Intermittent fasting

• Thread starter Thread starter Rave Slave

Having a 'quiet part' of my life at the moment so interested in giving this week up to experimentation and something to do. I'm inspired by estibador 's anecdote about fasting and the only two guys passing a reaction/memory test being those who hadn't eaten the longest – surely we've all had that great/not great feeling? I remember for the last three or so years of high school, I would basically have nothing all day and would walk about 30 minutes home while generally doing at least an hour, hour and a half good exercise for school sport and then would have footy training or soccer probably every day on average. I never actually felt lethargic. I guess it's why the Italians will work all day until about 3pm then put the tools down, have a massive feast, and then spend an hour or so relaxing and essentially dozing off... it's not like you instantly get hit with energy after eating – usually I'm more inclined to sit down and stay on the computer then do something.

Anyway, can't start immediately but after about 9pm tonight I'm going to fast for 24 hours and see how I go; would love to push through for 36.

Also going to give up all alcohol for the night and also see if I can replace my coffee with a few teas every morning – or is this essentially redundant?

Might try and just have a good breakfast/lunch on the Thursday, try to skip dinner, and then push through until 5pm-ish Friday night.

Will be back on the piss Friday night but I want to see how I go. Eat a pretty good diet and it's only gotten better recently so it's not like I'll be compensating over the weekend with heaps of bad food. Interesting to see how my body feels, I respond mentally, and if I drop a few kilos.

Mornings from the UK, just wanted to say that most of the posts have been very informative and I have really enjoyed reading the whole thread.
Here's my background, I am a 41 year old mad Crows supporter and came across this thread accidentally, 173cm & 110kg, very interested in IF for weight loss.
My goals are first to drop to under 100kg and then to 90kg...then to 80kg...i am a pretty solid bloke so even for my height I would be very happy at 80-85kg. I also want to be able to run 5km non stop (I know the weight loss will be a huge challenge).
I spoke to mum a few months ago and she mentioned that several of my cousins in Oz had lost a lot of weight using the 5:2 method. I am recently single and found it pretty easy to do.
What I was doing was inadvertently doing IF - breakfast would be some porridge and berries, followed by a coffee (white, no sugar) and then for lunch I would have some grilled chicken, natural yoghurt and fruit. I wasn't calorie counting but lunch would be done by 13:00 and I wouldn't eat until 08:00 the next day.
I found it pretty easy actually and I did my longest fast yesterday (22 hours) - I was aiming for 24 hours but started feeling light headed at work and caved in.
Where I would appreciate some advice is when to do cardio and would going for a walk/jog (maybe even high intensity in the near future) make me feel light headed without any sugar in my blood? I can be flexible with my eating patterns but have found it great not to have to cook dinner so regularly (generally do this about 3 times a week).
Also, from reading a lot of posts, I seem to eat a lot of carbs (Not too processed) such as the porridge, milk and fruit. Any tips from you more experienced IF'ers.
Thanks again for all the useful knowledge.

Mornings from the UK, just wanted to say that most of the posts have been very informative and I have really enjoyed reading the whole thread.
Here's my background, I am a 41 year old mad Crows supporter and came across this thread accidentally, 173cm & 110kg, very interested in IF for weight loss.
My goals are first to drop to under 100kg and then to 90kg...then to 80kg...i am a pretty solid bloke so even for my height I would be very happy at 80-85kg. I also want to be able to run 5km non stop (I know the weight loss will be a huge challenge).
I spoke to mum a few months ago and she mentioned that several of my cousins in Oz had lost a lot of weight using the 5:2 method. I am recently single and found it pretty easy to do.
What I was doing was inadvertently doing IF - breakfast would be some porridge and berries, followed by a coffee (white, no sugar) and then for lunch I would have some grilled chicken, natural yoghurt and fruit. I wasn't calorie counting but lunch would be done by 13:00 and I wouldn't eat until 08:00 the next day.
I found it pretty easy actually and I did my longest fast yesterday (22 hours) - I was aiming for 24 hours but started feeling light headed at work and caved in.
Where I would appreciate some advice is when to do cardio and would going for a walk/jog (maybe even high intensity in the near future) make me feel light headed without any sugar in my blood? I can be flexible with my eating patterns but have found it great not to have to cook dinner so regularly (generally do this about 3 times a week).
Also, from reading a lot of posts, I seem to eat a lot of carbs (Not too processed) such as the porridge, milk and fruit. Any tips from you more experienced IF'ers.
Thanks again for all the useful knowledge.

Good luck.......my thoughts;

With exercise I'd suggest doing some walking/light intensity cardio before trying high intensity cardio fasted. As you build a fitness base you can increase intensity.

With food; porridge and milk are pretty process carbs but in my opinion as long as don't eat junk food and stick to calorie deficit you will continue to lose weight.

Consistency is key

What counts as breaking your fast ?

Can you have like milk in your coffee ?

Technically consuming any calories will break your fast. Different macros such as fat will have less of an effect than say carbs

What counts as breaking your fast ?

Can you have like milk in your coffee ?
Not saying Berkhan is an oracle on all things fasting but he has a fairly pragmatic approach that works for many people. Here's his take on it

http://www.leangains.com/2009/07/questions-answers.html
So, it's a question of a dose-response effect. Can you have some milk in your coffee? Sure, I wouldn't worry about it and I have it myself. Life would just be too damn boring with only black coffee, especially if you're used to having some milk with it. How much milk/cream? I would put the limit at 50 kcal total used throughout the fast. That's about 1 deciliter or 1/2 cup 2% milk.

Not saying Berkhan is an oracle on all things fasting but he has a fairly pragmatic approach that works for many people. Here's his take on it

http://www.leangains.com/2009/07/questions-answers.html

"So, it's a question of a dose-response effect. Can you have some milk in your coffee? Sure, I wouldn't worry about it and I have it myself. Life would just be too damn boring with only black coffee, especially if you're used to having some milk with it. How much milk/cream? I would put the limit at 50 kcal total used throughout the fast. That's about 1 deciliter or 1/2 cup 2% milk."

In the doco "Eat Fast and Live Longer" Mosley (before he sold out) when talking about the stricter version of the fast also used 50 kcal. From memory had two 25 kcal cup-a-soups a day

I reckon doing a fast like this eliminating lactose all together is a good idea.

In the doco "Eat Fast and Live Longer" Mosley (before he sold out) when talking about the stricter version of the fast also used 50 kcal. From memory had two 25 kcal cup-a-soups a day

I reckon doing a fast like this eliminating lactose all together is a good idea.
Can always use almond milk instead, less cals and no lactose :)

I would only use that much milk in my morning coffee, so if I get rid of the half teaspoon of sugar I can call it fasting until I eat something later?

You can call it fasting but you won't get all the benefits as you would if you didn't consume the calories.

I'm doing one now, read above. Plus they usually go for 3-5 days and muscle loss is so minimal in that time it's not even worth worrying about
Yea that's not strictly water, but anyway it's good enough.

I still want to train and hold as much muscle as possible so I don't think I would fast. Just eat exclusively lean proteins

Yea that's not strictly water, but anyway it's good enough.

I still want to train and hold as much muscle as possible so I don't think I would fast. Just eat exclusively lean proteins
Excluding the 7 kcal poweraid for electrolyte purposes yes it is a water fast, and it can be strongly argued 1.5 kcal per day of coke zero is still a waterfast.

And who said you cannot still train? And as said the muscle loss will be so minimal it's not an issue, and what if any you will loose you will gain back in a few days.

And one point that should be stressed, a strict fast with nothing but 100% water is pointless and inferior to a fast that includes sodium, potassium and magnesium (that's the reason I use poweraid zero to mix the bulk nutrients in, as it dissolves perfect and has no horrid taste)

Anyone done a water fast?

Surely there's no fasting method where you wouldn't lose muscle

If you want to minimise muscle waste around 72 hours is when you went to stop fasting and eat