NO TROLLS Homophobia in the AFL - 4 Corners

Of course not, but it is a fairly big milestone.

If the report found that clubs and the AFL are doing everything possible (or even just doing a fair amount of stuff) to support and educate then youd probably go "hmm, weird outlier" but they didnt find that.
Those recommendations that the clubs aren't complying with are 23 years old. The survey of players from June is more relevant including that players are "threatened by the potential consequences of speaking out." There's obviously still a lot of work to do about giving players more power.

I can see now that Gil's quote about no one wanting to be the first is not helpful but that's still the truth of the matter. No one should be forced or even encouraged to come out just to tick off a milestone but that seems to be what this article is calling for.

The football codes are masculine type sports. That is why there is a much higher percentage of lesbians in all women’s football codes. For this reason there would be less gay males in the football codes, but definitely not none. But if a male were to come out, his masculinity would be questioned every time he didn’t commit to contest in the ‘masculine’ way. It wouldn’t be very helpful to his career.
Try saying that to Ian Roberts, I dare you.

Those recommendations that the clubs aren't complying with are 23 years old. The survey of players from June is more relevant including that players are "threatened by the potential consequences of speaking out." There's obviously still a lot of work to do about giving players more power.

I can see now that Gil's quote about no one wanting to be the first is not helpful but that's still the truth of the matter. No one should be forced or even encouraged to come out just to tick off a milestone but that seems to be what this article is calling for.
Yeh i dont think so. Im sure SOME are probably just frothing for a player to come out but i think the intent of this investigation is to highlight how little the AFL has actually done.

I find it easy to believe that culture turns almost all of them away.

Statistics from general culture don't have be be equally represented in every subculture and industry.

That would be like assuming that greater sexual identity ratios as equally represent at a Kylie Minogue concert.
That makes logical sense. But you probably underestimate the ability of people to hide things or even live in a kind of personal denial.

"I like to have sex with guys but I'm not gay".

There would be a wide range of different things happening. I dont think it would be "black and white".

But 100% there would have been loads of gay players who made it to the top. Especially if they were good and/or loved the game. Especially nowadays with the financial rewards. Keeping your sexuality secret on the big bucks is still better than working in a factory.

That makes logical sense. But you probably underestimate the ability of people to hide things or even live in a kind of personal denial.

"I like to have sex with guys but I'm not gay".

There would be a wide range of different things happening. I dont think it would be "black and white".

But 100% there would have been loads of gay players who made it to the top. Especially if they were good and/or loved the game. Especially nowadays with the financial rewards. Keeping your sexuality secret on the big bucks is still better than working in a factory.

You can love the game without loving the scene

The second, third, fourth, etc will be forgotten about. The first will have to live with it forever.
The first may have to live with it forever, but as the pioneer he is going to make a shitload of money out of it. He will also be lauded by all and sundry but will have to have a very strong personality to deal with all the attention. It will also mean that 2nd, 3rd, 4th etc will be able to live normal lives and not have the pressure to hide their sexuality that some are probably struggling with now.

The first one to come out would have to deal with questions from the offical broadcaster like "is BT you're type", "whos that hottest player in the league"

Couldn't do that with the fellas. They all wear the same ******* suit.
Nothing stopping them wearing a lovely slit dress showing a nice toned leg.

The football codes are masculine type sports. That is why there is a much higher percentage of lesbians in all women’s football codes. For this reason there would be less gay males in the football codes, but definitely not none. But if a male were to come out, his masculinity would be questioned every time he didn’t commit to contest in the ‘masculine’ way. It wouldn’t be very helpful to his career.

A gay mate told me about a now retired gay player he knew, and he was a hard at the contest type and was usually seen surrounded by attractive women.

A couple of other comments after watching the program.

- Hugely interesting that Louise Milligan could not find one current AFL player to come on camera to talk about the issue.

- Although he massively dropped the ball on the Adam Goodes incident, I have some renewed respect for Eddie McGuire for his advocacy for LGBTQ people within the sport.

- I was fascinated by the visceral hate the Bob Murphy has for Jason Ackermanis.

There is undeniably a homophobic/Bogan bloke culture in the AFL/footy media industry sadly which i think is part of the problem Four Corners is talking about

Exhibit A: (given oxygen in the HeraldScum of course)...

Outspoken AFL player Jason Akermanis has warned gay players the game is not ready for them to come out of the closet.

"If a player wants to out himself, then I say good luck," the Western Bulldogs star wrote in his weekly Herald Sun column.

"But I believe the world of AFL footy is not ready for it. To come out is unnecessary for a lot of reasons.

"Imagine the publicity associated with a current player admitting he's gay. It would be international news and could break the fabric of a club."

Akermanis said an openly gay player could make his team-mates uncomfortable.

"Locker room nudity and homoerotic activities are normal inside footy clubs," he wrote.

There's still a lot of the boomer garbage dickhead types like Sam newman around, even if they're on the fringes now.

There's probably a couple of players out publically to their teammates already, who wouldn't give a stuff at all, but keep it quiet because the public are morons.

Homophobic attitudes exist across all age groups.

NO TROLLS Homophobia in the AFL - 4 Corners