Workshop Hyundai A-League / NSL Kit History (working title: KitsDownUnder - KDU)

What program should we use to create the kits?

Gibbsy

Cakewalk
Oct 12, 2009
Geetroit
Obviously we have the comprehensive History of AFL Guernseys, SpecialWindler's NRL jerseys gallery, but I am yet to find a collection of A-League jerseys. I know that there is this on the Colours of Football website, but that is largely incomplete and hasn't been updated for years.

What would be ideal would be something like Historical Kits - I visit their website regularly along with Sports Logos and Football Shirt Culture, and find them all a wealth of information. :thumbsu:

Would anyone be willing to work on a collaborative effort to create a history of A-League jerseys? (only from 2004-05 onwards). Not too sure what template we would use though.

COLOUR GUIDE

KIT/SPONSOR GUIDES

A-LEAGUE
Adelaide United
Brisbane Roar
Central Coast Mariners
Gold Coast United
Melbourne Heart
Melbourne Victory
Newcastle Jets
New Zealand Knights
North Queensland Fury
Perth Glory
Sydney FC
Wellington Phoenix
Western Sydney Wanderers
2005-06 Pre-season kits

NSL
Adelaide City
Adelaide United
APIA Leichhardt
Blacktown City
Brisbane City
Brisbane Lions
Brisbane Strikers
Brunswick Juventus
Canberra City
Canberra Cosmos
Canterbury-Marrickville
Carlton SC
Collingwood Warriors
Football Kingz
Footscray JUST
Green Gully
Heidelberg United

Inter Monaro
Marconi Stallions
Melbourne Knights
Mooroolbark
Morwell Falcons
Newcastle Breakers
Newcastle KB United
Newcastle Rosebud United
Newcastle United Jets
Northern Spirit
Parramatta Eagles
Parramatta Power
Penrith City
Perth Glory
Preston Lions
South Melbourne
St George Saints
Sunshine George Cross
Sydney City
Sydney Olympic
Sydney United
West Adelaide
Western Suburbs
Wollongong Macedonia
Wollongong Wolves

YES that would be mad! Each (original) team has only had 3 sets of strips, each covered very well in the media so shouldn't be too tricky.

NSL on the other hand would be mission impossible I'm afraid... apart from the teams that survived (Perth, Adelaide, Newcastle) and the successful/finalist clubs, it would be very hard to source photos etc.

How to deal with sponsors logos? They are obviously a big part of the design these days and, unlike EPL, there can be up to 7 different logos around the whole kit.

A good template is essential.

It helps that every team is sponsered by the 'Bok though.

Pretty sure that's gonna change next season though...

EDIT: Don't worry, they all have different collars anyway

Good to see a bit of support behind the idea :thumbsu:

Re: template, we could just have various ones with the different Reebok collars and logos, but they all feature the Hyundai logo on the sleeve and the A-League patch on the breast. Then we could just go from there.

There have been four iterations of the Reebok logo on A-League jerseys I believe:
* The RBK wordmark with the curve logo next to it on the right
* The RBK wordmark on its own
* The curve logo on its own
* The current Reebok full wordmark

I know you're a passionate A-League man Smeags, so I'm looking forward to your input with this. It simply can't just be a one man job, going into VCE this year there'll be a fair bit of homework I figure but obviously I'll still make time for BF. It would be nice to see everyone chip in.

The only jersey I have is a 2008-09 Victory, but if you need intricate details I could work off that.

I have some amazing soccer templates with millions of designs on each ones. Each are relevant to each apparel sponsor so if they are up to date collar wise, then all is need is A League and hyundai patches. I would also glady pitch in and help. So if we wanted to form a team and get eveyrhting done asap I am one to help. I may have a crack at one soon and then we can go from there with templates and the like. Only thing is, where would this history be set up?

I am actually really pumped and want to help make this happen.

I thought you can't put logos on jumpers/shirts etc? Or is that just footyjumpers.com?

Take a look elsewhere, Historical Kits for example, it doesn't seem to matter over there.

CAB I was thinking maybe we could set up a site a la FootyJumpers.com but for A-League. So we would include official logos as well.

29p42dv.png

I am really behind this. There is one i knocked up just then. I am also heading into year 12 but slow and steady and make sure its done right, no rush. I had troubled with the Vs but just wanted to show what I can do and how it looks. Obviously shorts and socks can be added. How is that though?

Oh and if we need to do backs I need the A league font and etc.

Oh and if we dont want textures I can hide them, with textures looks mroe real, but for the jumper set up and what not no texture probably works best for viewers

That looks sick CAB. Yeah we'd be going with back, shorts and socks. Interesting to note that the A-League number font was different in the first couple of years. I guess if I just try and provide as much info as I can, then you and others with PS can do the designs. I don't know yet, we can talk more as a group later.

The texture looks good, however it's probably more a case of whether the sponsors will look stuck on and flat. I'll do my best to try and get the A-League font. Good work mate :thumbsu:

Well thanks. I would love to be apart of the whole process, this template only has the jumper but socks and shorts can be added from anywhere. Just a side note. Who and how many would you want to form the team of designers and creators? Can I grab ya email address mate?

I've got the 07-08 or 08-09 Victory jersey with SAMSUNG on the front and KFC on the sleeve.

Great idea and I will help out if needed

maybe

If it has the full "Reebok" logo it's an 08/09. If it has the curve logo without any wordmark it's the 07/08.

I am also heading into year 12
Same here. But i'm hugely interested and will always have time for the internet (which is probably a bad thing). Soccer kits were my love before footy ones, possibly.

I would rather this with Paint, but whatever. I'll be getting a MacBook pro this month, but learning PS all over again (haven't used it since year 9) might take a while.

Not to heap pressure on him, but Smeagle makes the best templates. Clean, simple, yet able for detail. The current kits are an exception, but the last two sets have conformed to no more than three templates per set. Surely it'll be fairly easy to whip those up?

I just bought a new laptop with Win7 around Christmas time and I'll need to save some cash to get PS Elements I think. I know Paint is simplicity but I feel the finer details of many soccer jerseys could be achieved more easily using PS.

Glad to see so many keen though, I'm a big A-League fan.

I use Photoshop and love it, I do not see how you can use paint.

Yeah I will always have time for the net and making my footy DVDs and jumper designs is what I love so I will always have time to create the guernseys. Even if takes forever to set up completely, a year or more. It means it will be complete and up to date without the rush

Yeah I'd rather take it slow without any rush and make sure we have the intricacies of the design correct. Also GG if you're reading this mate, it would probably be a good idea to move the last 10 or so posts to a new thread :thumbsu:

Gibby, I am all in for it and there will be a few comlications needed to figure out. Colours, templates, apparel collars etc and clear differences from year to year. Also the fonts and positioning of most.

For those wondering what this is – I recently re-considered the creation of a footyjumpers.com, A-League style. I know there's now www.aussiekits.com but the kits there are of poor image quality and there's plenty missing.

With the talent on this board and the relatively comprehensive news coverage of the A-League over its history, I reckon this'd be pretty achievable.

Who wants in?

lmach NM Design E92_ craegus Essee Cross Silent Alarm CAB12 Andonis1997 Smeagle etc etc

We'll obviously need lots of solid photographic evidence but for now I just want to start with compiling the sponsors so we can get to building a database of images that we need. For some reason I started with Perth Glory, if anyone's particularly familiar with them then let me know if I got anything wrong.

PERTH GLORY KIT GUIDE

2005-06
Home kit: Purple with orange and white trim, purple shorts, purple socks
Away kit: White with purple and orange trim, white shorts, white socks
Manufacturer: Reebok

Home/Away Kit
Front sponsor: Western QBE
Back sponsor: Chicken Treat
Sleeve sponsor: SmokeFree WA
Front shorts sponsor: Western QBE
Back shorts sponsor: Foxtel Digital

2006-07

Home/Away Kit
Front sponsor: Western QBE (from Rd 18 onwards)
Back sponsor: none
Sleeve sponsor: none
Front shorts sponsor: none
Back shorts sponsor: Foxtel Digital

2007-08

Home/Away Kit
Front sponsor: Western QBE
Back sponsor: Delong Holdings
Sleeve sponsor: 6PR 882
Back shorts sponsor: Nobel

2008-09

Home/Away Kit
Front sponsor: QBE Insurance
Back sponsor: Kurv.
Back shorts sponsor: none

2009-10
Home kit: Purple with white stripes and orange trim, purple shorts, purple socks
Away kit: Grey and white with purple and orange trim, white shorts, white socks

Home/Away Kit
Back sponsor: FEX
Front shorts sponsor: Indian Ocean Capital
Back shorts sponsor: Citigate

2010-11
Home kit: Purple with white stripes and orange trim, purple shorts, purple socks
Away kit: Grey and white with purple and orange trim, white shorts, white socks

Home/Away Kit
Back sponsor: FEX
Front shorts sponsor: Komodo Capital
Back shorts sponsor: Chicken Treat

2011-12
Away kit: White with purple and orange middle stripe, white shorts, white socks
Third kit (Rd 3): Sky blue with white and purple trim, white shorts, sky blue socks
Manufacturer: Blades

Home/Away Kit
Back sponsor: Hyperion Energy
Sleeve sponsor: none
Front shorts sponsor: Europcar

2012-13
Manufacturer: Blades

Home/Away Kit
Back sponsor: Stellar Securities
Sleeve sponsor: Clough

2013-14
Home kit: Purple with light purple stripes, purple shorts, purple socks
Manufacturer: Macron

Home/Away Kit
Back sponsor: LiveLighter
Sleeve sponsor: Clough
Back shorts sponsor: ORH Engineering

Perth goalkeepers kits

2005-06 PS – grey with black trim, black shorts, black socks
2005-06 PS – pink with purple sleeves, back shorts, black socks
2005-06 PS – black with grey sleeves, black shorts, black socks
2005-06 – black with white trim, black shorts, black socks
2005-06 – dark green with black sleeves, black shorts, black socks

2006-07 – black with white trim, black shorts, black socks

2007-08 – black with white trim, black shorts, black socks

2008-09 – black with white trim, black shorts, black socks
2008-09 – orange with black sleeves, black shorts, black socks

2009-10 – black, black shorts, black socks
2009-10 – green with black sleeves, black shorts, black socks
2009-10 – orange with black sleeves, black shorts, black socks

2010-11 – grey with black sleeves, black shorts, black socks
2010-11 – orange with black sleeves, black shorts, black socks
2010-11 – blue with black sleeves, black shorts, black socks

2011-12 – green with black trim, black shorts, black socks
2011-12 – red with black trim, black shorts, red socks
2011-12 – blue with black trim, black shorts, black socks

2012-13 – black with grey trim, black shorts, black socks
2012-13 – red with black trim, red shorts, red socks
2012-13 – green with black trim, green shorts, green socks

2013-14 – blue with white sleeves, blue shorts, blue socks

Just thinking out loud/getting stuff down for future reference here. Places I've found are good sources for historical images of a decent resolution:

Zimbio (all the last few seasons in HQ)
Newsphotos (stuff published in the papers for the last decade)
Getty Images (huge amount of photos dating back to NSL era)

Perth goalkeepers kits

2005-06 PS – grey with black trim, black shorts, black socks
2005-06 PS – pink with purple sleeves, back shorts, black socks
2005-06 PS – black with grey sleeves, black shorts, black socks
2005-06 – black with white trim, black shorts, black socks
2005-06 – dark green with black sleeves, black shorts, black socks

2006-07 – black with white trim, black shorts, black socks

2007-08 – black with white trim, black shorts, black socks

2008-09 – black with white trim, black shorts, black socks
2008-09 – orange with black sleeves, black shorts, black socks

2009-10 – black, black shorts, black socks
2009-10 – green with black sleeves, black shorts, black socks