NO TROLLS Homophobia in the AFL - 4 Corners

Anyone my age will remember that the scariest thing on tv was the grim reaper bowling alley ads that were screening for quite a while. That was a pretty big indicator of the level of fear around Australia
Killed the gay scene stone dead for a while. I remember when I first went to San Francisco about thirty years ago I was like a pilgrim heading to Mecca only to find it shut.

It’s pointing out that you’re being deliberately dismissive and ignorant of everywhere that’s not Australia being backwards about AIDS out of some bizarre decision to hammer Australia as being the worst in its response and acknowledgement about AIDS.
I have no comment on Australia's response to the AIDS epidemic.

All I said was that a few notable Australians made some ignorant comments, and that made me think that Australia is a little bit backwards. That's all.

Philadelphia won Hanks first best actor Oscar (as well as best song) so it was a pretty important culutural touchpoint about Americas response to the AIDS epidemic that doesn’t fit your narrative of Australia being the most backwards.
Mate, I couldn't give a f about the Oscars- I think they're a joke. I also don't like Tom Hanks (we've spoken about this before). For the record, I don't like Bruce Springsteen either. I really don't like Mainstream films in general.

Was it an important film? Sure. Happy to acknowledge it.

The whole world was but you don’t want to acknowledge that and I’m using a number of widely known cultural moments that you’re hand waving away.
I'm not British. I'm not Australian. I don't care about the Harry or Megan or any of them.
Did Diana do good things, was it an important moment- I wasn't aware of it, but sure, I'll take your word for it?

Like if you wanna point to Australia being backwards use some actual examples...
My man, I literally gave these examples in this thread in another response here.

I like your posts but I think we're coming at this one from two different angles, let's leave it there.

I have no comment on Australia's response to the AIDS epidemic.

All I said was that a few notable Australians made some ignorant comments, and that made me think that Australia is a little bit backwards. That's all.

Mate, I couldn't give a f about the Oscars- I think they're a joke. I also don't like Tom Hanks (we've spoken about this before). For the record, I don't like Bruce Springsteen either. I really don't like Mainstream films in general.

Was it an important film? Sure. Happy to acknowledge it.

I'm not British. I'm not Australian. I don't care about the Harry or Megan or any of them.
Did Diana do good things, was it an important moment- I wasn't aware of it, but sure, I'll take your word for it?

My man, I literally gave these examples in this thread in another response here.

I like your posts but I think we're coming at this one from two different angles, let's leave it there.
If your point wasn’t that Australian was worse than everywhere else then I apologise. Fwiw “in our blood” on ABC is a really good show that details australias response if you’re interested.

Leaving aside the rest of the article, I thought at the time this comment from Aker was spot on.

Ten years later, we still don’t have an openly gay footballer. Sadly, this kind of proves his point.

It’s his opinion a gay footballer would have struggled in the AFL environment. I’d like to think that’s not the case anymore, but having been at two afl clubs he’d know better than I would what it would have been like.

Edit: I haven’t seen the show so have no idea what else Aker said, sounds like a load of crap tho.

That sentence is fine, it's the other crap coming out of his mouth that's the problem...

I’m not sure why there needs to be a first gay afl player.

AFLPA could suggest to all players that if anyone wanted to acknowledge being gay as a group at the same time then they could facilitate it.
No first player - a group in a safer environment.

Also, don’t make it a thing as a big press conference, just say the message, and then move on.
It shouldn’t be a thing.

A few clubs in the league refused to endorse a yes vote for same sex marriage after all.

Some clubs issued statements saying that we at insert name of relevant club here, value and respect all people no matter their background, but we also respect an individuals choice to make their own decisions, so we will not be endorsing a yes vote in the upcoming referendum.

Other clubs just stayed silent on the issue. We've come a long way as a society with regards to this issue, but we still have a long way to go imo.

Homophobia is also more of an issue for males than females as well in my experience. Males are on the receiving end of homophobic violence more often than females imo.
Is homophobic violence still a thing in Australia? You would think it would get more coverage.

Yeah was that the source of the beef with Charles Barkley?
Think that was just a little trash talk actually, Heal hit a few 3 pointers on Barkley and got in his face over it.

It wouldn't surprise me if the reason gay/bi AFL men's players didn't come out wasn't because of homophobia by players and fans (it's 2023 - noone cares what you do in your bedroom) but rather the media beat up around being the first to do it ('omg, you're so brave').
Most of us couldn't care less but if you want to be remembered for your ability to play the game, being the first openly gay player might take that away from you. Maybe we need to wait for the first gay spud/role player to be far enough into their career that they know they're never gonna win a Brownlow or Norm Smith medal.

Got to say, watched it this morning and thought it was pretty balanced. It would be the easy route to just smash the AFL for being outdated and homophobic but it certainly acknowledged the complexity of the issue from a societal level.

Ultimately the AFL themselves acknowledge they are not doing enough but it also seems like no one is entirely sure what to do.

Eddie McGuire came off really well.

Aker is a ******* homophobic moron (and really Aker, you cant be a homophobe cause youre not "scared" of them)
I was actually embarrassed for the idiot when he said that line. Just so clueless.

I have no faith in AFL supporters. While I’d like to think the first person to come out would be universally celebrated, we all know that bogan AFL fans will use it as an opportunity to hurl abuse.
And sadly you are right.

And they won't be hurled abuse from the stands, but also on the internet and social media too

I was actually embarrassed for the idiot when he said that line. Just so clueless.
I seriously think he thought it was a brilliant gotcha moment.

“Well I read the dictionary before we caught up and a phobia is a fear of something, I’m not afraid of the gays, boom, mic drop”.

Genius on the field absolute deadshit off.

Honestly, I'd be surprised if it didn't simply turn out like it did in the last season of Ted Lasso.

Entirely positive.

The biggest issue is that really, at the end of the day, it shouldn't matter. So the 'coming out party' window has probably closed.

Someday a player may openly mention his 'partner' and it's a male, and aside from the initial news story, absolutely nobody will care afterwards.
It will then be treated the same as racism if players or supporters attempt to use verbal slurs against them.
Social media allows absolutely toxic scumbags to have a direct conduit to public figures (if the public figures use social media). Even straight white male players regularly cop being told to lull themselves by keyboard warriors (cops seem to think it’s gambling addicted who’ve lost on multis.

Being gay could be one more reason to bring a few nutters out, and that could be a pretty big disincentive for some.

No one cares if someone is gay in the workplace so it should be the same in the AFL.

its weird isn't it. professional male sports is like the last bastion.
anyone whose worked in a corporate office environment would have worked with people who were openly gay/LGBTQ+ etc and no one cares, people are just people.

as someone mentioned earlier.. it's not really the AFL.. it's places where (i hate to use this term but..) toxic masculinity is the dominant vibe. mine sites, construction sites.. male team sports.

that shit needs to be crushed out. and it's nothing to do with masculinity. you can be a blokey blokey bloke who loves a beer, v8s, whatever. it's just about not being a flog and a bully.

i reckon a player "coming out" would be unanimously supported by the players. it's the w***er/bogan element of society that's holding things up.

I’m not sure why there needs to be a first gay afl player.

AFLPA could suggest to all players that if anyone wanted to acknowledge being gay as a group at the same time then they could facilitate it.
No first player - a group in a safer environment.

Also, don’t make it a thing as a big press conference, just say the message, and then move on.
It shouldn’t be a thing.
Actually, I think this guy should conduct the first interview:
IMG_9565.gif

Actual gay person here lol. Enjoyed the story, but found Louise's follow up piece far more interesting as to how apprehensive the AFL is in fixing their culture from the top down (literally the one thing they're supposed to do). The fact no clubs felt a responsibility to put an enthusiastic player forward for the piece; that players barely engage/support their rainbow supporter groups; that all players and support staff were clearly barred from talking as part of the piece etc is enormously disheartening.

Very much related to the player, Michael, at the start talking about how omnipresent casual homophobia is on TV, in the locker room, on the field and in general conversation and how much damage that can do to your psyche as a player and human. The hyper-vigilance you develop can make you highly strung at the best of times, so it's unsurprising that players try to minimise how that might rear its head on the field too.

I love my Swans and they're one of the more active teams in this area, but even this year's pride round turned into more of a celebration for Buddy's 350th game (not to mention that ultra-cringe pride anthem, whatever that was). And when has any AFL media or podcast really given significant airtime to this topic? Dyl&Friends would rather have some private school kid talk about his new t-shirt brand and TV panellists seem to spend more time apologising for past remarks rather than setting a new example. It's bizarre that this topic is so close to the intersection of toxic masculinity and mental health yet all parties seem to go out of their way to avoid it. Perhaps they're on strict orders from above.

Every corporate figurehead on the episode spoke in consultant language that seemed more about absolving themselves of litigation (or in Eddie's case, looking like the good guy) than making it easier to exist in the league as a gay player at any level of public visibility. And the AFL as an organisation seem to go out of their way not to prove otherwise.

To me it seems like the players largely don't care. The public largely don't care. So it's just the lawyers and sponsors and suits and broadcasters then?

Very disappointing to watch unfold and makes me question my interest in the league.

p.s. I know it's small but that manager saying "I'd love a player to come out, they'd make a tonne of money" is possibly the most normalising quote out of all of this. It's kinda silly but I love it.

p.p.s I think a lot of the critics here need to reframe their thinking that this isn't about having a gay player on the field for the sake of ticking a box. This is about having a human being and community leader demonstrating the ability to live their life day-to-day not only for themselves but for the thousands of kids struggling in similar situations. If you don't think someone deserves that, then please re-evaluate your thinking.

Actual gay person here lol. Enjoyed the story, but found Louise's follow up piece far more interesting as to how apprehensive the AFL is in fixing their culture from the top down (literally the one thing they're supposed to do). The fact no clubs felt a responsibility to put an enthusiastic player forward for the piece; that players barely engage/support their rainbow supporter groups; that all players and support staff were clearly barred from talking as part of the piece etc is enormously disheartening.
Thanks for your post. You raise a really good point here, it seemed Bob Murphy was literally the only person spoken to in the piece that currently works within a football club in the Men's game but was clearly not there representing the club he works for.

So glad Bob Murphy never played for Collingwood. Would be forever hearing his non stop SJW bleeding heart rants...boohooo 😂
I actually forgot about Heritier calling out Milne for using a gay slur on the field at the time.

Say what you will about him, man had convinction in his principles. Good on him.

NO TROLLS Homophobia in the AFL - 4 Corners