Pregnancy & Parenting Hurting yourself as a Kid

clivewaterhousen

Suspended
Kids these days are so precious, parents dont let them do shit all.

when i was younger I thought i could bounce of the wall onto the tramp then onto the grass injury free, first time i mistimed it and landed in the tree, a week later i tried again and bounced back and hit the wall and cracked my head open.

then another time i tied a rope around the clothes line and ran around but the line snapped and i faceplanted.

any amusing childhood injuries?

Not my injury but as kids (me 14 him 12) my little brother and I bought a pair of boxing gloves each and used to have boxing matches on the trampoline. I punched him and he fell off, split his head on the cement. Pretty sure he was dead to it before he hit the cement. **** I copped it that night when the olds came home.

Once on our bikes we used to ride down this hill at a local forest, my brakes failed once and I clotheslined myself on a sign at the foot of the hill. Concussion and a handy bruise on my chin.

I was too careful so I never really did anything serious (still never sprained or broken anything). The bro on the otherhand was different. One day he was playing with our neighbour and they were trying to crush a marble with this massive rock we had in the back yard. The neighbour dropped the rock and as he dropped the rock the bro decided to pick up the marble for some reason. Needless to say his finger was absolutley crushed and still looks a bit odd to this day.

Xmas eve when i was about 13 i was riding home from a mates place where we had just been swimming, theres a steep hill on the way to my house and i jumped off the curb where theres the little lip on the driveway. I was riding my mates bike and jumped off the curb, front forks caved and like a slingshot halfway down the hill i faceplanted into the bitumen.. i started screaming out ****KK ****K!!!!! and my mate who was about 50m infront of me turned around and i was lying in the middle of the road blood absolutely streaming out of my face.
Broken nose and completely smashed 3 of my front teeth and needed to have 3 root canals.. Was the most traumatic experience i've ever had

cracked ribs when i crashed a bmx bike when i was a kid

broke a toe in a seperate bmx accident

was playing footy in under 11`s ran head first into my own player as he was sprinting down the wing with the footy while i was not paying attention.......i remember heaing the laughter from the spectators. few stitches in my face and some smashed teeth

My brother and I were in Woolies when I was about 5 or 6 while mum was doing the shopping. He grabbed a chunk of ice from the freezer and dared me to eat it. I put it straight to my lips and it stuck to my lips. I panicked and ripped it off, ripping the skin off and pissing with blood. We ran to mum who was in the checkout and scared the shit out of the checkout chick.

Always had a fascination with tennis balls when I was younger. It was always me , my brother and our two mates who were also brothers and the same age as us. Two that stand out -

We used to play the trampoline game , one person must be jumping while another stands 5-10 metres away and pegs the tennis ball at them as hard as they can. The aim of the jumper is to evade the tennis ball. Think we had about 10 balls each to throw at the designated jumper and we counted how many times someone got hit , and how many balls they evaded. We did this for years and got up to well over 20 A4 sheets of paper with scores :p. Anyway , I was jumping once and my brother pegged a tennis ball (I remember he missed the first 9 times as well) and it got me square in the face , lost my bearings and faceplanted it into the metal around the trampoline. Blood everywhere , broken nose - not how I wanted to spend the last few days of school holidays.

Second one didn't involve me , but it was kind of the same game , me and my mate onto my brother and his mate , aim was to just ditch tennis balls at each other (we had a huge backyard , ramps , stairs etc so lots of room & hiding spots) I ended up on the verandah (unarmed) - got spotted by my brother and his mate , and they unleashed the tennis balls on me , at the same time , I ducked and as soon as I ducked , mum was opening the screen door with a glass of water in her hand , one ball hits the glass of water , the other right between her eyes. She collapsed into the broken glass and started crying. I'd never felt so bad in my life. She was okay though after an hour or so. That was the last time we played that game.

we played a similar game last year as adults where we put 12 tennis balls in a little courtyard of grass and hit them at eachother using hockey sticks.

good times

When I was younger me and a mate were really into WWF and one day during school holidays decided to have a tournament on his trampoline. We wanted to make it a bit more extreme so grabbed his dad's ladder to jump off the top onto the tramp. Result: I hit the tramp, bounced off and broke my wrist on the ground.

When I was even younger, probably about 3, I was jumping on the couch at home, slipped on the arm rest and put my head through a glass pane in a sliding door. 6 stitches followed

My 13 year old (at the time)mate got a golf club for his birthday and we were playing golf at his party. I swung and my little brother came round the back and long story short, amlost erupted into seizure (so i think) and got 13 stitches. 2 cm to the left and he was dead. would of crushed his temple.

I also used to stand my tramp long ways up to use as footy goals but i also used to jump on it and bounce off or grab on up the top. One time i hung on and it fell on me but that didn't hurt. It was mainly the bouncy part but another time i jumped too fast and it fell the other way and the bars supporting it snapped and i bit my tongue fairly hard. Bleeding like hell.

Also I fractured my ribs this year playing footy (not so much as young as 13ish) but still hurt a lot. Especially as i kept playing because i thought they were bruised.

When I was a kid I fell of my bike and my morbidly obese female neigbour rode over my leg breaking it instantly. I can still remember crying like a little bitch the whole way to the hospital.

Used to play rugby at primary school sometimes, and I remember one particular time when I was lifted in a tackle and ended up dropping on my neck...heard a crack and couldn't move off the ground for about 5-10 minutes. Was the strangest goddamn feeling. Safe to say I was shitting myself that I'd end up being a quadriplegic.

xmas day when i was abound 6yo my older cousin and i were playing backyard cricket and i had bowled him out 3 times in a row my cousin was always a sore loser due to being an only child and he refused to go out, anyways i was walking back to the crease to bowl and he came up behind me and cracked me over the back of my head with the cricket bat as hard as he could in front of the entire family

Hahaha funny shit. Kids are crazy:thumbsu:

Four years old, my older sister was spinning me around on her chair. It was great fun until I flew off and landed on the uncarpeted floor and broke my collarbone.

-- In primary school we went on a school camp to Swan Hill. For some reason, the teachers sent the boys off on a run. Here we are doing this run and we're all still pretty bunched up. We end up getting into single file to run past this building that has a row of hedges running alongside. The line slows right down and I have no idea why. I'm looking over the heads of people trying to work out why we arent running (everything's competitive when you're a kid) and why it's going so slowly. Space clears in front of me and I take off. Straight into a tap. Straight into my groin. Turns out kids had been slowing down to jump it.

I was the only one who didnt. :o Ended up back at camp laying down in severe agony with a couple of the male teachers giving me a bit of sympathy. They must have pissed themselves laughing later.

-- Riding a tiny little BMX down a grassy hill near home. Was flying and came acropper on some branches which had fallen. They acted as a bit of a jump and I landedflat on my side. Snapped my humerus clean in half and ended up in hospital overnight. I cried so much. Ended up with mum buying me an N64 when I got out because it was school hols and I had to spend two weeks with my arm immobolised.

-- Was camping once and must have had a tantrum and stormed off from my mates. Was plotting my revenge and decided to climb a tree and spy on them and plan my next move. Was lying on a broad branch, probably close to 2.5 metres in the air when I just moved and fell, flat on my side. Was winded for about 20 minutes. Didnt cry though. Not sure why.

That's about it, apart from breaking my wrist fall down stairs :o

Was also a massive WWF fan and mum had to ban me from watching it because I was always practising the moves on anyone weaker and stupider than me to walk by.

Tried to do a backflip into a pool once, missed the pool.

Couple of stitches and a cool scar to show the other kids in my year 3 class.

This was in Darwin, so seeing my scar was pretty much the highlight of their week.

Wanted to get out of English class cause the teacher was a mole, so I cut the mole I used to have on my face to make it bleed. Also got angry so I spun around a pole whe I was three and fell off and broke my collarbone.

collar bones getting dominated.

To keep the collarbone theme going....was playing basketball and I was thrown the ball, I turned quickly to run down the court, but a man mountain was just standing there in the way, my scrawny shoulder went straight into his midriff....my collarbone snapped in half and also cracked near the end.

Still got the plate and screws in.

Wouldve been about 9yo, me and a mate thought it would cool to chuck a brick down my chimney.... Didn't even get close but the brick fell and knocked me out and split my head open. Haha so stupid.