Zahki

Lets face it, the Saints have had our measure since 2008, they're a good side, not necessarily filled with superstars like Geelong but they have a very good defensive structure and every player in their side knows how to play to it. Last year they took it to a new level and won 20 of 23 games, losing only to Essendon, North and Geelong. This year they've looked far less dangerous, losing 3 games to Port, Carlton and Essendon so far.

What can we take away from these losses? What did those 3 teams do that we can learn from?

First of all, I'll say the Port game was an abberation. It was wet, rainy, and the Saints played probably their worst game of the year. Port didn't do anything spectacular, but they did capitalise on the Saints poor performance and got themselves a 10 point win.

The Carlton game however is definitely something worth looking at. Under the roof of the dome the blues smashed the Saints by 61 points? How? First of all Carlton were not intimidated by the Saints reputation of being a team that applies a lot of pressure. They took their usual risks and played fast attacking, direct football and it paid dividends. Didn't hurt that Carlton were winning the clearences early on and pumping the ball into the forward 50 before St Kilda could put their highly effective defensive zone into place. Carltons leg speed really hurt as well, as on numerous occasions you'd see Yarran or Betts run onto the ball and burst away from any pursuers and kick easy goals from a vacant forward half.

The Essendon loss is a similar story, although not nearly as a dominant performance by the Bombers, they ground out another win, becoming the only team to have won 2 in a row against the Saints since last year. Essendon was helped by some errant kicking by the Saints, a wasteful 11.15 being the result.

Without Cloke it's going to be tough, but after our loss in Round 3 I think we can match it with them provided we don't have les than 25% accuracy again. The keys seem to be:

1. Leg speed, have players that can run into space and burst away before the Saints can react and put their zone behind the ball.

2. Confidence. So many teams get caught in the trap of being far too cautious against the Saints, kicking backwards and sideways, becoming timid and frightened of turnovers. If we play slowly it suits the Saints to a tee, fast ball movement comes from players having that confidence, kamakaze football works surprisingly well against a side that relies almost entirely on the strength of their defensive structure.

3. Maintain possession. The Saints love to starve opposition of the ball, if your team has it the other team doesn't. They're patient and won't be rushed into kicking it into unfavorable situations. Any team that wants to win against them has to turn that trend around.

the bombers beat the saints based on the saints innaccuracy and shell shocked losing to carlton earlier the previous week and the blues hadnt beaten the saints in 10 years since the 2001 season
we went out with all guns blazing and played ruthless accurate and explosive footy taken chances left right and centre

it paid off because we played with nothing to lose, it was just a home and away season game and only 4 points

they had no riewoldt and were slightly under done as for having no stars
dal santo hayes and roo are absolute guns and superstars

the cats are struggling against the hawks at the minute and given the hawks run of wins u would be wary to consider them the main threat

I think fast ball movement is the key. I have noted lately that our handballing has been far superior than in years past. The saints defensive structure may be a not as compact on the wide mcg so i would expect the coaches to try and exploit this.

Medhurst and davis simply must play. I would assume that cloke will be out, and anthony should be left out too. Fast ball movement will be the key to us winning this match.

Yep, Medhurst and Davis are important. St Kilda's backs make even the better froward lines look impotent, and I reckon we'll struggle bigtime with the current lineup. If both Medhurst and Davis can find form, and that's a big if, we have enough dangerous players up there. Otherwise, I'm not sure we can beat them.

Edit. i was more thinking about in the finals. i dont expect either of those guys to be firing next week, if they actually play.

Move the ball quickly and dont chip the ball around for to long. This will stop them from geting all their deffenders back and gives us a better chance of scoring goals. Last time we were way to slow with our ball movement and therefore enababling their deffence to get back and set up there zone and that forced us to take shots from the boundry line and we kicked points. Having said that we wont beat them.

The Aints are gettin ready for us already, 2 late changes, Goddard and Kosigirl out for Gram and Pattison.

Bastards, they know we are going to be weakened by suspensions, so they rest players leading into our game.

Hope it backfires and they lose.

The Aints are gettin ready for us already, 2 late changes, Goddard and Kosigirl out for Gram and Pattison.

Bastards, they know we are going to be weakened by suspensions, so they rest players leading into our game.

Stuff em lol, if we beat em on sat it will be sweeter anyway i hope the lions beat them and Reiwoldt does his hamstring again.

The Saints would need to kick over the mark or to a contest where we can then capitalise on each turnover forward of the centre square.

Give the ball to Didak more often :)

It might bite em' in the arse tonight...:D

Did you see Riewoldt's first kick?

Surprise, surprise, it was a free kick that shouldn't have been paid.

And then he missed the shot at goal.

StKilda have been sooking like little girls at the ump all half too, which is great to see, as they just expect the frees to come their way.

Go Bears, oops Lions.

Stuff em lol, if we beat em on sat it will be sweeter anyway i hope the lions beat them and Reiwoldt does his hamstring again.

don't be an idiot. riewoldt is a champion, and if they go close this year but not all the way, then his hammy is the tragedy of the season.

i hope he plays, plays well but gets beaten by ben reid, and we flog them.
we'd do well this week to plan a little less and just win the first posession. west coast and port got us in this area but if we win first posession and get it in long before they set up their zone we win. Dawesy will monster Zac Dawson, and the smalls will put in 10 between them.

first of all sorry for being so negative, but wouldnt it be great for the saints to lose tonight. I would be so much more relaxed next week and really not the end of the world if they beat us. and for that all said how good if the dockers lose tonight and to think the cats got up by a few points. We could have been clear on top of the ladder

Before the round 3 game I said - win the contested footy, the tackle count & have Presti blanket Reiwoldt and we'd be a huge chance. We did all those and still lost.

This time, win the contested footy, tackle count, Presti to blanket Reiwoldt and kick straight.