stokesy

Well, it wouldn't bother me if we did lose this weekend.

There is a large part of the selfish me that want's to see Carlton play a game of football at Princes Park again.

If we lose, we will play St Kilda at the great ground next Friday afternoon.

Last week me and a mate drove down from Ballarat to watch St Kilda and Collingwood at Princes Park and it was great. I didn't give a toss about the game, but to sit on the wooden seats, look around and remember the great times of being a kid at the ground was magic.

I also enjoyed reading little messages written on the fence by the Carlton cheersquad "I love Ang", "Kouta is a star" etc etc.

I'm actually somewhat excited that we could be playing St Kilda at Princes Park, albiet a practice match.

If we lost, you can't tell me all of the die hard supporters wouldn't be looking forward to playing at Princes Park.

If Carlton promoted the hell out of it we could nearly get a crowd of 10,000. Would be sensational atmosphere.

If we win this weekend though, I'll be just as happy.

I can certainly appreciate your logic there Stokesy, but winning form is good form, and a winning habit around the Carlton Footy Club would be even better.

Even though there has been a certain "stigma" attached to winning the pre-season cup, for quite a few of our kids it would just be the tonic they need to really step up again in 2007.

We know that North will be going flat out to win, and while I'd like us to come out on top in any contest of wills I keep reminding myself that round one is more important than the methadone cup. OTOH, giving kids a chance to play in pressure finals (even a pseudo one) is good for their growth.

I think North will have the edge, but then I didn't expect to get over Hawthorn last week either.

I'll move on very quickly if we lose tomorrow night, and hope that the prize money finds a good home at Arden Street. If we win, I'll celebrate as loudly as anyone else and look forward to the GF. As long as we have no injuries, it's all good.

Its a win - win situation.

If we win, we get the boost to membership, more prime time exposure, hopefully a local final, and that "winning culture" instilled in some young kids.

If we lose, then we will no doubt give the likes of Hampson, Grigg, Anderson, Hartlett, Edwards a run, which would be great as well.

No downside ATM :thumbsu:

(Other than the dreaded injuries..........stay away......:( )

ummm, i think id rather be sitting on a plastic seat at Telstra Dome on Saturday night watching the Blues play...

if we did lose, i'd definitely be at PP next friday arvo

I'd love to be able to make it (should be lose), but work committments wont let me make it. It is for this reason that I really want us to win tomorrow night and make it to the GF.

One thing to note is that Brady Rawlings won't be playing, which means Nick Stevens will probably be tagged by Firrito, which will be quite a bit easier than being tagged by Rawlings.

yeah, but remember, just because we make the GF, doesnt mean it will be played at the Dome. We have to have kicked the most goals

There is a large part of the selfish me that want's to see Carlton play a game of football at Princes Park again.

Last week me and a mate drove down from Ballarat to watch St Kilda and Collingwood at Princes Park and it was great. I didn't give a toss about the game, but to sit on the wooden seats, look around and remember the great times of being a kid at the ground was magic.

I also enjoyed reading little messages written on the fence by the Carlton cheersquad "I love Ang", "Kouta is a star" etc etc.

I'm actually somewhat excited that we could be playing St Kilda at Princes Park, albiet a practice match.

If we lost, you can't tell me all of the die hard supporters wouldn't be looking forward to playing at Princes Park.

If Carlton promoted the hell out of it we could nearly get a crowd of 10,000. Would be sensational atmosphere.

with 2 wins up
our sleeves it will be hard to see us loose this week :) 2007 will be our year to make and win the Nab Cub Grand final could be Carlton v Geelong ala 1997 pre season ;) lets send the kangaroos to Princes Park ;)
we've passed 2 tough Games so hopefully it will be a better game blow em away early :thumbsu:
more wins we have the more pressure we'll put on Essendon & Hawthorn and the remaining afl clubs come 2007 home and away season, keep up like this and we'll win alot more then we loose
Hawthorn had a fairly full side like with Essendon both who wanted to win those games ya need to see where your at more then if their one sided games
wish we played freo would be more a test then Kangaroos
least we made to the Semi final better then loosing first rd
when ya make the semi final ya got 50/50 chance to make the Grand final
and please no extra time ;)

going to watch geelong v Brisbane tonight to see who the winner of tomorrow plays
50/50 be all vic grand final

No way.

A win for me please

These boys have not sung the song often, not won many games, i think Jarrad Waite said he's song it about 20 times in his 5 years there.

A win means more confidence, on and off the field.

Lock it in Eddie.

Hi guys a win in my eyes would be further positive news to come out of PP. However, if we do go down, we can say our pre-season we've had with our new fitness coach PAUL FORD has been excellent.

Our pressure being applied in the forward line, and the willingness of our on-ballers to get the tough ball has been exciting.

A win would generate more confidence and embark on the nuturing of a winning culture.

It can only be good for the news boys and our young group of superstars.

GO BLUEBAGGERS

I think its silly to be OK with losing.

I think we should push for every win we can get.

I think our young players need every win we can get.

I think any throwbacks to 2005 and the Wizard Win are stupid because we are a different team now with much greater upside.

I think we should try to win and I hope we do.

Hmmm wel i would love the boys to win....but i will be REALLY P***** off if they do coz i wont be able to make it to the grand final, should it be in melb... (brissy giving the cats a good fight as i type...).... damn cousins 21st in the opposite end of the state... (swan hill) :mad:

I would be disappointed if the lose. Its great experience for young kids playing in front of the crowds and a great way to get the final 22 settled under real game pressure. The money would also be helpful too...when are they going to buy a big projector and install some blinds and some comfy seats at the social club so we can watch the away games on Foxtel in comfort?

Hmmm wel i would love the boys to win....but i will be REALLY P***** off if they do coz i wont be able to make it to the grand final, should it be in melb... (brissy giving the cats a good fight as i type...).... damn cousins 21st in the opposite end of the state... (swan hill) :mad:

I feel your pain. If we win tomorrow night then I will miss my first Melbourne game (if it's played in Melbourne) in 19 years. I'm off to Phuket on Sunday for 2 weeks!!!

There is an awful lot we need to work out, especially in our forward structure.
The pressure of a NAB cup will be more intense on the players and yield a better indication of playing conditions. Want to win. That said, its not the point of the thread, I think everyone here would love to watch a game at prinny park. I'd love to watch a game full stop.

We are on a hiding to nothing every week of the pre-season competition. In the eyes of the media & opposition supporters, everytime we win, it is only the pre-season. If we lose, it will be typical of Carlton & confirmation that we are the worst team (their words, not mine) in the competition. A win this week will be the better outcome for the club, IMO, though.

yes, very true medium. :thumbsd:

I feel your pain. If we win tomorrow night then I will miss my first Melbourne game (if it's played in Melbourne) in 19 years. I'm off to Phuket on Sunday for 2 weeks!!!

hopefully we'll be playing against Brisbane in the nab Grand final and send The Kangaroos to Princes Park :)
they can Play St.Kilda :)

yes, very true medium. :thumbsd:

our side being the worst team what a big Joke i remmeber when st kilda was bottom side for years wonder if their own supporters back then called their side the worst team in the old VFL or fitrzroy
it happens to all sides not just a few

it Won't happen this year we'll have a new tag being one of the best teams in 2007 :thumbsu: to make sure the press can find another side to star sturring up