ballanFYNE

bushrangers, NYG, ducks
If we make september this year how far can we expect to go. I think 2nd week will be great but more realisticly 1st week.:(
Thoughts.......

If we make september this year how far can we expect to go. I think 2nd week will be great but more realisticly 1st week.:(
Thoughts.......

Injury free is quintessential to where we are at & could be .

A little know fact that since the top 8 was brought in.... Every year a team has come from outside the top 8 & finished in the top 4.
My vodka induced Sunday may prove me wrong on last year but it has every year....prove me wrong !!!!

After Harv's comment to me 2 weeks ago & my observations of training we have got great depth to make the 8 & I have already put some good money down on us making that position..

if we sneak into the finals, we will be kicked out forst week.. i dont however expect us to go any higher than 10th though

I think we need to attack one goal very hard and that is making Subiaco a very tough place to play us. There is no reason why we can't start to exert ourselves especailly with guys like Duffield, Hill, Palmer & Hayden pedigrees suited to the broad expanses.

We have a dozen games at Subi and amongst those are a raft of other teams who we are likely to be battling in the middle of the table.

Our opponents - Adelaide, Geelong, Richmond, West Coast, Collingwood, North Melb, St Kilda, Port, Melb, West Coast, Sydney & Carlton

Win 9 out of 12 home games and you will almost certainly be playing football in Sept.

It is tough early but our best 22 will be more than competitive against most of our opponents.

I'll be interested in how Harvey plays it but in the middle of it all is the need for Pavlich to be free to roam but all from the fwd 50. Pavlich is a mobile forward of the highest class and I just get the feeling Ballantyne and Mayne are going to be very competitive on the goal kicking list.

I think we will miss the finals or just crack it - we will know a lot after the first half dozen games.

I think we need to attack one goal very hard and that is making Subiaco a very tough place to play us. There is no reason why we can't start to exert ourselves especailly with guys like Duffield, Hill, Palmer & Hayden pedigrees suited to the broad expanses.

We have a dozen games at Subi and amongst those are a raft of other teams who we are likely to be battling in the middle of the table.

Exactly.
We play 3 games in 12 days Rounds 6, 7, 8. Round 6 and 8 are home.Round 7 is away in Brissie.

You all know the rest.....

Just in case you don't.
Whyyyyyyy would we bother with round 7 ?
Fcku the AFL.

Our opponents - Adelaide, Geelong, Richmond, West Coast, Collingwood, North Melb, St Kilda, Port, Melb, West Coast, Sydney & Carlton

Win 9 out of 12 home games and you will almost certainly be playing football in Sept.

It is tough early but our best 22 will be more than competitive against most of our opponents.

I'll be interested in how Harvey plays it but in the middle of it all is the need for Pavlich to be free to roam but all from the fwd 50. Pavlich is a mobile forward of the highest class and I just get the feeling Ballantyne and Mayne are going to be very competitive on the goal kicking list.

I think we will miss the finals or just crack it - we will know a lot after the first half dozen games.

Bolded the ones I reckon we have more than a show in.
The other, if we play our best footy, we can win

If we make the 8 it would indicate that all our recruits are busting out and that would mean we might be improving as the season progresses. Saying that I would expect us to finish 7th at best which makes it an extremely tough ask to get through the first week.

There are so many unknown factors about us this season. There can be no injury excuses (touching wood). We have a core group of players around the right age group. Coach has been in long enough. Best ruckman in the comp. Pavlich back forward. Midfield is the best it has been since 06.
Could go on.

We should start to win games around every second week.

Thoughts.......

Ummmm... love the optimisim??

Can't see us any higher than 7th, and so we are away during finals. Will be very hard to win you'd think, especially against Geebung or the Doggies away... But, with our young guys, there should be no fear or choking, so you never know...

Unless we get lucky and get to play the eagles...

:D:D Maybe we could someohw wind up playing them twice in the finals??? Gold that would be.

If we make the 8 it would indicate that all our recruits are busting out and that would mean we might be improving as the season progresses. Saying that I would expect us to finish 7th at best which makes it an extremely tough ask to get through the first week.

There are so many unknown factors about us this season. There can be no injury excuses (touching wood). We have a core group of players around the right age group. Coach has been in long enough. Best ruckman in the comp. Pavlich back forward. Midfield is the best it has been since 06.
Could go on.

We should start to win games around every second week.

Actually, this made me stop and think. With our draw, if we can beat the Eagles in both Derbies, and we beat two of Geelong/Sainters/Crows/Pies at home, you never know, we might just have enough home games to get a roll going. Then, we win every second week, and it only takes a couple of away upsets to get us to 13 wins. After that, who knows where we might go?

Ain't pre-pre-season just the best opiate??

It is great but I keep looking at the draw and if we can punch out 2 wins early - it really sets up the season and the kids will get confidence out of that.

Lose 2 and it easily becomes 4 (with the quality of the opposition in 3 & 4)and it is throw up the sandbags and everyone goes into damage limitation.

I want to look at that ladder come round 3 and see the equation 10 more wins from 20 games, not round 5 and see 12 from 18 needed. Big difference needing to win 1 in 2 over a season than the more negative mindset of we can only lose 6 more matches.

It's a longshot but I think Pavlich has enough special in him to really shove it up the arse of those who no longer rate him or mock him for not going to Adelaide for his flag shot. 70 goals for Pav if he is a stay at home forward who roams a little.

With the slow start of Cox and Hille early due to injury, Sandilands really can stamp himself as the standout #1 ruck ...if he can hold his marks in the forward line it will be that extra dimension that I think is there.

We then have Hill, Hasleby, Crowley, Ibbotson, Palmer and Suban - it will take all of them to fire and I think this is Harvey's main job.

That midfield is equal on talent with any that we have ever had, however histroy has shown that this is not enough ...we need this group to all fire and all make each other better.

Down back the IF's are can McPharlin find that old form ...absolutley confident if he is kept as the hard breaking tall defender and of course can Taz do it again?

Bit of rebound of the back half too just quietly - Hayden, McPharlin, Duffield, Mundy & Suban* ...all can run and carry.

It's a long shot but punish Adelaide first up and then stick it to Essendon.

Injury free is quintessential to where we are at & could be .

A truism for us along with most other clubs. In another post dom rates Thornton as around our 33rd best player (may have got his exact position wrong). I think that indicates not bad depth. Thornton has been a pretty regular player for us including last year and in the seasons where we were reasonable. So to expect him to only get a game after a dozen injuries is not too shabby in terms of a playing list.

I think the main issue for us re injuries is that we have a few key players (3-4 of them), where an injury could derail us almost completely. When you think we are looking at say Bradley as cover for Pavlich, a Rookie as cover for Tarrant, and a completely unproven ruckman as cover for Sandilands it looks pretty tough.

Ummmm... love the optimisim??

Can't see us any higher than 7th, and so we are away during finals. Will be very hard to win you'd think, especially against Geebung or the Doggies away... But, with our young guys, there should be no fear or choking, so you never know...

:D:D Maybe we could someohw wind up playing them twice in the finals??? Gold that would be.

Actually, this made me stop and think. With our draw, if we can beat the Eagles in both Derbies, and we beat two of Geelong/Sainters/Crows/Pies at home, you never know, we might just have enough home games to get a roll going. Then, we win every second week, and it only takes a couple of away upsets to get us to 13 wins. After that, who knows where we might go?

I think we can win those games at home plus the derbies. Oh now all of a sudden im excited about making the 8.