Hypothetically if Jonno Brown leaves Brissy

What do people think we would have to give up to get him across the line in terms of money and also trades and or draft picks for compensation?

Just want to know what peoples thoughts are on this? and if we should make a play for him or not.

I know personally, I would be happy if we gave up our first 2 picks in the draft and a player to get him, would also be happy to pay him 3.6 mill over 3 years.

Move on. Not in that market - ie. mortgaging our future for a guy who, while brilliant, is brilliant only about 4-6 games a year.

I'd sooner pay a Mundy $300K a year and the leave the rest in the kitty...

No idea, would be hard to compete with the Pratt/Carlton or McGuire/Collingwood money trains...ie more than we can or should give;)

it's deadset a long shot anyway that he will leave Brisbane...I have better odds of winning next week's powerball than J Brown ever setting foot in Punt Rd:o

I'm trying to work out how much of a difference Brown would have made to us this year hypothetically.
A thread a few weeks ago dealt with Judd and if he may have "won" us the Dogs & Saints games. I don't think a class midfielder would have necessarily done so.
A power forward like JB... well, I reckon that could change those sort of results + the huge difference it would make in straightening us up through the mid-field.
Having said that, are we really wanting to buy with both $ and young talent that sort of influence?
I dunno... I guess thats why I dont run footy clubs!

Move on. Not in that market - ie. mortgaging our future for a guy who, while brilliant, is brilliant only about 4-6 games a year.

I'd sooner pay a Mundy $300K a year and the leave the rest in the kitty...

bingo...and if we are going to pay the money...the number 25 from Carlton would be who i would be luring. ;)

We already have King Enigma....we don't need his heir apparent as well....:o

It's all moot....we can neither afford or attract superstars ....besides, unlike Collingwood & The Pratts ...we are actually subject to the salary cap...:eek:

Jonathan Brown does not "want" to leave Brisbane ... merely daring someone to anti up enough cash so he can`t refuse ...

That being the case a definate no .

His best comparison to a player of the modern era is Dermott Brereton ... both use/used thier bodies as battering rams at CHF .... subsequently "The Kid" was washed up at 28 as his body was shot .

I believe JB will end up down the same path.

Do not touch with a ten foot barge pole ...(and i mean no disrespect to JB .... STAR)

We already have King Enigma....we don't need his heir apparent as well....:o

It's all moot....we can neither afford or attract superstars ....besides, unlike Collingwood & The Pratts ...we are actually subject to the salary cap...:eek:

yeah we do, and he is being an enigma to other sides all over the ground as well as pitching in with a lazy 3 or 4 goals a game.
So we end up with 2 enigmas, big ____ing deal. One that kicks arse everywhere and the other that kicks bags when he gets it.

for sure and certain dude. We get a Fev in front of the big sticks, with the way our midfiled is emerging now, and we become a major contender.
Go and ask the folster how good it was to deliver to a fast breaking FF in the hall of fame game.
Flavour of the month, marketing, crowd pullers, you name it we become it....keep dreaming if you think otherwise. ;)

yeah we do, and he is being an enigma to other sides all over the ground as well as pitching in with a lazy 3 or 4 goals a game.
So we end up with 2 enigmas, big ____ing deal. One that kicks arse everywhere and the other that kicks bags when he gets it.

for sure and certain dude. We get a Fev in front of the big sticks, with the way our midfiled is emerging now, and we become a major contender.
Go and ask the folster how good it was to deliver to a fast breaking FF in the hall of fame game.
Flavour of the month, marketing, crowd pullers, you name it we become it....keep dreaming if you think otherwise. ;)
We could have had Fev at the end of 05 for $400K a season and baulked at it. Looks cheap now.

we will get brown next year

also a shetland pony will win the melbourne cup

pffft

we unfortunately dont have the fiscal might to match it with a collingwood or the like AND THATS IF HE ACTUALLY DID LEAVE BRISBANE

unfortunately as we sit now we are not the most "tantalizing" place to move...we probably may have a reasonable pick this year (finals next year) but we dont have the cash and I dont think a Johnathon Brown is the sort of player we need id rather a classy midfielder being dropped into our team an injury prone forward ..even as the star he is...does not constitute the massive effort we would have to give if he actually left brisbane
id rather build a team around the players we have and the talent that is there right at the moment
a team with just johnathon brown and $200 bucks left in the salary cap for other players and only having the last pick in the pre season draft doesnt do anything for me

We could have had Fev at the end of 05 for $400K a season and baulked at it. Looks cheap now.

It's a long shot because all the signs are that the Blues will keep their man, (they need to or they will have no-one to kick a winning score) but God I would laugh if they try to screw Fev over.
Plenty previously posted about Judds contract etc... but to keep Fev happy they may have to further squeeze their younger guys.

Re the Tigers?
Fev a couple of years ago would certainly have changed our forward set-up. Richo would have been released up the ground to accommodate The Mop and we have seen how well this has worked! :eek:

yeah but now its more about length of contract as opposed to the cash content. We missed the chance back then, but the door is once again ajar.
Ties in perfectly with where we are at and what we are looking at in the next 3 to 4 years. IMO, 4-5 year deal, with the usual performance stuff tied in, a couple of insurance clauses and we have nailed the one thing we havent had since our "last flag". A FF who kicks goals, from 55, 45,35, boundary, you name it he does it. Yeah, he can have one or 2 off days and spray them, but yeah you get a guranteed minimum of 70 goals a season to go with Richos 50. And as a bonus? The Cleves etc of this world can contunue to develop without the need to fast track them, and 4 or 5 down the track, there are mid 20s options to take over. To easy. ;)

yeah but now its more about length of contract as opposed to the cash content. We missed the chance back then, but the door is once again ajar.
Ties in perfectly with where we are at and what we are looking at in the next 3 to 4 years. IMO, 4-5 year deal, with the usual performance stuff tied in, a couple of insurance clauses and we have nailed the one thing we havent had since our "last flag". A FF who kicks goals, from 55, 45,35, boundary, you name it he does it. Yeah, he can have one or 2 off days and spray them, but yeah you get a guranteed minimum of 70 goals a season to go with Richos 50. And as a bonus? The Cleves etc of this world can contunue to develop without the need to fast track them, and 4 or 5 down the track, there are mid 20s options to take over. To easy. ;)
Mate I agree. I'd love to have him in yellow and black. But there's no way he's leaving Carlton.

Fev a couple of years ago would certainly have changed our forward set-up. Richo would have been released up the ground to accommodate The Mop and we have seen how well this has worked! :eek:
Yeah but we wouldn't have got Cotchin.

I know... thats why "could haves" & "would haves" always piss me off.
Love The Cotch! :thumbsu:
I was going to mention that if we had drafted Buddy instead of Tambo we'd probably have Rioli and not Cotchin, but then I thought that would really piss you off and decided against it.

Mate I agree. I'd love to have him in yellow and black. But there's no way he's leaving Carlton.

never say never man. They are shit scared now, since they have made their bed, re. his off field stuff, so they might be stuck between a rock and a hard place, when it comes to giving him 1-2 or even a 3 year contract. No way will they go for anything above 2 let alone 3. We can just give him the 4-5 years, he feels secure and he knows that he has to keep his act together, because the footy world will be ready to pounce, not only on us, but on him, meaning he is toast, re. media etc etc.
And even if he does have a couple of indeiscretions, who gives a flying ____? I dont, they did because they had Judd and all the "we want to look like we mean business" type shit hanging over him.

I am tipping he is a good chance to pick up. Its up to us to get him, not up to the Blues to keep him. Money means JS to players of his stature. They will get the same, give or take a 10 to 20 thou, whoever gets him. Its all about security on how long they will get it for that matters. Not to mention that i would be tipping that we are on the verge of playing big time footy too, more than the blues are. So a player like Fev who as you saw in the hall of fame game, performs on the big stage. I would bet my bottom dollar that he would want to join his mate Newmo and kick some butt in front of the roaring tigerheads at the G. ;)