bigmikewcefan

Suspended
being supporters of the eagles?

in all honesty, i reckon we get a bit spoiled by the clubs success. dont mean to sound like im bragging about the clubs prospects or anything toolish like that - im just really happy with the way the eagles go about it.

we dont make any excuses for our mistakes - take it all on the chin - and always come out the other end of it all "peaches & creamy"

just for instance the latest probs we had back at the end of 2007 with duddles and cuzzy. I honestly thought it would have a much bigger effect on the teams success for a longer period than what its been. given the way the youngers are coming along.....we should be back very very soon.

I dont think any other team would have been able to turn the judd deal into gold - all things considered with him requesting carlton etc - to get such a good deal out of it was great.

It almost seemed like destiny that all the problems would happen at a time when we were in the position to acquire NicNat, swifty etc....

The club just continues to turn water into wine and i for one couldnt be happier with things at the moment.

Heres to a MASSIVE 2010 Eagles:thumbsu:

Love your work

I did not know about the free upgrade, not that im a member anyway but thats a good deal!

If you had of created this thread on the Fremantle board you would of recieved a response allot quicker... and that response would be in the form of a coloured card. Softcks.

Members get a free upgrade at HJs too.

Dockers members used to be able to spend a day with Rick Hart during his world famous car park sale but sadly for them that has all ended. Rick Harts deals are also no longer bigger than Aaron Sandilands.

I agree, it does seem as though the club is run very well.

I'm never too sure who deserves the credit for this. Obviously, Worsfold has been the common factor in all three premierships, so he has to be right up there. Malthouse is widely credited for bringing a high level of professionalism to the club, so he must be a factor. Nesbitt has been around for a long time and there seems to have been strong continuity in the recruitment as well.

These individuals cannot stay at the club forever, so it's going to be vital we replace them with good people when the time comes. That's going to be the challenge for the Eagles in the next decade or so.

Yes what an exceptionally well run club.

Losing the likes of Cousins, Chick, Gardiner, Judd as well as a host of other players due to off field shenanigans.

What's even more admirable is the manner in which Ken Judge was treated when he went to the board insisting Ben Cousins be axed or at least helped in regards to his drug problem.

What a play by Gooding who told him Cousins would get the nod over him everyday of the week and decided to pay out Judge's contract with a little hush money to keep it under wraps.

The sign of a great club that is.

Losing the likes of Cousins, Chick, Gardiner, Judd as well as a host of other players due to off field shenanigans.

What's even more admirable is the manner in which Ken Judge was treated when he went to the board insisting Ben Cousins be axed or at least helped in regards to his drug problem.

What a play by Gooding who told him Cousins would get the nod over him everyday of the week and decided to pay out Judge's contract with a little hush money to keep it under wraps.

How many premierships you won?

this is an A B conversation mundy

C your way out of it.

The fact they were getting on it every weekend makes it more amazing. I couldn't play a game of AFL footy after a bender.

How many premierships you won?

Lol. Look, no ones disputing the financial element of your club, nor the the ability to make a succesful trade or recruit well.

But if you guys seriously believe your club has been well run over the last 2-3 years, well you've got rocks in your head.

Some monumental errors of judgement and process have occured under the watchful eye of Nisbett and Co. Losing two marquee players of the ilk of Cousins and Judd, when at least one was preventable is totally unacceptable.

Lol. Look, no ones disputing the financial element of your club, nor the the ability to make a succesful trade or recruit well.

But if you guys seriously believe your club has been well run over the last 2-3 years, well you've got rocks in your head.

Some monumental errors of judgement and process have occured under the watchful eye of Nisbett and Co. Losing two marquee players of the ilk of Cousins and Judd, when at least one was preventable is totally unacceptable.

no player is bigger than the club mate - our hands were tied anyway....

all im saying is that we could have easily been a rabble for 4- 5 years after all that, yet the futures looking good already...and the brains behind WC should be applauded for their handling of a very tricky situation....

End of the day - we made the most out of a bad situation.

You're a very good troll Mundy.

I'll bite:

1. I don't think Judd left because of the off field stuff. He even said if we were the East Coast Eagles he'd sign on forever. It was a location thing with him.

2. Judge has made some pretty big claims before. Does anyone remember him saying that he tanked at Hawthron and that he'd written about it in his journal for that year?

I'm not saying we didn't fumble the Ben Cousins thing, because we did, but I wouldn't believe everything Judge says. He likes to big note himself.

Its so easy (and lazy) to dismiss as you say, the 'financial', 'trade' and 'recruitment' elements of the club with a flippant acknowledgement to these elements. You forgot 'development'. FFS! These are fairly large elements of what makes a club successful.

Absolutely no doubt, that the cultural issues and the judgements made on Cousins and his happy clowns could have been handled better. It threatened to implode the club. And a less successful club would've imploded. A lesser club with shakier foundations and little or no recent on-field success would've lost disillusioned supporters. But it didn't.

Here we are, less than two years later, with the loss of, as you say two marquee players (arguably a third in Gardiner) picking ourselves back off the canvas, with no loss of sponsors or support, readying ourselves for another tilt at onfield success with the internal mechanisms in place at this successful club to 'successfully' identify, recruit, develop and make the most out of the bad situation we found ourselves in.

I'm all for holding people in power accountable. But it also works the other way. You have to give them credit for the things that do go right too. And on balance, well actually waaay out of balance, is the fact that this club and its administrators have done more right that more wrong.

God only knows how much more successful this club could've been onfield if it wasn't for the indiscretions (and mismanagement of a few) in the mid 2000's. Its scary.

That doesn't happen by luck. It takes good management

Its so easy (and lazy) to dismiss as you say, the 'financial', 'trade' and 'recruitment' elements of the club with a flippant acknowledgement to these elements. You forgot 'development'. FFS! These are fairly large elements of what makes a club successful.

Absolutely no doubt, that the cultural issues and the judgements made on Cousins and his happy clowns could have been handled better. It threatened to implode the club. And a less successful club would've imploded. A lesser club with shakier foundations and little or no recent on-field success would've lost disillusioned supporters. But it didn't.

Here we are, less than two years later, with the loss of, as you say two marquee players (arguably a third in Gardiner) picking ourselves back off the canvas, with no loss of sponsors or support, readying ourselves for another tilt at onfield success with the internal mechanisms in place at this successful club. 'successfully' identify, recruit, develop and make the most out of the bad situation we found ourselves in.

I'm all for holding people in power accountable. But it also works the other way. You have to give them credit for the things that do go right too. And on balance, well actually waaay out of balance, is the fact that this club and its administrators have done more right that more wrong.

God only knows how much more successful this club could've been onfield if it wasn't for the indiscretions (and mismanagement of a few) over the last in the mid 2000's. Its scary.

That doesn't happen by luck. It takes good management

Yeah, to an extent I agree with most of what you have said, but think of it from this angle.

W.A is a two team town, AFL is the dominant sport, even with the downfall of Cousins, securing memberships dollars was never going to be an issue.

Coming back to this notion of development, well, not sure how you can claim that one yet because for the last two year you have been one of the worst onfield sides in the competition, if you want to look at developmont, look now further than Adelaide, that's development. Not sure how Craig did it but he's hacked away at that list and they are still competitive, even a chance for a top 4.

So leave the development thing for now.

There are a lot of things to envy in regards to West Coast, this I can acknowledge, but coming from a sports management background intitially and now in the financial sector, it astounds me that a bloke like Nisbett is still at the helm.

Truly astounds me.

Hey Larrikin any chance you could make it a rule that your club must have won at least one premiership to post on this board. I don't want other fans stinking the place up.

Actually may as well make it you have to have won more than one final.

Interesting view. So we traded Gardy to rid our club of a troublemaker and that was bad management. Then we kept a Ben Cousins and that was also bad management.

Genuinely funny stuff Mundy. :thumbsu:

Judd went home because he wanted to go home. Everything else is just speculation and salacious gossip.

Chick was finished. Certainly his off-field activities didnt help his cause but his time was up regardless.

The reality is that the club did what most clubs would have done with Cousins and ultimately we paid a price for it. That said, we dont win a flag in 2006 without Cousins. Maybe management did make a deal with the devil and maybe the price was steep but we won a flag in 2006 - there are plenty of sides who would swap their last 5 years for ours (warts and all) and one of them would be your miserable rabble. And you lecture WC on "well run" clubs?

rofl

Not a single truth in that statement Mundy. Not one. Judge expressed concerns about off-field behaviour but at no stage did he request Cousins be axed. The "drug problem" stuff - at that stage - is also complete and utter bollocks.

Prove otherwise or **** off.

Gooding did what?

When was Judge sacked? (2001)

When did Gooding become Chairman? (2002)

Of course Freo have never swept anything under the rug or traded players with drug issues or any other such thing. The difference is, in a club where rampant ineptness is the rule rather than the exception, another inept and silly act is simply ignored.

We remain a brilliantly run club, who have paid a price for some pragmatic decisions and have moved on.

You remain a rampant spreader of gossip and lies. Feel free to provide a single shred of evidence for any of your assertions in this post - as the accuser its your job.

Either that or **** off and stop trolling our board.

Fun as always Pav. :p

For those curious about special discounts and offers available through West Coast Eagles membership, see this link.

In addition to the HJ's upgrade, you can also get discounts/offers on hotel accommodation, video rental, health cover, theatre tickets, menswear, bicycles and wait for it...BEER (buy one, get one)! :eek:

There are a few words in an Essendon posters sig that sums up how I feel about the Eagles.

"I ****ing love this club"