Autopsy "I remember when"

I remember when teddy used to commentate on k rock. I'd tune in every week to listen. Loved the song they made: the k rock commentary team. Wonder if k rock still have it. Loved teddy!

I twice rang up to talk to Mr Football as a six-year-old.

I can remember going to a Footscray v Geelong game at the Western Oval in 1980 - i was allways intrigued by their ground - youd go past it coming back from holidays ( public holiday ) and you could see and hear the crowd -and players as you sailed past - plus their grandstand/terraces seemed to overhang the road - there was a ramp - to the left - i allways wanted to drive down it - but never did

In the seconds ( there was feck all there) the ball went near Rough Robbie McGhie ( who was on his last legs)-and this old Scrays supporter yeld out at the top of his voice - Thats yours " Bones " - jeez it was funny

Plus at half time ( Geelong were a mile in front) Billy Goggin (who had previously coached the dogs -and had left in iffy circumstances) was walking across the ground - from that coaches box he had built - and as Billy approached the race - a few of the Footscray supporters ( who had worked out street smart Billy) were yelling out -" lets make a deal Billy"

Football had everything in those days
On a visit to Melbourne - Take the off-ramp some day and head straight along the road over Barkley St, Ballarat Rd, and on to Highpoint. Stay right of Highpoint along the river road 'til you reach a T-section with traffic lights @ Maribyrnong Rd. Turn right into Maribyrnong Rd and you will see a bridge just ahead. Go left at the bridge entrance and you are pretty much in the Angler's Tavern car park. Great little watering hole right on the river. http://www.anglers-tavern.com.au/

Luke Darcy's folks had the place for some time. May still run it today, I'm not so sure since moving out of the area (plus I make wise cracks elsewhere here, but don't actually hit the plonk).

• The police horses used to come on to the ground to escort the umpires off. They used to do laps of the ground and kids got to pat them (the horses not the umpires.)
  • The St Augustines Boys band used to play at half time.
  • Lining up outside the ground waiting for the gates to open at 11:00, then running like mad cushions under my arm to get a good seat and spreading out and holding seats, waiting for the rest of my family to catch up.
  • Listening to the Graham Farmer Football Show on 3GL.
  • Making sandwiches the night before and taking a thermos of coffee. I wasn't allowed to drink coffee any other time. I've never tasted coffee like it since.
  • Getting to finals matches early to see the thirds (under 19s) and seconds play. Geelong usually had a team in one of these as well as the main game.
  • Always buying series tickets for the finals because we were so sure we would play in a number of games (we did in 1967) and announcing the rest were for sale if we went out in the first semi (that happened a few times too.) They were sold in seconds.
  • A TV show where players dressed up and did comedy skits, sang or mimed to music and generally made fools of themselves. I went to the Geelong West town hall to see it live when Geelong were featured. There was a trainer who could really sing. George? He sang "Some Enchanted Evening." The rest were woeful but we loved it.
  • Anyone could go along to Kardinia Park to see the Best and Fairest votes being counted. It was free and you didn't need to dress up. I was amazed that so few supporter knew about it and turned up. I was there when Denis Marshall got up and said that there was only one football team he wanted to play for and that was Geelong etc. to massive applause. Then a few days later on World of Sport he said he hadn't made up his mind what he was going to do. Within a short time he had left and gone back west. I never liked him after that.
Strange I can remember these things so clearly but still regularly forget where I put my car keys.

I twice rang up to talk to Mr Football as a six-year-old.
I can remember ringing him after we lost the semi against Hawthorn in 91.

But one of my mates once rang and said something like "I'll bet you $100 that Geelong don't make the finals"

The call ended but a while later they were calling my mate back to get the bet on.
This mate was a lot younger than me (I played cricket with him) I think he was only 16.
His parents then complained to the station and Ted had to make an on air apology to him.

I think that 16 year old now writes pretty much all the race form you read in best bets.

• The police horses used to come on to the ground to escort the umpires off. They used to do laps of the ground and kids got to pat them (the horses not the umpires.)
  • The St Augustines Boys band used to play at half time.
  • Lining up outside the ground waiting for the gates to open at 11:00, then running like mad cushions under my arm to get a good seat and spreading out and holding seats, waiting for the rest of my family to catch up.
  • Listening to the Graham Farmer Football Show on 3GL.
  • Making sandwiches the night before and taking a thermos of coffee. I wasn't allowed to drink coffee any other time. I've never tasted coffee like it since.
  • Getting to finals matches early to see the thirds (under 19s) and seconds play. Geelong usually had a team in one of these as well as the main game.
  • Always buying series tickets for the finals because we were so sure we would play in a number of games (we did in 1967) and announcing the rest were for sale if we went out in the first semi (that happened a few times too.) They were sold in seconds.
  • A TV show where players dressed up and did comedy skits, sang or mimed to music and generally made fools of themselves. I went to the Geelong West town hall to see it live when Geelong were featured. There was a trainer who could really sing. George? He sang "Some Enchanted Evening." The rest were woeful but we loved it.
  • Anyone could go along to Kardinia Park to see the Best and Fairest votes being counted. It was free and you didn't need to dress up. I was amazed that so few supporter knew about it and turned up. I was there when Denis Marshall got up and said that there was only one football team he wanted to play for and that was Geelong etc. to massive applause. Then a few days later on World of Sport he said he hadn't made up his mind what he was going to do. Within a short time he had left and gone back west. I never liked him after that.
Strange I can remember these things so clearly but still regularly forget where I put my car keys.

George Clarke.
You bring back even more memories, you must be at least my vintage

I remember when pies were boiling hot and the arse always fell out of them

Ah the boiling hot Pies, i remember sitting on the top deck of the Western stand at the G when my premiership spoiled Richmond friend returned to his seat at the front with a couple of Pies. These were the days when the Tigers won a lot so he was quite excitable, i knew instantly that taking a bite from my pie could cause 3rd degree burns to my lips so i let it settle on my lap for a while. Another Tigers goal saw my friend jump from his seat, lose balance and along with it his pie went over the edge right smack onto the head of a George Costanza look a like one deck below. The poor bastard was scolded, so were we when the constabulary turned up a few minutes later, luckily other people near us corroborated our story that it was an accident. The result of the game? The Cats gave the Tigers a towel up in one of the best games of the 1980 season. I think Michael Turner got goal of the year in this game?

Those pies were ridiculously hot.
I'm not even sure how you can get a pie that hot.

For people that never had one, imagine putting a pie in a microwave until it's cooked and then hit it with another 3 minutes.

As a 10 year old I couldn't control them because they broke apart so easily. It was an absolute certainty that the meat would spill over and burn your fingers every single time.

I still have a lisp from the numbness created by the 3rd degree burn i got from one of those pies….

Go Catters

Those pies were ridiculously hot.
I'm not even sure how you can get a pie that hot.

For people that never had one, imagine putting a pie in a microwave until it's cooked and then hit it with another 3 minutes.

As a 10 year old I couldn't control them because they broke apart so easily. It was an absolute certainty that the meat would spill over and burn your fingers every single time.

Not as hot as the Maccas Apple Pies back in 70s - "Hotter than the sun!!!" as Alan Partridge would say. Pretty sure they were sued by someone for loss of tongue.

I remember Point of View, Bob Santamaria, on in the background, while we waited for the roast to evolve, and World of Sport.
Compulsory Sunday TV viewing was WOS.

I remember as kids that we used to muck with the contrast/brightness on the old black and white TV, until all that could be seen was the shine on Bob's head moving up and down as he nodded incessantly when he spoke.

Here's a tip for home if ya Fancy a couple of pies in a hurry watching the footy,microwave the crap out of them, then bung them in the freezer for 1 minute,no sogginess but still burn the crap out of ya hot bellissimo.

Nah, two minutes in the microwave and then under a grill for a minute or so. Crisps up the pastry juuuuuuust fine. Leave to cool for a bit and she's apples:thumbsu:

I remember when Jason Snell did his knee, horrible day.

I remember when you used to be able to go up to the huddle at qtr/3qtr time of pre season matches.

On a slightly unrelated note, I remember when all of Waurn Ponds and most of Grovedale was paddocks.

Does anyone remember Harry Beitzel coming down to Geelong to umpire an off season game?
I have vague memories of him being there, and some race between Goggin and Polinelli. I'm probably merging memories now, but I'm glad I still have them.

Shows how good my memory is

It was his last ever game. Many years ago now.
He was stretchered off.
It wasn't that far from his knee.

We were there, and I do remember Buddha actually reducing his ankle , by applying some appropriate traction, or am I really confabulating?

I met Jason Snell at a Mel Cats function at the G when we played Hawthorn last year. He was M.C. and Moons and Max spoke. Jason had a chat with my brother and I and bought me some beers. He seemed a really nice genuine bloke.

I met jason when he was just trying to get back.
It was in the medallion club, and I knew he was done. The guy could hardly walk.

One of the biggest injuries the league has seen.
Equivalent to doing a knee in 1970.

I met Jason Snell at a Mel Cats function at the G when we played Hawthorn last year. He was M.C. and Moons and Max spoke. Jason had a chat with my brother and I and bought me some beers. He seemed a really nice genuine bloke.

Great man and a really good family. He is highly regarded by all those from Upwey, like their most famous person, and given the paucity of footy he's played, it's really a tribute to what he's done since then, and, dare I say it, the way he's gone about it.
Another great Eastern Ranges kid too, I might add.