intraclub practise game

dutchy_rules

just got back from the intraclub practise match tonight from vic park..... yes i finally got my small fill of footy for the first time in the season 2001... of the senior players most were in attendance and at least played some part in the game. Major absentees were croad, rehn, rock, barlow and i didnt see dent.
Always love seeing these intra clubs as you get to see teammate on teammate.... duel of the night would have to have been holland vs hay.... i would have to say hay just shaded dutchy, but was very entertaining to watch. Some great dashes by hay out of defence...forgot how much speed that guy posesses. highlight of the day would have been barkers screamer just before half time and as usual he almost knocked himself out on the way down. Great mark though and really rode his opponent into the ground on the way down... Thought tallis and vandenburg played good games, with new boys greene and ries showing some promise... interesting duel in the ruck - loats vs ofarrell with the latter taking the points and moving quite well. Johnson did well out of the centre continually firing out quick handballs.... should be in for a big year - norwich rising star nominee for sure.
crawford covered his usual game and played the full match... and thompson looked very fit and led well in the first half kicking a few goals and marking strongly. lekkas and smith did enough to suggest they are on the improve and lord was his erratic self... one minute kicking a goal and the next getting run down from behind trying to take on the whole field...to be fair to him, he did play reasonably well though... Most of the key players only played the first half and showed glimpses of what they are capable of , with names like chick, hay, holland, rawlings, thompson, barker and graham all sitting out the second half....finally one name to look at in the future... shane tuck... actually ran down crawford in full flight... not something you see very often and seemed to have a good build for footy..little more solid than his old man was...... good to see some names of the past there to lend a helping hand.... salmon and dunstall were both there and a name from the past... andy gowers was there in the stands watching on....good to see they remember where there home is. Finally, quote of the practise match by a Glen Bowyer "****en punch the bloody ball, dont go for the flashy marks"..... after an adrian cox had tried for another spectacular screamer in his defensive 50m zone for the umpteenth time, once again showing what a great team player he is.......
if ya want to know about anyones form just let us know and i'll try to help you out...

Thank you, thank you,thank you Dutchy.....just posted same topic same time as you.
Great little report.Just a couple of queries.....Changa and Billy Nicholls..did they have a run.
Dont ya just love Glenny Bowyer...the guy has TUFF written all over him !!

-Rico

Hey wicked stuff Dutchy_Rules it's good to have your post match reveiw for those of us living half way around the world-I hope that u can keep this going throughout the season.Much appreciated.

Cheers

Originally posted by ricohawk:
Thank you, thank you,thank you Dutchy.....just posted same topic same time as you.
Great little report.Just a couple of queries.....Changa and Billy Nicholls..did they have a run.
Dont ya just love Glenny Bowyer...the guy has TUFF written all over him !!

-Rico

yeh both played pretty full games....specially changa... on a couple of occasions showed real class... dodging and weaving thru packs and then spearing in a pass laces out..... he looked promising. Billy played a servicable game....wore no. 1 for the yellow team... showed enough in a first hitout and his disposal was on target...probably got about 10 possies for the game.....

Gotta say that Bowyer has gotta be one of my favourite players....like vanders, he attacks the ball full on and has the right spirit to play footy....even tonight he showed plenty of moments of emotion that fans love to see..... he will really inspire the team in the coming years i reckon....could become a great leader.....
By the way cox deserved every bit of the blast.... always trys to do too much himself and i think our glenny had just had enough of it........

no worries dipper as long as people want to read reviews i have no problem writing them.... By the way one player to really look out for this year is radar tallis.....
Seemed to have taken on a greater leadership role this year already....seemed to do a lot of the talking out there and has really grown as a player in just one season......
Quick injury update.... chicky came off with a slight soft muscle injury during the 2nd qtr and ran laps once he came off, dutchy rolled an ankle, but i overheard him say it was fine and barker came off with concussion and had an icepack on his right thigh - so it looked like he got a corky....
So all in all a good hitout for the hawks and they came away with no further injuries.

Thanks again Dutchy.
I've got a really high opinion of little Changa....I reckon HE'S our future best bet as a crumbing goalkicker...goes a lot harder than Lordy too...saw a lot of him at BHH last year...dont expect to see as much close up this year !!

I'm not prone to outrageous statements (stupid ones maybe) but I reckon there's more than a touch of one L Matthews about our Glenny.I've watched him play nearly all his games since he came down and I've heard the respect afforded him by none other than our greatest leader (IMHO)....Scotty. I agree he's got LEADER tattood on his scone.

-Rico

Great summation, dutchy_rules. I was there too, and it looked very encouraging overall. ESPECIALLY from Hay, Thompson, Barker, Holland and Bowyer. Rawlings didn't seem on his game, and Graham looked awful for mine. Couldn't get into it at all. But the boys look sharp and hungry, which is a damn sight better than the feel I got from the club this time last year. I remember going to a family day at Glenferrie early last year, and they all looked flat. The only one with any spirit that day was Picioane, and he was carrying an injury.

But this year I'm really confident.

Surprised you didn't see Dent. He was that donkey grazing in the back line wearing 42 for the Browns. He got sconed in the second quarter and went off bleeding from the face.
He came back on later in the match, but I can't recall seeing him do one good thing. He looks slow, too.

Another guy I'm a big wrap for is Osborne (40 for the Yellows). (sorry, that should read Bateman - and see below) He's a strong mark and he kicked a couple of nice goals. And the thing about Cox is that he opens strongly - actually looked the goods for the first quarter - then disappears completely. He made mistake after mistake in the second half. I remember him making a nice interception, and then turning the ball over immediately. I don't think he need be abandoned completely just yet. But he has to learn to give 100 minutes, and to stop and use his brain once in a blue moon .... no, actually I think you're right. He's a hungus.

Flashes of the 99 Crawford. Lots of the 2000 Crawford too. But the indications are he's in for a much bigger season this year. Excellent. I liked Dixon too.

I'm worried about the absence of Barlow and Rock. What do you put that down to?

[This message has been edited by RogerC (edited 10 February 2001).]

Thanks for the reports guys (Rico i missed it too! Damn things like work and kids anyways)
wink.gif

Was really looking forward to getting down there and seeing the session. From reports here sounds good, except for Dent ggrrrrr sorry had to say it.

Has Loats put on any weight? Sounds as though he had the better of BOF in the actual ruck contests, but from jumping or did he body him also (boundary throw ins etc) as that was a weakness for his game last year.

Barlow i thinks still recovering from the wrist clean up he had done. I reckon that would be the reason he missed the game. Rocky ive no idea, maybe cause hes so old now (lol) and there looking after the oldtimers??

Again thanks to those that made it for the reports.

Just think an actual MATCH next week. Oh Joy oh happiness, and no Richo for them either.

Roll on the 2001 Hawk Express.

Carn the Mighty Hawks.

Thanks for the report.
Can I ask a couple of questions pleae?
Firstly Piccioane how did he go
Second with regard to Cox where there was mention of him flying for a mark in the back 1/2 was he playing in defence? Does anyone think throwing him to the wolves as a back pocket where concerntration & discipline are essential not optional might do him good?
3rd question Chance Bateman where did he play & how did he go.

I don't think that Picioane played. He was listed on the team list that was handed out, but the guy in 13, while blonde, didn't look like Lance. I'll stand to be corrected though.

Coxy played on the half back line for most of the time. He was pretty good in the first half, and while he got a bit of the ball thereafter, he made some blues in decision making and disposal. I'd be kind and write it off to early season rustiness, although we all know that he is capable of that.

Chance Bateman was outstanding. All class. Played in the midfield for the Gold team and teamed beautifully with Harf and Woods early on. He was the best player on show for mine, and on that performance would be a certainty to be playing next Sunday.

As for the Great One, he didn't do much except in the second quarter when he made a one-handed pick up in a forward pocket, spun around a tackler and slotted a goal. And he's all ours Judgey! Do you hear?! Ours!!!

------------------
He's blonde, he's quick
He's got a massive ... err ... kick
Danny Chook! Danny Chook!

[This message has been edited by Danny Chook Fan Club (edited 10 February 2001).]

Dutchy Rules, great summation, couldnt get to the game myself coz of work but you made me feel like i saw the whole thing unfold, i was getting goose bumps thinking about all the names you mentioned and what lies ahead for us this season, you just reminded me how many talented new faces could provide us with that extra spark this year. Thanks Dutchy much appreciated.

Oops. That impressive 40 for the Golds WAS Bateman. Sorry about that. Oh, well that changes everything. He's a gun. Automatic selection.

I don't know about Loats. He's improved (but then he always was a better prospect than Rode - glad the right guy got dropped). And he has bulked up a bit too. But he is starting to resemble Strawbs O'Dwyer in looks, (and heaven help us if he EVER plays like him). Not a lot of body work, and still looks a little vulnerable in contested marks. Keeping in mind that he's expected to step into Salmon/Rehn's shoes, and that's a big ask. He'll need a few games at senior level to see how he copes with the pace, as that seems his biggest query for mine. And he has rubber hands; a lot of marks he should have taken bounced out. Memories of Dutchie circa 97-98?

Anyone notice McCabe's dribble across the goal and over the boundary the back line? Vintage McCabe. If he starts doing that sort of thing in the real stuff I'll crucify him.

Cheers.

Originally posted by Danny Chook Fan Club:
I don't think that Picioane played. He was listed on the team list that was handed out, but the guy in 13, while blonde, didn't look like Lance. I'll stand to be corrected though.

Coxy played on the half back line for most of the time. He was pretty good in the first half, and while he got a bit of the ball thereafter, he made some blues in decision making and disposal. I'd be kind and write it off to early season rustiness, although we all know that he is capable of that.

Chance Bateman was outstanding. All class. Played in the midfield for the Gold team and teamed beautifully with Harf and Woods early on. He was the best player on show for mine, and on that performance would be a certainty to be playing next Sunday.

As for the Great One, he didn't do much except in the second quarter when he made a one-handed pick up in a forward pocket, spun around a tackler and slotted a goal. And he's all ours Judgey! Do you hear?! Ours!!!

Have to agree with you there DCFC... i dont think picione played as that 13 from the gold team wasnt him.....
Glad you liked the review Bubbalouis, tried to cover everyone and give a little color...since we wont be able to see the hawks until rd2 of the ansett cup.....
All i can say is that we can come out of the intraclub match yesterday with optimism....there were enough glimpses there to suggest we will be very competitive....our midfield looks better than last year already...plenty more options there... i would suggest at this stage that chance bateman may take smithys role for us...he really is all class and has plenty of improvement left in him.....

i believe that chance bateman was actually no.9 for the gold.... hard to miss since he really stands out and has his own style of play........ not sure who that 40 was for gold..think you said it was osborne...but he kicked a couple and showed enough to suggest he may make it some day...made a nice snap from the forward pocket...

Also have to say that piece of play by daniel chick really stood out...it was vintage chicky as he brushed off a couple of players, grabbed the ball in with the one hand and slotted it thru from the angle....lets face it in these types of matches players like chick, crawfs and dutch dont have to do much...as long as they show glimpses then they will turn it on once the real stuff starts......no point going full bore yet..

And dont worry dcfc....chickys going nowhere....except to the top with all the other hawk boys.... best decision he will ever make to stay with the hawks as the two west australian clubs are going nowhere fast.
Good to see his hair style is catching on with many of the other younger hawks too....looks like theres about 4 or 5 chickys playing for us now.....

One final note worth mentioning is it looks like longer hair is in for the hawkers this year.....most of the players were displaying longer than normal locks for this time of year...

Originally posted by RogerC:
Great summation, dutchy_rules. I was there too, and it looked very encouraging overall. ESPECIALLY from Hay, Thompson, Barker, Holland and Bowyer. Rawlings didn't seem on his game, and Graham looked awful for mine. Couldn't get into it at all.

I think one of the reasons graham may have had a shocker yesterday is that he is tying the knot today....perhaps he had more important things to worry about then footy which unfortunately is something graham has to focus on......

Good, good, good. It's this bloody team sheet. We've got two 40's listed, two 8's for the Brown team (not that I'm going to get Tallis and Johnson mixed up). Thanks for clearing that up, dutchy_rules. Hadn't seen Bateman since round 2 or 3 last year.

That's even better then. Get that Osborne fella off the Rookie list PRONTO. Nobody'd miss Cox if we delisted him. Of course we've had a few pre-season guns in the past - Glenn Nugent for one, and I believe Cox himself. Maybe that's a little premature.

Big thumbs up to all for their reviews of the game. Just what the doctor ordered for those of us who couldn't get there.

It sounds very promising for this year and hopefully the midfielders everyone has mentioned can lift another notch or two on last year. Thrilled to hear about Johnson I hope he adapts well to the seniors this year. Can't wait for the real stuff to get underway. Go Hawks!

Geez plenty of optimism in this thread, my god. By the sounds of the review the hawks are ready to take on Essendon. Good luck to them I say.

I'd just like to congratulate dutchy_rules on an outstanding match review, even I was impressed and I don't follow the Hawks. Good work mate.

TheGlove

Originally posted by TheGlove:
Geez plenty of optimism in this thread, my god. By the sounds of the review the hawks are ready to take on Essendon. Good luck to them I say.

I'd just like to congratulate dutchy_rules on an outstanding match review, even I was impressed and I don't follow the Hawks. Good work mate.

TheGlove

Thanks glove...glad you enjoyed it..did it straight away when i got home so i was still on a high....been a long time between drinks if ya know what i mean....
good news about richo for you anyway..pretty much all clear and dam shame that he will miss our game this week...sounds like you might have a few other senior players like benny out as well.... only ansett cup anyway...
Noticed there was no real review of your match on friday...whats going on over at tigerland... surely some viewers must have gone along for a look...

Tell me about it.... I was very upset that no-one there could give me a bit of a review as to what went on in Sandy on Friday.

The Richo news turned out ok I guess, still he will be out now until Round 1, although I read that Richo thought there was nothing in it and he feels fine. Apparently the club is just being cautious, they have every right to be.

I don't expect Richmond to make it into the Semi's of the Ansett Cup, as you said dutchy_rules, it isn't that important. Just want the players to get out and have a run that's all.

Anyhow, enough of this. People might start htinking this is a Richmond thread....

TheGlove