Hodge is the most overrated player in the AFL

Ellis had a great game against the Saints, i see him in the midfield, but hodge is clearly the best in the team. His 'bad games' are as good as most midfielders in the comp.

Grant Thomas is a former St Kilda coach and a leading authority on all things AFL.
Return regularly for his hard-hitting, straight-talking insight into Australia's game. Cool hand Luke 15/07/2008 9:20:00 AM, mat.mackay Prev Next
Everyone has their favourite player. This is the guy you love to go and watch. He is usually a man’s man, brave and tough, a leader, intuitive, game breaker, match winner – you know the type I mean.

There is a guy going around at the moment for the Hawks who has all of the aforementioned qualities along with sublime skills and uncanny awareness.

Of course I am referring to Luke Hodge.

The foot pass to Williams broke Sydney's back – it wasn’t Williams' ensuing goal.

His 'cut' through traffic to score the sealer was also defining.

I really love him in the clinches, in traffic, he makes decisions and executes before mere mortals have thought about what they are intending to do.

It is rare to have a player that has the skills combined with the courage and aggression.

He has exemplary leadership skills, manages his troops with guidance and direction, support and care and tops it off by showing them how it's done.

He personifies most of the qualities that people love to pay to see.

There is no doubt clubs don't like to individualise however you can build a club around Hodge.

His determination is transparent to everyone which inspires his team mates to greater heights of effort and work ethic.

But it's now that his maturity and focus must hone into the really important things – premierships.

Top post HP but i'm sure it will be lost on the eel_storm or molestor as his anagram would show.

Is it just cos he was a No.1 pick? I hear a lot of talk about how he might miss the Geelong game and that Hawks have no chance without him . . . but he's far from their best or most important player. Sewell, Mitchell, Ladson, Young, Ellis, all are better than Hodge. Or is it just me?

He is overrated but he is still a gun

Hodge is just another overrated Hawk hack.Just look at how he crumbled in last years final against North,a team that got smashed in their two other finals.

and yet managed to get the 3 brownlow votes in 2 of the last 3 games against your supposed star-studded side.

Hodge owns Geelong thats why your praying he doesnt play.

Re: maybe hodge should have stayed with his wife

Williams_Noose_246.jpg

Hodges kicking skills go missing on the big stage again

Those right foot hook foots of his need to be put away... once again on the big stage Hodge with a mere 21 stats and multiple turnovers lets the Hawks down.

Flash back to last years finals series

Re: maybe hodge should have stayed with his wife

for someone who is supposedly a great kick, his kicking was shocking tonight, did he even hit a target?

to all those silly hawthorn supporters who compare him to judd, i've got one thing to say to you: you can't compare hodge to judd until the day he finally plays good against quality opposition in a big game. and i'm just waiting for the excuses now "oh but he didn't have a good preparation for the game..."

Re: Hodges kicking skills go missing on the big stage again

Those right foot hook foots of his need to be put away... once again on the big stage Hodge with a mere 21 stats and multiple turnovers lets the Hawks down.

True, but I'm sure even Hodge would have kicked some of those sitters that Lance Hacklin missed

I'm sure his yet-to-be born bub could kick better than what he was in the last quarter. :D

Yeah some valids points with the Hodge v Judd debate....

The big difference being Hodge will play finals this year. No point being a superstar in a sub-standard team.

And yes, this is 2008, no point talking about the past.

Yeah some valids points with the Hodge v Judd debate....

The big difference being Hodge will play finals this year. No point being a superstar in a sub-standard team.

And yes, this is 2008, no point talking about the past.

FYI. Judd vs Cats had Ling up his jumper and 31 touches.

Re finals this YEAR LOL
I guess that makes Gambel better than Hodge as Gambel will play in a flag and Hodge will not this year

So sad that this isn't allowed on the main board because it's not really trolling, it's just facts!

Ps. Ball doesn't choke like Hodge :)

FYI. Judd vs Cats had Ling up his jumper and 31 touches.

Re finals this YEAR LOL
I guess that makes Gambel better than Hodge as Gambel will play in a flag and Hodge will not this year

Mate, if you are going to compare players atleast spell his name right.

And FYI any team in the top 8 has a chance of winning the flag... That was the point about finals, but keep deluding yourself that your team is "on the verge of something great". You can laugh out loud at that.

Obviously you are either under 15 or intellectually challenged so I will stand aside why you have your fun. Enjoy putz.

And FYI any team in the top 8 has a chance of winning the flag... That was the point about finals, but keep deluding yourself that your team is "on the verge of something great". You can laugh out loud at that.

Obviously you are either under 15 or intellectually challenged so I will stand aside why you have your fun. Enjoy putz.
crybaby.jpg

You're not too bright are you. I would say your IQ is equal to that of Hodge's clanger count, but that would make you too smart!

Ouch, tip of that hat sir. You just smashed my confidence in my posting ability, that clanger count quip was pure genius. I guess my statement about Blues fans being delusional about the strength of their side was unfounded and in fact quite unintelligent.

I mean Carlton have proven to the footy world they are going to be a great side, with three number 1 picks, Fevola and Judd how can you go wrong...pencil them in for a top four spot next year. I retract my earlier statement.

Carlton will be as good as Geelong. Lap it up why you can Cat fans a new nemesis awaits in Carlton.

Hodge is the most overrated player in the AFL