List Mgmt. Honest analysis of our playing list - "is it the cowboy, or the cattle?"

Yeah for sure, but you're doing spreadys and asking earnest questions looking for feedback.

Yes... and?

I love my footy team. They're shit right now. As a supporter, trying to analyse how and why we're shit provides me with a tiny modicum of hope that there's a pathway out of this period of despair.

Is this a bad thing?

Some people reckon Jed was a cooker cos he said he got sick from his vaccine.

That's probably why he was sacked.
You just know his two kids will be jets and we got him to 98 games didn’t we?
I would’ve kept him for his insane attack on the ball. We have missed that since he left I feel. Not many North players, barring a couple, are as uncompromising at the ball as Jed was.

I
You just know his two kids will be jets and we got him to 98 games didn’t we?
I would’ve kept him for his insane attack on the ball. We have missed that since he left I feel. Not many North players, barring a couple, are as uncompromising at the ball as Jed was.
He played 99 games all up but 10 at Hawthorn.

After finishing in no man’s lands land for ages we started to get so many high end picks. It was a new experience for us North fans.

But inexperienced in this situation we were. Foolishly believing every high pick was going to turn out to be a superstar. When history shows there’s always been more failures than success stories.

Just ask every Carlton and Melbourne supporter how many cycles they went through. And here we were so confident our attempt at it would be so different.

Full blown rebuilds just don’t work. Raw talent simply isn’t enough to fill all the intangibles that you lose.

We’ll be back eventually, and I’m thankful we have someone experienced like Clarko who isn’t scared to keep filtering through players until he finds the ones he needs.

The list is an absolute mess. Totally unbalanced. And alarmingly low on talent despite a plethora of high-end draft picks.

When S Hood says "We know we've got the talent" - alarm bells start ringing because anyone with any sort of football nouse, would know that is not the case. It's far from it.

Good players - I left out the likes of McDonald, Darling and Parker, not part of our future

1. larkey
2.Curtis
3.Zurhaar
4.LDU
5.Xerri
6.Comben
7.hardeman
8.Sheezel
9.Wardlaw
10. FOS
11. McKercher

Dunno
1.W Dawson
2.Duursma
3.Goad
4. George
5. Archer
6.Goater
7.Harvey
8. Whitlock

A bit shit ( those that have played a few games)

1.Konstanty
2.Powell
3.Scott
4.Fisher - probably lucky, to be promoted to the a bit shit squad.
5.Simpkin
6.Logue
7. Hansen Jnr

Really shit
Anyone who's left.

Not at all flash, as we don't want more than 2/3 of the "a bit shit" squad in the side at any given time. And ****en no one from the " really shit Squad".

The " Dunno" squad carry a lot of our hopes, and that also isn't flash.

Good players - I left out the likes of McDonald, Darling and Parker, not part of our future

1. larkey
2.Curtis
3.Zurhaar
4.LDU
5.Xerri
6.Comben
7.hardeman
8.Sheezel
9.Wardlaw
10. FOS
11. McKercher

Dunno
1.W Dawson
2.Duursma
3.Goad
4. George
5. Archer
6.Goater
7.Harvey
8. Whitlock

1.Konstanty
2.Powell
3.Scott
4.Fisher - probably lucky, to be promoted to the a bit shit squad.
5.Simpkin
6.Logue
7. Hansen Jnr

Really shit
Anyone who's left.

Not at all flash, as we don't want more than 2/3 of the "a bit shit" squad in the side at any given time. And ****en no one from the " really shit Squad".

Well 11 is an improvement, Wee Man. I think it was 6 by the last count.

It'd read a little better if half the "dunno" list weren't held together by gaffer tape.

Well 11 is an improvement, Wee Man. I think it was 6 by the last count.

It'd read a little better if half the "dunno" list weren't held together by gaffer tape.
I'm comfortable to say we have 11, just the issue is with the rest, and yes the gaffer tape crew, probably need a new squad to cover them off.
I've approach the club and offered to supply training tops with 11xG , 8xD, 7xABS and the rest with RS on the back.
We could have a presentation.

I'm comfortable to say we have 11, just the issue is with the rest, and yes the gaffer tape crew, probably need a new squad to cover them off.
I've approach the club and offered to supply training tops with 11xG , 8xD, 7xABS and the rest with RS on the back.
We could have a presentation.

Have you told old mate? That'd be an interesting conversation...

Dunno

Really shit

If the match committee were to select the best side for this weekend's game against the geelong cats, allowing for omissions due to injury and suspension then they do have to dip into the shit list to avoid a forfeit.

List of available players, with some below the line additions for the selectors to choose from. What I want to know is this: Should I bother to bring my vuvuzela to celebrate marks, free kicks and goals on Saturday night?

Archer
Comben
Curtis
Darling
Dawson K

Dawson W
Duursma
Fisher
FOS
George
Goad
Goater
Hansen Jnr
Hardeman
Harvey
Konstanty
Larkey
LDU
McDonald
Maley
McKercher
Parker
Phillips
Pink

Powell
Scott
Sheezel
Simpkin
Stephens
Teakle

Wardlaw
Whitlock
Xerri
Zurhaar

And I noticed a typo in your post above where you had Fisher listed (with a caveat) when he certainly belongs below the line.

If the match committee were to select the best side for this weekend's game against the geelong cats, allowing for omissions due to injury and suspension then they do have to dip into the shit list to avoid a forfeit.

List of available players, with some below the line additions for the selectors to choose from. What I want to know is this: Should I bother to bring my vuvuzela to celebrate marks, free kicks and goals on Saturday night?

Archer
Comben
Curtis
Darling
Dawson K

Dawson W
Duursma
Fisher
FOS
George
Goad
Goater
Hansen Jnr
Hardeman
Harvey
Konstanty
Larkey
LDU
McDonald
Maley
McKercher
Parker
Phillips
Pink

Powell
Scott
Sheezel
Simpkin
Stephens
Teakle

Wardlaw
Whitlock
Xerri
Zurhaar

And I noticed a typo in your post above where you had Fisher listed (with a caveat) when he certainly belongs below the line.

Pink and Parker don't belong "below the line". TAO is just a hater.

I'm ok with Pink. I suspect they wrote his name on the whiteboard with a Sharpie this year as he's as good as we've got. I hope to see less of Parker, but only in the sense that FOS or another hard at it youngster comes in and replaces him.

The meltdowns have become ridiculous here over the last few weeks. It's starting to resemble the Carlton board.

I get that it's been a very long time, but this team cannot be compared with any other rebuild in footy history. It's a complete rebuild of the playing list and the culture of the club. I doubt a rebuild has ever occurred with just one 200+ gamer from a prior era (LMac). We have had to import experienced players in Daniel, Parker and Darling because we have none. Jy has played in one winning season in nine years.

We lose key players like Xerri and Larkey and it's no surprise that the whole thing falls over. You can't just put Teakle and Maley in there and expect the same performance. We are playing one 100+ gamer in our backline in Daniel - and he wouldn't get a game anywhere else.

There are positives all over the park this year, and if you can't see them then it's because you can't read any deeper than a win-loss record.

The meltdowns have become ridiculous here over the last few weeks. It's starting to resemble the Carlton board.

I get that it's been a very long time, but this team cannot be compared with any other rebuild in footy history. It's a complete rebuild of the playing list and the culture of the club. I doubt a rebuild has ever occurred with just one 200+ gamer from a prior era (LMac). We have had to import experienced players in Daniel, Parker and Darling because we have none. Jy has played in one winning season in nine years.

We lose key players like Xerri and Larkey and it's no surprise that the whole thing falls over. You can't just put Teakle and Maley in there and expect the same performance. We are playing one 100+ gamer in our backline in Daniel - and he wouldn't get a game anywhere else.

There are positives all over the park this year, and if you can't see them then it's because you can't read any deeper than a win-loss record.
True, it's not like we let several 150+ game veterans go too early in our attempt to deliberately bottom out at the early stages of our rebuild.

Definitely, but the current administration can't fix letting Boomer go too early, or not holding onto a Tarrant or Wood a bit longer, or us not nailing any first round picks for a decade.

They are the causes of why we have to completely start from scratch.

Definitely, but the current administration can't fix letting Boomer go too early, or not holding onto a Tarrant or Wood a bit longer, or us not nailing any first round picks for a decade.

They are the causes of why we have to completely start from scratch.
The current head of football talent was there for every decision post 2019.

Then the current administration thought trading away a top 2 pick would help us get out of it.

It's grim. We keep digging down and that's why people are negative.

The current head of football talent was there for every decision post 2019.

Then the current administration thought trading away a top 2 pick would help us get out of it.

It's grim. We keep digging down and that's why people are negative.

Players don't want to come to a shit team. A team that is shit because we didn't recruit and develop any good players under Brad who would now form our homegrown senior core.

We've taken on other teams' garbage because thats all we've been able to get, and we've been desperate to add experience because of the club's prior mistakes. Not hearing of players flocking to Richmond atm either. St Kilda are overpaying to get anyone there. That's an AFL-wide equalisation problem, not a North problem.

Again, if you can't see signs of improvement then you're not looking deep enough.

There's no one we let go in 2020 that would have made any real difference to this. They were the reason we were that bad to begin with. I know you think Jy doesn't chase enough and LDU too. Higgo was their mentor. He never chased enough. JMac couldn't tackle and was okay at attacking off the HBF but not that good at defending, especially teams that beat us on transition outside.

There was no one else that we delisted that was a 150 game North vet.

List Mgmt. Honest analysis of our playing list - "is it the cowboy, or the cattle?"