I love Adam Selwood

Total Package said:
That is all.... this kid is all class....I dont think I have ever seen him play a bad game... and he just oozes class in the midfield.

I am beginning to have doubts about you Frank! :eek: Selwood was always going to be a good player and now he is over his OP should be a major contributor this year. Woosha was talking him up earlier in the week and said that he will probably slot into the midfield this year, a big ask considering the talent we have in there at the moment.

I don't think he'll ever be a regular long term player for the Eagles. There was a lot of hype about Butler last year which I think was over warranted and I rate Butler in front of Selwood.

We're going to have to trade a few at the end of this year a la Callum Chambers.

For a side who never really bottomed out, even during the Judge era, we have managed to recruit some exceptional talent over the last 3-4 years. It would be something special to go on and win a premiership with this current squad because we will have achieved it on our owm merits, and not because of the benefits of the socialist system that is the AFL draft.

Eagles4Eva said:
For a side who never really bottomed out, even during the Judge era, we have managed to recruit some exceptional talent over the last 3-4 years. It would be something special to go on and win a premiership with this current squad because we will have achieved it on our owm merits, and not because of the benefits of the socialist system that is the AFL draft.
I'd say we bottomed out with Judge. We didn't win a spoon, but we did get a priority and that landed us Sampi.

But you are quite correct in saying we have done it on our own merits - as in we haven't need 4-5 years near the bottom to stack our list. The proof will end up being in the pudding though - we might come up short like Collingwood and end up in no man's land again.

bunsen burner said:
I don't think he'll ever be a regular long term player for the Eagles. There was a lot of hype about Butler last year which I think was over warranted and I rate Butler in front of Selwood.

We're going to have to trade a few at the end of this year a la Callum Chambers.
You are the most negative Eagles supporter I have ever met..... you cannot be serious.... Selwood not a regular long term player? and you think Butler is overhyped???? you've probably picked the 2 classiest young players we have on our list. Believe me.. Adam Selwood will be around a very very long time.... and there are a fair few players that would be traded before he ever did.

Total Package said:
You are the most negative Eagles supporter I have ever met..... you cannot be serious.... Selwood not a regular long term player? and you think Butler is overhyped???? you've probably picked the 2 classiest young players we have on our list. Believe me.. Adam Selwood will be around a very very long time.... and there are a fair few players that would be traded before he ever did.
Let's wait and see. Picking future players etc is hard and I certainly could be wrong here, but feel free to go have a look at my past calls on BF. I'm well in front of most - definitely you included.

i.e. go have a look at what I said about Jako and the captaincy, re drafting Judd in front of Polak, re Fletcher stepping up, re building our team around a midfield, re Beau Waters being a class act etc.

I think you'll find I'm at the better end of the scale when it come to talking footy amongst the WCE posters on BF - particularly the newer ones.

And Franky Boy - I do rate these players, but have a look at how many midfielders we have. We are going to have to trade someone and Cousins, Judd, Kerr, Stenglein, and Embley are not at the front of the queue.

Do you really think these guys will want to hang around if they know they can get a game week in, week out somewhere else? Sure, they might step up. One just might be a Stevie Power, but also might be a Notting, Gram, or Shattock.

selly can certainly find the footy but he can have so-so disposal at times. i rate him, but i rate butler higher. sam always hits targets. they will probly be competing for the same spot in the midfield along with mcconnell.

Ok, lets cut the talk and put pen to paper.
BB and Total Package please both give your opinion on your best 22 and your emergencies (4) as you are both disagreeing with each other. It will be interesting to see the differences
For me i highly rate butler and believe himself and waters will provide a depth of skill for the team. Selwood, well he's a classy player but still hasnt proven himself in the big league, played well in wizard cups before but what about Rd 1?
Thoughts BB and Total? I also would like The Orange Apple, and Sydney Eagle to give their opinion on our best 26 - all four are regular posters, cheers mates :cool:

Regard Eagle_Eye_Dim, from bunbury

Eagle_Eye_Dim said:
Ok, lets cut the talk and put pen to paper.
BB and Total Package please both give your opinion on your best 22 and your emergencies (4) as you are both disagreeing with each other. It will be interesting to see the differences
For me i highly rate butler and believe himself and waters will provide a depth of skill for the team. Selwood, well he's a classy player but still hasnt proven himself in the big league, played well in wizard cups before but what about Rd 1?
Thoughts BB and Total? I also would like The Orange Apple, and Sydney Eagle to give their opinion on our best 26 - all four are regular posters, cheers mates :cool:

Regard Eagle_Eye_Dim, from bunbury

Back: Wirrpunda Glass Chick
Half Back: Waters Staker Stenglein
Centre: Embley Judd Kerr
Half Forward: Butler Gardiner R Jones
Forward: Sampi McDougall Matera

Ruck: Cox, Cousins, Fletcher
Interchange: Lynch, Braun, Seaby, Banfield
Emergency: Wooden, Selwood, Hunter, Nicoski

Just miss out: Adkins, B Jones, Hansen, McConnell, Green

Little Chance this year: M Embley (This kid will be a star),Morton, Rosa, Gaspar (if fit will be in best 18), Le Cras.

Delisted next year: Humm, Beeck

As you can see..... with a 100% fit squad.. we have so many players its impossible to fit them all in... obviously if a big guy or 2 gets injured then guys like Hansen will get in ahead of smaller players. I can honestly say there is probably only 1 player on our list... Zach Beeck who is not up to playing AFL this year.... every other player could slot in.

Total Package said:
Back: Wirrpunda Glass Chick
Half Back: Waters Staker Stenglein
Centre: Embley Judd Kerr
Half Forward: Butler Gardiner R Jones
Forward: Sampi McDougall Matera

Ruck: Cox, Cousins, Fletcher
Interchange: Lynch, Braun, Seaby, Banfield
Emergency: Wooden, Selwood, Hunter, Nicoski

Just miss out: Adkins, B Jones, Hansen, McConnell, Green

Little Chance this year: M Embley (This kid will be a star),Morton, Rosa, Gaspar (if fit will be in best 18), Le Cras.

Delisted next year: Humm, Beeck

As you can see..... with a 100% fit squad.. we have so many players its impossible to fit them all in... obviously if a big guy or 2 gets injured then guys like Hansen will get in ahead of smaller players. I can honestly say there is probably only 1 player on our list... Zach Beeck who is not up to playing AFL this year.... every other player could slot in.

Now I probably don't rate the squad as highly as you but when you go through the side there we run about 27 deep with players that would have a claim right now on a best 22 spot. That's a good sign I guess. Personally, I'd have Hunter and Wooden in the best 22 for sure, but I'm not sure at who's expense to be honest - obviously though there will be injuries and that 22 will never line up but at least we've got some mid range player depth to cover for the flankers and midfielders.

Eagles4Eva said:

2000 and 2001 were about as bottomed-out as you can get.

Black JuJu said:
His play in the 2nd half of last year was excellent and reflected in his strong B&F showing. As unfashionable as he is, I'd say he's in Woosha's plans.

I've got to agree here, I've grown to like Wooden a lot when previously, not too long ago, I thought we should try and trade him. I'd find a spot for him on the bench at least.

I rate Bunnings but also have queries over his disposal. Whether that is linked to his interrupted pre-season or whether it is a long term problem, only time will tell.

Oh and also, Rowan Jones is not in my best 22. Hunter, Wooden and McConnell would have to be ahead of him.

B: Wirrpunda Glass Chick
HB: Waters Staker Hunter
C: Stenglein Judd Kerr
HF: Embley Gardiner Sampi
F: R Jones McDougall Matera

R: Cox, Cousins, Fletcher
IC: Lynch, Braun, Seaby, Banfield
Emergency: Butler, Wooden, Hansen, Nicoski

Something like that, give or take. It all depends on opposition, weather, form etc. Cox and Seaby could quite easily change in a forward pocket leaving a midfield Cousins, Fletcher, Judd, Kerr, Stenglein, Braun, and Embley to rotate through interchange. I can't see any of these players being dropped so it will be very hard for Selwood to get a regular spot. Injury is his best chance. Sampi and Waters are others who could get a run in the midfield if we're not firing.

Milenko said:
I rate Bunnings but also have queries over his disposal. Whether that is linked to his interrupted pre-season or whether it is a long term problem, only time will tell.

Oh and also, Rowan Jones is not in my best 22. Hunter, Wooden and McConnell would have to be ahead of him.

McConnell ahead of Rowan Jones, surely not.. :rolleyes:

94_Eagles said:
2000 and 2001 were about as bottomed-out as you can get.

do i need to run through the dockers and saints records of bottoming out? they both had extremely lean periods with awesome draft picks as a result. 3rd last and 5th last isnt that bad a 'bottoming out' period IMO.

FB: Chick Glass Wirra
HB:Stenglien Lynch Waters
C: Braun Fletcher Kerr
HF: Embley Staker Sampi
FF: Gardiner McDougall Matera

Ruck: Cox Judd Cousins

I/C: Butler, Hunter, Banfield, Seaby

EMG: Hansen Wooden Jones

geez thats tough work, some pretty handy players missing. just afew notes;

> personally, i prefer staker as a forward. i just think he is a natural forward and it makes the most of his best attributes. consequently, i have lynchy at CHB. obviously, that will depend alot on matchups. if the CHF is too agile then hunter can come in.

> gardy wont play significant amounts of time at CHF. woosh said that and dont imagine he will have the fitness to play a full game their until round 10.

> joshy wooden is very stiff. i rate josh but hunters height and banfields experience kept him out. i would have really like to have him in the side and i think he will take butlers spot for round one because sam wont have the match fitness or form.

> gasper would be in there if fit.

> stenglein wont play much HBF but where else do u put him?

theorangeapple said:
FB: Chick Glass Wirra
HB:Stenglien Lynch Waters
C: Braun Fletcher Kerr
HF: Embley Staker Sampi
FF: Gardiner McDougall Matera

Ruck: Cox Judd Cousins

I/C: Butler, Hunter, Banfield, Seaby

EMG: Hansen Wooden Jones

Good team. I'd be surprised if it was any different come rd1, assuming no injuries. That said, CHF and CHB still look very iffy.

i think the combination of hunter, staker and lynch are fine at CHB. while one might not have the attributes to play any CHF in the comp (lynch is too slow for riewoldt, staks is too slight for brown) between them they have everything. and the good news is, if the first choice youngen (lynch or staker) isnt doing that great, hunter can replace them and perform consistently well. the combination of the three will work out fine, i reckon. for that reason, id like to see all three get a game each week. unfortuntely this creates a further problem with selection, although lynch and staks having the ability to play forward, especially in a third tall forward role, makes their selection easier.

it will be interesting to see how woosh and these boys take on the very tough task of CHB week to week. their performance is very important to our season performance.