Sacramento Kings
...that we will end up without a decent ruckman out of this draft :(

There is no footy so I thought it might be fun to play the recruiting manager:p. Honestly, there are 4 genuine ruck prospects in this year's draft so unless we pick one with pick 8 (unlikely unless Wood is there) we will have to wait until pick 24 to get one. By that time I am afraid that the 4 genuine prospects will be gone. Richmond, Hawthorn, Western Bulldogs, Carlton, St. Kilda and Port Adelaide will be looking for ruckman along with us.

There are 4 players that will most likely go top 15 in Wood, DeLuca and Meesen. Maric is a genuine chance of going in the first round as well. I feel that there is a very possible scenario where Richmond, Hawks and Doggies will go for a ruckman early. That leaves Maric and with St. Kilda (1) and Port (2) having picks before our 2nd round pick, I very much doubt whether he will be available with pick 24:(

I just get this feeling that if we don't pick up a ruckman with pick 8, we will end up either empty handed or with an ordinary ruckman later in the draft.

Discuss

Stiffy_18 said:

There is no footy so I thought it might be fun to play the recruiting manager:p. Honestly, there are 4 genuine ruck prospects in this year's draft so unless we pick one with pick 8 (unlikely unless Wood is there) we will have to wait until pick 24 to get one. By that time I am afraid that the 4 genuine prospects will be gone. Richmond, Hawthorn, Western Bulldogs, Carlton, St. Kilda and Port Adelaide will be looking for ruckman along with us.

There are 4 players that will most likely go top 15 in Wood, DeLuca and Meesen. Maric is a genuine chance of going in the first round as well. I feel that there is a very possible scenario where Richmond, Hawks and Doggies will go for a ruckman early. That leaves Maric and with St. Kilda (1) and Port (2) having picks before our 2nd round pick, I very much doubt whether he will be available with pick 24:(

I just get this feeling that if we don't pick up a ruckman with pick 8, we will end up either empty handed or with an ordinary ruckman later in the draft.

Discuss
We can always use pick 8 on a ruckman... it will just be a risk what about meeson? is he any good? he came in the top 10 in the time trial which is superb for a 200cm man

Stiffy_18 said:

Discuss

If Monfries and Wood are available at pick 8, I would take Monfries. Wood looks okay but very raw. Whereas, it is quite obvious that Monfries is going to be very good. I don't think we can afford to take the risk of maybe wasting pick 8 on a player who just looks okay and maybe a star over a player who already looks like he will definately be a star.

If there is a ruckman left at pick 24 then I would grab him. Maybe we could rookie list a couple like we did with Andrews, who IMO, looks a promising young player.

Wouldn't another pick in the fist 20 be nice.

SpringChoke said:
If Monfries and Wood are available at pick 8, I would take Monfries. Wood looks okay but very raw. Whereas, it is quite obvious that Monfries is going to be very good. I don't think we can afford to take the risk of maybe wasting pick 8 on a player who just looks okay and maybe a star over a player who already looks like he will definately be a star.

If there is a ruckman left at pick 24 then I would grab him. Maybe we could rookie list a couple like we did with Andrews, who IMO, looks a promising young player.

Wouldn't another pick in the fist 20 be nice.
I think you are being WAY too harsh on Wood. I have watched this kid make his SANFL debut and I was pretty impressed with him. The kid is a genuine ruckman and all this nonsense that he is average is a furfy.

The kid will be a star;)

Rookie listing a ruckman is a lottery. For every success story there is 1000 failures

Stiffy_18 said:

Discuss

Agreed...it comes down to that question..... - what's harder to get - a quality ruckman or a quality midfielder ??
Given that each side would have 3 or 4 ruckmen in their squad and say 10 aspiring midfielders...I would say ruckmen are more scarce.
So I would agree to going for a quality ruckman with pick 8 particularly because we are REALLY going to struggle in 2006 in this area with Clarke retiring and Biglands and Rock not being up to it.
Another argument for selecting a ruckman = at least we came out of the trade period with Thommo.......which sort of makes up for not selecting a midfielder at #8.
I've got my heart set on picking up Angus and co at pick 8 as much as anyone....but I just think things are more dire in the rucking dept at the moment.

Here's a ruckman for you Stiffy: Sam Barnes, Bendigo Pioneers 197cms great leap and is also very useful in the forwardlines, have seen him play on numerous occasions :) He does need to bulk up a bit but has a lot of potential ;)

maccas_no1 said:
Here's a ruckman for you Stiffy: Sam Barnes, Bendigo Pioneers 197cms great leap and is also very useful in the forwardlines, have seen him play on numerous occasions :) He does need to bulk up a bit but has a lot of potential ;)
Sam Barnes
Details:
Club: Sandhurst/Bendigo
DOB: 29 March 1986 Hgt: 189cm Wgt: 86kg
Position: Ruckman/Full Back/Full Forward
Natural Foot: Right

Honours:
Victoria Country 2004 (Emergency)
National Draft Camp 2004

TAC Stats:
2004: 18 games, 8 goals, 14.7 PPG

Strengths: Barnes is a mobile player who can play much taller than 189cm due to his excellent leap and mobility. In fact, he was used in the ruck most of the year by the Pioneers.

Sam can kick off either foot, moves well and can play in a variety of positions. He is capable of finding a fair bit of the football for a tall player.

Weaknesses: The big query with Sam is where he would play. Far too short to ruck, but he hasn't really done enough in a key position, and struggled in the recent All-Stars match in defence.

Footydraft.com comment: Been played out of position may have harmed his chances come draft day. Possible rookie listing unless a club takes a punt on his mobility and leap.

crowsarethebest said:
Sam Barnes
Details:
Club: Sandhurst/Bendigo
DOB: 29 March 1986 Hgt: 189cm Wgt: 86kg
Position: Ruckman/Full Back/Full Forward

Honours:
Victoria Country 2004 (Emergency)
National Draft Camp 2004

TAC Stats:
2004: 18 games, 8 goals, 14.7 PPG

Strengths: Barnes is a mobile player who can play much taller than 189cm due to his excellent leap and mobility. In fact, he was used in the ruck most of the year by the Pioneers.

Sam can kick off either foot, moves well and can play in a variety of positions. He is capable of finding a fair bit of the football for a tall player.

Weaknesses: The big query with Sam is where he would play. Far too short to ruck, but he hasn't really done enough in a key position, and struggled in the recent All-Stars match in defence.

Footydraft.com comment: Been played out of position may have harmed his chances come draft day. Possible rookie listing unless a club takes a punt on his mobility and leap.

pass thanks

stiffy.. im getting the same thinking feeling myself and its a real worry.

Picking a ruckman at 8 would be the smart thing to do! Its where in the next 18months we will be lacking the most, It also takes ruckmen generally longer to develop, hence taking one now you would hope they would be ready by 2006/7. Also trust me Wood will be more of a star then Monfries, he has as good if not better skills than Monfries, and he can pick the ball up below his knees, these are two huge bonuses fora big bloke!

Also in each draft there are normally only a handful of good ruckmen who go in the 1st 20 picks, but there are normally midfielders who go later that turn out to be absolute guns. Thats why we need to pick a ruckman with 8, if its between wood and monfries you go cam wood everyday of the week and twice on sundays!! Honestly picking midfielders with high picks is more of a lottery than picking up a tall, most gun young talls turn out to be stars, not all midfielders do, look at our picks: picoane and williams too absolute hacks. And before anyone mentions Angwin, if that kid had his head in the right spot i think he wouldve dominated at AFL level from what i saw at SANFL level.

so for me its Wood then Monfries then Eckermann in order of who we pick up or maybe even Jordan Lewis.

What about this bloke?

Shane Neaves
Details:
Club: Wallan/Calder
DOB: 11 May 1987 Hgt: 197cm Wgt: 91kg
Position: Ruck

Honours:
National Draft Camp 2004

TAC Stats:
2004: 18 games, 8 goals, 8.3 PPG

Strengths: Neaves is a raw ruckman who received a special exemption to be eligible for this year’s draft. He has a very good leap on him and loves to smash the ball forward at the ruck contest. He is a good mark and a good pick-up for his size.

Shane can also play forward and is pretty good on the lead. His versatility and raw talent means he should be looked at this year rather than waiting until next year.

Weaknesses: Kicking around the ground can be dodgy, and he tends to show glimpses of his possible talent rather than doing it for a full game. Would be a speculative selection at this stage.

Footydraft.com comment: A speculative selection, picking Neaves late in the draft would make sense as a good 2005 in the TAC Cup would see a high draft pick required to secure him. No guarantee to make it but shows promise.

RooDog said:
stiffy.. im getting the same thinking feeling myself and its a real worry.

Picking a ruckman at 8 would be the smart thing to do! Its where in the next 18months we will be lacking the most, It also takes ruckmen generally longer to develop, hence taking one now you would hope they would be ready by 2006/7. Also trust me Wood will be more of a star then Monfries, he has as good if not better skills than Monfries, and he can pick the ball up below his knees, these are two huge bonuses fora big bloke!

Also in each draft there are normally only a handful of good ruckmen who go in the 1st 20 picks, but there are normally midfielders who go later that turn out to be absolute guns. Thats why we need to pick a ruckman with 8, if its between wood and monfries you go cam wood everyday of the week and twice on sundays!! Honestly picking midfielders with high picks is more of a lottery than picking up a tall, most gun young talls turn out to be stars, not all midfielders do, look at our picks: picoane and williams too absolute hacks. And before anyone mentions Angwin, if that kid had his head in the right spot i think he wouldve dominated at AFL level from what i saw at SANFL level.

so for me its Wood then Monfries then Eckermann in order of who we pick up or maybe even Jordan Lewis.
If Cameron Wood is available with pick 8 and we overlook him then IMHO that would be unacceptable

Jars458 said:
What about this bloke?

Shane Neaves
Details:
Club: Wallan/Calder
DOB: 11 May 1987 Hgt: 197cm Wgt: 91kg
Position: Ruck

Honours:
National Draft Camp 2004

TAC Stats:
2004: 18 games, 8 goals, 8.3 PPG

Strengths: Neaves is a raw ruckman who received a special exemption to be eligible for this year’s draft. He has a very good leap on him and loves to smash the ball forward at the ruck contest. He is a good mark and a good pick-up for his size.

Shane can also play forward and is pretty good on the lead. His versatility and raw talent means he should be looked at this year rather than waiting until next year.

Weaknesses: Kicking around the ground can be dodgy, and he tends to show glimpses of his possible talent rather than doing it for a full game. Would be a speculative selection at this stage.

Footydraft.com comment: A speculative selection, picking Neaves late in the draft would make sense as a good 2005 in the TAC Cup would see a high draft pick required to secure him. No guarantee to make it but shows promise.
I'd take him. Bottom age player who can spend the year in the U19s in SANFL developing. Definetly worth a punt:)

Stiffy_18 said:
If Cameron Wood is available with pick 8 and we overlook him then IMHO that would be unacceptable

I think you might be right as there should be a suitable midfielder avialable at pick 24.

Wood probably won't be there though so its not an issue.

Some chance Marjic will make it to 24 anyway as he has in GoaldenHawk's draft.

Hi everyone

My name is Todd Manton and it is an honour to join this forum. Just a quick question about Cameron Wood. Does he have the physical development in him to be able to match it with the big fellas of AFL? He is pencil thin and I cannot see where he is able to put on enough muscle, any thoughts?

Cheers

SpringChoke said:
Just of interest Stiff, how many games did Woods play for Westies this year? I only saw his debut.
I think he played a couple. Monfries has played more senior footy but lets not forget that ruckman take longer to develop than midfilders. The fact that Wood made a league debut at the age of 17 is pretty impressive IMHO.

crowsarethebest said:
I've been told he has great skills, what about his rucking stuff and moblility??
Good at ruckwork, very agile and has a bit of pace. Mobile ruckman but he is thin like a pencil. He is 203 cm / 86 kg so he will need a few pre-seasons in the gym before he is ready.

Manton said:
Hi everyone

My name is Todd Manton and it is an honour to join this forum. Just a quick question about Cameron Wood. Does he have the physical development in him to be able to match it with the big fellas of AFL? He is pencil thin and I cannot see where he is able to put on enough muscle, any thoughts?

Cheers

Welcome mate. Just a quick heads up, I wouldn't go giving your full name when your on the main board.

Stiff said he is only 17 so he has plenty of time to bulk up.

Stiffy_18 said:
I think he played a couple. Monfries has played more senior footy but lets not forget that ruckman take longer to develop than midfilders. The fact that Wood made a league debut at the age of 17 is pretty impressive IMHO.

What's he like overhead. It would be nice to have a ruckman that could take a pack mark.

SpringChoke said:
Welcome mate. Just a quick heads up, I wouldn't go giving your full name when your on the main board.

Stiff said he is only 17 so he has plenty of time to bulk up.

Cheers for that, rookie mistake.