Is Dan24's finals system right or wrong? VOTE NOW!

Sandie

One thing about soccer boys....considering how they act as if they've been shot if someone even tries to tackle them, I'd love to see how they'd react if they got tackled by Byron Pickett or Tony Libratore, or were on the receiving end of a shirtfron....oops...I meant shepherd from Glenn Archer or Dean Wallis. Thoughts please!

Maybe they could find some sort of hybrid Australian Rules with soccer game and let us play against England.
biggrin.gif
:
eek.gif
biggrin.gif
:

Let's see.....Libba to get that little twerp Owen in a tackle and slam the scouse f***** into the ground.
eek.gif

Shinners
I wouldn't like to be the one to try & come up with the rules for that game. Lol.
For your reply why don't you put it in Cry babies, we've only got 6 to go, let's see how quick we can get to 150.

------------------
Mantis

Westy Boy,

You are a foul mouthed fool. At least I can see both sides of the argument. It is just obvious that my system is so correct that obviously it is the way to go. I don't ignore anyone else, I just believe in myself.

Lets look at Tennis. The main individual glory is winning Wimbledon. That gives the individual more glory than any other event. But the winner doesn't automatically become the number one player in the world, do they. Apparently, you think they should.

World rankings exist for a reason - To determine the best player. The "rankings" in footy are only determined by the finals. You should be able to win TWO premierships, like in soccer. The "real" premiership, by finishing on top AND the season ending knockout tournament (like the FA CUP is the last match of the seaosn), which would culminate with the Grand Final.

Lets look at soccer. ManU have finished top beofre and lost their last match. You said what if this happened to Essendon and they lost by 100 points in their last match ? The "premiership" in soccer, you must understand is not achieved through ONE match. It is achieved through many, many matches over the couse of 6 months. The winner is presented with the premiership After the match in which they secure top spot. NOT AFTER THE LAST MATCH. Understand that. It's very important.

For Essendon, this would have been after Round 19 agaisnt HAWTHORN (not Round 22 against Collingwood). I would have had a trophy presentation after the home and away match (round 19) in which the Bombers secured top spot.

The fans WOULD care about it. Here's why :

The VFL was formed in 1897. Prior to this, it was the VFA. In the VFA, the premiership was decided by finishing on top. This was the traditional way. It is the way it was done in all sports, and in many sports, it still is. When the VFL was formed, they decided to have a Grand Final.

The public accepted the Grand Final, even though it was traditionless. It had no history. They accepted it, just like they accepted top spot prior to it. The VFL gave the recognition to the Grand Final winner instead of the top team. It goes to show theat THE PUBLIC WILL RESPOND TO WHATEVER IS GIVEN RECOGNITION. They responded to top spot initialy, because that was given all the recognition. Then, they respondd to the GF because that was given the recognition.

If the AFL gives something recognition, the public will respond.

I find it stupid that YOU say stuff like "No one cares about top spot"

That is my whole f*ckin point. No one cares BECAUSE there is no recognition given to it. Don't you see that ? How can you not see that ?

I REPEAT : NO ONE CARES BECAUSE THERE IS NO RECOGNITION GIVEN TO IT.

That is why I am campaigning for more recognition to be given to top spot. Then, people will respond, due to the extra kudos that are given to the achievement.

The change back in 1897 to a Grand Final is a great example of how the public will respond to a change, if the new change is given recognition.

Now answer me : 1.) Why would the football public NOT want to see the years best team (i.e the top team) rewarded, rather than being ignored in ADDITION to still having the GF as the last match of the year ? Who wouldn't want that ? And if not, why not ?

2.) Why would the football public NOT want to see 95% of the season mean something ? Currently 95% of the season is meaningless. Why wouldn't they want he H&A to mean something in ADDITION to still having the GF as something to aspire to in its own right ? Why wouldn't they want that ? And if not, why not ?

Any match you went to this year featuring the Bulldogs was meaningless. It didn't matter unless you win the GF. That's unfortunately the way it is done now. If top spot was recognised, you could STILL win the GF as per normal in September, but you would be ALSO striving to win the Home and Away premiership (like in Eurpoean soccer) during the season. Every match would count. Every win you have would get you one win closer to securing top spot. Every win would "count" towards the premiership (like with Manchester United).

Them, after it has been won, the 4 week "exciting" knockout finals series begins, culminating with the Grand Final. The fans will always want to win the Grand Final. The winner of the FA Cup in England is NOT the "whole year" champion, but this doesn's stop fans wanting to win it. In fact, it is the individual biggest match of the year. It is an event. Like our Grand Fina. It concludes the year.

Trust me........it is the BEST ay to structure the season. Why get so emotional ? There is not really much of a change at all. You act as though there is. The Home and away season is still ther, right ? The finals is still there right ? The GF is still there, right ? The only difference is that top spot is given recognition and the Grand Final winner is ONLY the champions of the finals series. They are not the champs of the whole year. That's it. They're the only changes.

Heaven forbid we recognise the top team. Why don't you write to English soccer and tell them they've got it wrong. 20 Million Australians obviously know more than the other 5 billion people on the planet, how best to structure a season. According to you anyway.

Sandie, sorry if i might disappoint but the numbers of 'hits' or 'posts' i or any of the others make doesnt really affect me. It only dawned on me now ive posted more than 500 messages to this board, but again its not really quantity im here for. I like to sometimes reply if im interested, start a topic if i feel it might intrest someone else or reply to Dan just to wind him up
wink.gif

I just like to follow certain threads if they keep my intrest, ive been following this one but it has diverged from its intended purpose, which was to see if Dan had persuaded anyone to his way of thinking. The margin was about 2:1 yes no which was sort of expected. Now that its done im just as happy to let it be done. I dont need to re-read Dans epitaph (sorry Dan) again which is where the threads gone back to.

Thanks for the vote of confidence though
smile.gif

Grendel
It wasn't about you or Dan 24, but no one wanting to see G4E be the first person to reach 150 posts, seeing most of the time his posts were just to piss people off. Sorry I really tried for your topic to win before Longjohn, because your posts are sensible, but unfortunately they chose Longjohns. I wouldn't have because once again he was just a sh$& stirrer who has disappeared since the GF, you are still here. If you read my posts in your topic I was pushing for you to win because yours had the least amount of rubbish.

------------------
Mantis

I still think the results a a victory to me *smile*

the natural tide of 'change', which people are againt has falied to comprehensively beat me.

I knew people would be against change, so 2-1, equates to 2-1 in MY FAVOUR os my system was used. People would inevitably come around as they always do wen changes are implemented.

Can anybody tell me what the final count of the vote was? I don't want to go throught 135 posts to find out!
cool.gif

------------------
This is a hallucination and these faces are in a dream. A computer generated environment; a fantasy island you can do anything and not have to face the consequences.

CJH, it (the vote) seemed to get lost somewhere along the way.

I should have stiputlated a YES/NO and no other arguments should have been allowed!!!

Regardless of Dans manipulation *two to one indeed, theirs a job for you in Florida Dan* the vote from memory was NO. But it did have its supporters too. Just goes to show, cant fool all of the people all of the time
biggrin.gif

Cheers.

well ive never read this topic b4 and im not gonna read through 10 pages to figure it out. the finals system they have now seems to be working fine.

BSA,

I'd like to see how many words (and pages) have been devoted to this. I could write a book on the theory, with all the info on this site.

Although, you were one of the supporters of the "NO DOUBLE CHANCE" scenario, which I was happy about. It's good to see someone who agrees that double chances are a load of shit. As you said yourself on one occasion : "Double chances are contrived bullshit"

As I've said many times, if the top team can currently be eliminated after one loss in the PF or GF (as it is now), then why can't they be eliminated in the first week too ? Same diff, right ? Essendon faced elimination after one loss on Preliminary final day and Grand Final day in 2000. Double chance, eh ? What a load of crap. It should be knockout. If the top team can be eliminated after one loss right now, why have the double chance in the first week ???????? if the "top team" wins in the first week, they get "rewarded" by facing knokcout after one los from that point on, anyway. You might as well make it knockout all the way through, since it makes more sense.

Just thought I'd say it again, because it's common f*cken sense and why we actually have a double chance at all bemuses me !!!!

Rooboy

It's the milkshake kid's strategy. Bring up his old pet topics and hope that people will trawl through 10 pages of posts, thus saving him from having to cut and paste everything for the umpteenth time.

Does anyone here get the feeling that if Essendon did lose the Grand Final that the milkshake kid would've been posting left, right, and centre about his minor premiership theory? Funny how after the Dons win the Grand Final, he's been less inclined to promote his theory.....hum....better not waste the time of Mulder and Scully on this one.
wink.gif

Dan24

You've already written a book on it mate !
rolleyes.gif

and yes, its interesting to revisit this.

I'm still with you.

A straight knock-out style finals lasting over three weeks and following on from a 30 week Minor Round with big cash prize, nice silerware and a presentation ceremony for the 'League Champion'

It has to be the way to go, BUT unlike you you I won't lose any sleep if it nevers happens

cheers

Shinboners,

You you're right. Just put up an old topic and let the past posts speak for themselves. Sounds like common-sense to me ! Got a problem with that? You sound like you think you're pretty good, in "figuring me out". Got a big head have we ? I'm not trying to hide what I'm doing. I'm just trying to get a point across.

Oh, and if Essendon lost the GF, it would have made no difference. I'd already posted heaps on the "prospect" of Essendon losing in 2000, and indeed about the actual loss we did have in 1999. You, or all people, should know that on this particular topic, club loyalty is irrelevant from me.

Is Dan24's finals system right or wrong? VOTE NOW!