How do you live on an Apprentice/ Uni wage?

As often happens, this thread has diminished to be a set of personal attacks. Accept that other people live their own lives the way they choose to live them.

As for any advice on frugal living, taking your own lunch to work every day saves heaps. I am in a sound financial position with a good job and my mortgage well under control. I buy my lunch about once every 2 months. I love Subway !

Taking my lunch to uni instead of buying was a MASSIVE help in allowing me to travel to the USA and travel around Australia within the space of a year.

I wouldn't say that. The lifestyle I have chosen probably saves me more than most.

I enjoy cycling. I don't do it because it saves me money. It's just a bonus.

I don't see the point of doing up cars. I just got a cheap car that gets me from A to B without looking like a massive w***er. It just happens to be more economical - another bonus.

I enjoy chucking some steaks and snags on bbq, more so than getting junk food. It just so happens to be cheaper - bonus.

I enjoy the beach and the ocean and I couldn't imagine holidaying anywhere without one. Australia has the best beaches in the world, and I only have to drive for 30 minutes to get to one, which works out thousands of dollars cheaper - bonus.

I prefer a quieter night with a couple of close friends over than going out clubbing and partying. I don't have to pay as much for alcohol and I don't have the urge to drink much anyway - a bonus.

I choose these things because it saves me money. I do them because I prefer them.

Agree with you about the cars, these days every young guy wastes a shitload of money on cars. Look im not against buying a mercedes benz if you want to? They are great cars as everyone knows. But around where i live young tradies spend 80 000 on a Holden Ute. I mean that is a waste for a car with 2 seats. You'd have to be out of your head to spend 80 000 on a ute. Unfortunately, those young guys are starting to realies that 4th year apprentice wages of 80 000 - 100 000 dollars are not the "norm". Nothing wrong with having and spending money as long as you know what your doing, cashed up bogans often dont know what they are doing.

The Holiday thing i disagree with. ****, there are heaps better beaches then your rock rebble lined pollution infested mexian beach. You should travel in the future.

i just finished first yr of uni. I earn around 250 a week plus comisson. I used about 40 on fuel a week. Then for going out i only used 45$ max. First off for pre drinks always go with tooheys platniums 20$ for 8 beers 6.5% then taxi it with 5 or 6 mates cost you around 5 each. Finally never buy a girl a drink unless you know shes intrested in you.

ive been on shit wages my whole life, decided to do a mature age apprenticeship, and ive had an absolute cracker of a time. managed to put myself in 12000 debt, but my wages are doubling next week.

and ive lived out of home for 90% of the time, by myself for 80% of that time.

it can be done. it takes guts to do it tho. but u learn a lot on how to live.

and to be honest, ive learnt how much money ive wasted, and am over blowing it all on a good time, i now know and appreciate the value of not wasting all money, and how it can be saved, right before my wages double in 4 days!!

Don't mature age apprentices get good money anyway?

How do you live on an Apprentice/ Uni wage?