Houli2Gumbleton's Phanton Draft

Bendigo
Here is my NOOB attempt at this years draft. Constructive criticism is recommended.

1) Melbourne – Jack Watts
This will happen for sure. They need someone to replace Neitz, and
Watts is the best person to forfill the job.

2)West Coast – Nick Naitanui

They need someone to replace Cox and as a back up for Cox if Seaby goes down. Great Athleticism and will develop his footy brain.

3) Fremantle – Daniel Rich
Why would you pass this guy? He is no doubt the classiest mid in this years draft. Will be a good play – guaranteed.

4) Port
AdelaideTyrone Vickery
Port need a ruckman to replace Lade and a forwards to replace Tredrea. Why not draft a gun player that can play in either position?

5) Essendon – Steele Sidebottom
Essendon are crying out for a goal midfielder with good kicking skills. Will be the icing on Essendon’s midfield.

6)
Carlton – Michael Hurley
Carlton have drafted Rucks and mids with their top picks the last few years. They need a good backman to help out Jamison and Bower.

7)
Brisbane – Hamish Hartlett
Perfect replacement for Simon Black. Both in and under players with great skill.

8)
Richmond – Lewis Johnstone
They need a good replacement for Matthew Richardson to assist Riewoldt and Hughs in the future.

9) North Melbourne – Jack Ziebell
Best player available and extremely difficult to pass. Will be very good for them because he can play in the midfield and up forward. Reminds me of James Hird.

10)
Adelaide – Shaun McKernan
With Richmond stealing Lewis, they are left with Shaun as the next best key forward. He has very similar attributes to his brother Corey.

11) Collingwood – Chris Yarran
Will add pace to their midfield as well as make a huge impact up forward. He is a better version of Essendon’s Damien Cupido.

12) Sydney – Sam Blease
Paul Roos has finally realized that pace is an extremely vital factor of the modern game. Blease is that player that they would need.

13) St.Kilda – Jackson Trengove.

Can help them up forward or in defence. Will be that tall to replace Hudgeton and help free up Fisher and Goddard.

14) Western Bulldogs – Ace Cordy
Father /Son pick.

15)
Geelong – Steven Hill
Geelong like players like Hill. He is a short version of Mackie that can be a great asset as another running half back or wingman.

16) Hawthorn - Mitch Robinson
Robinson is too hard to pass at this pick imo. A tough nut who wins the ball and can play a variety of positions.

17) Melbourne – Clancee Pearce
Melbourne need players to make an impact now! Pearce is the bloke who can do so.

18) West Coast – Rhys O’Keefe

Great strong player who wins a lot of the ball. Was an all-australian rover, so that’s why I think he will go top 20.

19) Melbourne –Tom Swift

Is worth the risk because it can severely pay off and they could have an absolute superstar.

20) West Coast – Michael Walters
Lock this in. Walters will be at Eagles next year. They need pace.

21) Fremantle – Hayden Ballantyne
Ant555 got me thinking about this. I actually reckon they would do this after losing Medhurst and with the aging Headland and Falmer.

22) Port
Adelaide –Nick Heyne
After taking a KPP with there first pick, I believe they will take a mid with their second. Heyne has that extreme X Factor about him.

23) Essendon – Jordan Lisle
Best KPP back available. Essendon would surely pick him up.

24) Fremantle – Jarred Redden
Will get the ruckman to replace Warnock here. Redden is a good sized kid and is probably the next best ruckman available.

25) Brisbane – Ash Smith
If he slips to this pick, he will sureley be taken. Very fast. I believe he was the fastest in the draft?

26)
Richmond –James Strauss
Good player who can play across half back and could well replace Newman.

27) North Melbourne – Ryan Schoenmakers
Different type of forward. Can play medium and tall and could help with North’s forward line.

28)
Adelaide – Michael Broadbent
Havn’t seen him play, but from reports he is a good player and is almost certain to go top 30.

29) Collingwood - Nick Suban
Strong player who is a good backman and can play forward. I don’t rate him that well though. That is why I believe he might drop to this pick.

30) Sydney –Aaron Cornelius
After taking a mid, they will take a forward. Cornelius is the best forward available imo and an ideal replacement for Hall/Micky O.

31) Western Bulldogs – Neville Jetta
They like to play fast, thus meaning Jetta would be a good pick up for them.

32) Western Bulldogs – Jayden Post
With Jaydan being available here the Dogs will be happy to grab a key forward prospect.

33) Daniel Hanneberry
They want a quick player and it [is evident because they wanted Lovett. Hanneberry is the fittest player in the draft.

I'd burn down Punt Road if thats what they dished up.

Why would we need a replacement for Newman?

I would be happy with Yarran and Suban:thumbsu:

With respect, I dont understand why people dont contribute all year and then do a phantom draft.

Ballantyne at 21 is the worst result possible. If this draft is half as good as people say it is, Freo will have failed dismally to get this guy at anything earlier than a 4th-5th round pick.

If we were thinking of replacing Richo I think Trengove would be a better prospect.
Johnston is also very similar to Hughes in that they both can be lazy and lack defensive pressure.
So I don't think we need to double our troubles with a clone of a fringe player.

Also with our second pick we will most likely grab a top ruck prospect like roughead over a halfback type, Post may also be in with a chance.

I don't think we need to look at replacing Newman just yet as he still has around 5 years left and we have an abundance of this type of player.

That's my 2c as Richmond supporter but i cant comment on the others.

Ballantyne at 21 is the worst result possible. If this draft is half as good as people say it is, Freo will have failed dismally to get this guy at anything earlier than a 4th-5th round pick.

Pfft, he is a lot better than you think mate.

I agree that Ballantyne at Pick 21 would not be a good result for Fremantle. There are better players than him available that early. But having said that, I wouldn't be surprised to see him go early, but hopefully not any earlier than third round. He is at best a 3rd round pick.

Just out of interest Houli2Gumbleton, what about Ballantyne is so good? What makes him better than some of the other options available.

I agree that Ballantyne at Pick 21 would not be a good result for Fremantle. There are better players than him available that early. But having said that, I wouldn't be surprised to see him go early, but hopefully not any earlier than third round.

Just out of interest Houli2Gumbleton, what about Ballantyne is so good? What makes him better than some of the other options available.

He is a very good small forward who could contribute heaps to the club ala Didak and Medhurst for Collingwood. He won Sandover medal

i would like Johnston i think he is what Richmond need and looking at his highlights he looks pretty good. i would rather take cornelius or shoenmakers over strauss because we don't need another half back flanker type.

imagine johnston and shoenmakers at Richmond, both knowing each others game and could link up together very well. of course both played together for S.A in the championships and looked very promising as a combination up FWD

He is a very good small forward who could contribute heaps to the club ala Didak and Medhurst for Collingwood. He won Sandover medal

I think he is a fairly one-note player. Can kick goals at WAFL level, but that's no guarantee that he will be able to do it at AFL level. I'm also not convinced on his versatility, so I can't see him moving to the midfield like Didak or Medhurst. Sure he won the medal, but at best he is only worth a third round pick.

There are much more talented and versatile players in the second round.

I think he is a fairly one-note player. Can kick goals at WAFL level, but that's no guarantee that he will be able to do it at AFL level. I'm also not convinced on his versatility, so I can't see him moving to the midfield like Didak or Medhurst. Sure he won the medal, but at best he is only worth a third round pick.

There are much more talented and versatile players in the second round.

Agreed Chris25. Our midfield needs to be fixed before we worry about small forwards. Would much rather get a good midfielder and rotate him through the forward line, than a small forward who struggles to go in the middle.

Hey guys this draft isnt all that bad as everyone is making it out to be. There is some decent reasoning.

I'm sensing there is something else going on with you. Everything that has been said has been constructive. It's just Richmond fans not liking their picks, and Ballantyne going at #21. They are the only even remotely negative things said.

Michael Broadbent
Havn’t seen him play, but from reports he is a good player and is almost certain to go top 30. .

Did he think matthew was to bland? Michael might stand out more in the draft... add a bit of zing to his name.

Not bad.

The selections of Sidebottom and O'Keefe are astute.

I don't think West Coast would be particularly concerned if Seaby went down with a knee even if they didn't draft Naitanui.

I think Yarran would be aghast at your description of him as a better version of Cupido, for good reason...

And I think Freo supporters would probably be absolutely furious if they drafted Ballantyne at 21 & Redden at 24. But then again, considering their draft record and general judgement of talent, who knows? they'd probably be thrilled!

Oh, I just noticed you gave us Clancee Pearce at 17.

He'll struggle to get drafted, so thanks, just what we need,

a player who can't kick...

I'd burn down Punt Road if thats what they dished up.

Why would we need a replacement for Newman?

Strauss is quality mate. He's better than Newman, reminds me of Andrew Mackie from Geelong a bit, you're doing infinitely better than Freo in this draft so I wouldn't complain!!

with respect to sinepari what does the amount people posthave to do with whether they should post a phantom draft......

i enjoy reading all phanton drafts.....

nice work houli2gumbleton