - there is always someone telling you that you can't do something. I mean they station a cop car at night roadworks up here and yet the total number of cops in Surfers on a Saturday night is about five! After the game last night as we attempted to cross a road a cop told us we had to walk about a kilometre the wrong way to get to our lift. He didn't think it was funny when my mate told him perhaps his time could be better served raiding a biker compound once every five years instead of hassling us. My point is I have been in many 90,000+ crowds in Melbourne and everyone gets to and from the ground quite easily in a number of different ways. Suns crowds are about 12,000+ and it is a complete f*** up.
Hi everyone, first time on forum. I have been reading with interest the issues around metricon Stadium, specifically the parking. I will be attending the Suns v Power game in Round 4 and was wondering if anyone could give me some details on where I could park. Read in some older threads that car parking was available at Emmanuel College and the Golf course, but was wondering if this was still available. Staying at broadwater tourist park, how long will it take to get there. Just concerned that getting a bus, then a shuttle bus with 2 and 1/2 year old and 7 month will be difficult. Appreciate any advice.

Check out the Surfside bus lines website closer to the match week. I would have suggested the Southport Sharks shuttle bus, but I think that's for members only.
I totally forgot about the Sharks shuttle. It has now been added to the post.

Hi everyone, first time on forum. I have been reading with interest the issues around metricon Stadium, specifically the parking. I will be attending the Suns v Power game in Round 4 and was wondering if anyone could give me some details on where I could park. Read in some older threads that car parking was available at Emmanuel College and the Golf course, but was wondering if this was still available. Staying at broadwater tourist park, how long will it take to get there. Just concerned that getting a bus, then a shuttle bus with 2 and 1/2 year old and 7 month will be difficult. Appreciate any advice.
After going to the game on Saturday night I discovered that parking around the stadium is still available. You will see them on the left hand side of Nerang-Broadbeach Road if you are heading north (Metricon will be on your right). You will need to go a bit of distance north of Metricon before they appear. Some of them are a decent walk from the stadium (15 mins max). It will cost you between $10-20 to park in one of them so I would think it is probably your best option given the young ones. From Broadwater tourist park it'll take you around 12 mins to get there in good traffic (Traffic isn't an issue on game day). And of course, go the Power!

As for directions, get on the Gold Coast Highway from the Broadwater Tourist Park heading south and turn right on to North Street. This road will eventually become the Smith Street Motorway and you then take the exit on to Olsen Avenue. Follow that road down until you reach the T intersection that intersects with Nerang-Broadbaech Road (You will be able to see Metricon Stadium on your right at these lights) and turn right. You are now on Nerang-Broadbeach Road heading North and will soon see the golf driving ranges that you can park in. Don't be confused though, Emerald Lakes Golf Course is situated just before Metricon and, to the best of my knowledge, will not let you park there.

Thanks for the info Matchu, appreciate it. Has made me feel a little more comfortable that there definitely are parking options. Really looking forward to experiencing the atmosphere and stadium itself. How early should I get to Nerang-Broadbeach rd to ensure I get a park? Cheers

IMPORTANT UPDATE: Shuttle buses no longer run from Nerang station and instead run from Helensvale station. Parking is allowed at Helensvale station but is limited like Nerang station. Also, the parking area at Boowaggan road was almost 100% filled around 40 mins before the start of the Saints game on Saturday. So planning to get to the game is starting to become essential. I hope no one missed out on going to the game when Boowaggan car park filled up but I have a feeling there were people that went home.

As for after the game, I am unsure as to whether the shuttle runs to Nerang or Helensvale station but I know for sure it is one of them.

Interesting, and I sincerely hope that with the shuttle busses that's not true.. As a southern gc'er that would add quite a bit of time onto the trip. Where did you find this info?

Thanks for all the info Matchu. Going to the Suns-Lions game in a couple of weeks with some mates, staying in Surfers. Odd that you can't catch a free shuttle in Surfers but can get taken back there post-match.

Went to the Essendon game last year with the same guys. Got a taxi to and from the ground. Can't recall the exact costs but between four of us it was reasonable. Getting a taxi from Surfers wasn't hard but the post-game line-up for them was abysmal! Waited well over an hour I reckon. Never again.

Thanks for the info Matchu, appreciate it. Has made me feel a little more comfortable that there definitely are parking options. Really looking forward to experiencing the atmosphere and stadium itself. How early should I get to Nerang-Broadbeach rd to ensure I get a park? Cheers
It'll be nothing like Adelaide but I'm sure you'll come out thinking people here are more nice. Well I drove by the car parking areas around 20 mins before the start of the game and they were still letting people in so I would guess that would be a good time to get there given it'll take you around 15 mins to walk to the stadium. Another tip would be to buy your tickets online because in a NAB Cup game around a month ago a line of 2,000 people tried to buy tickets at the booth and a lot of them missed the first quarter.

whats happening with the stadium for the commonwealth games?
The field will be ripped up and replaced with a running track as well as a 15k seat stand added where the big screen is. Essentially the Suns will almost definitely have to play the first third of their home games at the Gabba or the AFL might schedule it in a way where they only lose one or two home games. Either way, the stadium will not be available for the start of the 2018 AFL season.

Interesting, and I sincerely hope that with the shuttle busses that's not true.. As a southern gc'er that would add quite a bit of time onto the trip. Where did you find this info?
A friend of mine attempted to park at Nerang station and was told the information and headed to Helensvale. I think it may have something to do with the light rail line being extended to Helensvale station in the future.

Thanks for all the info Matchu. Going to the Suns-Lions game in a couple of weeks with some mates, staying in Surfers. Odd that you can't catch a free shuttle in Surfers but can get taken back there post-match.

Went to the Essendon game last year with the same guys. Got a taxi to and from the ground. Can't recall the exact costs but between four of us it was reasonable. Getting a taxi from Surfers wasn't hard but the post-game line-up for them was abysmal! Waited well over an hour I reckon. Never again.
It is a bit odd at the moment with how it works but it'll become a lot less confusing once the light rail (tram) exists next year and the trip from Surfers to Broadbeach becomes a lot easier. I can imagine what it was like trying to get a taxi on a Saturday night and that's why there will be more options in the future. It is what it is right now and things won't change for at least another year.