Is it time?

I am 53, the "if I live that long" was tongue in cheek response to posters giving Ed the liberty to remain president for as long as he wants...

I didn't think we were doing that bad early 90's. Failed to capitalise on the talent then maybe drifted down rather than constantly rebuild until we ended up in a hole. Exited the hole pretty quickly. Getting MM was a good move but outside of that I don't give too much credit to Ed. That is onfield and I don't claim a great analysis. Off field I can't really comment in detail. Bottom line I view that 50% as your opinion, not fact. There have been a number of good posts to this thread that have outlined why we shouldn't just give all the credit to Ed for every positive change over the last 18 years.

Ed has been the best president over the time I have followed the pies. The OP is not an attempt to bash his legacy, rather posing the question should someone of his statue set a retirement date and whether now is a good time for him to do that. No matter what the past, I am interested in what is best for Collingwood in the future.
Onfield is the domain of the coach, off-field the domain of the CEO.
The Presidents role is to advance the club as a whole, in some measure by the appointments in the above two areas, but he does nto do this in a vacuum, this is the job of the board.
Ed's area of responsibility is in keeping the brand front of mind and increasing it's value, which he has done very well despite a largely antagonistic media and despite himself being a part of that media.

The Presidents role is to advance the club as a whole, in some measure by the appointments in the above two areas, but he does nto do this in a vacuum, this is the job of the board.
Ed's area of responsibility is in keeping the brand front of mind and increasing it's value, which he has done very well despite a largely antagonistic media and despite himself being a part of that media.
Good post. Interesting that some posters want Pert sacked and that many credit Ed with both our off field success and on field success. Your distinctions are great but not universally recognised it seems. He has managed to keep the brand up there but then "Eddie is Collingwood" is a pretty common misconception too. Is our brand becoming synonymous with Eddie, is that a good thing?

Not really.

The domain of the CEO is ***everything*** (including on-field)

Of course Pert doesn't actually get involved directly in the training drills or gameday tactics any more than Buckley gets involved in tackling opposition players or kicking goals.

But where Pert will get involved is with high level footy department strategic activities like setting, measuring and reviewing KPI's; footy department resourcing and key appointments; reviewing footy department budgets and expenditure.

Agreed

I reckon Ed's role is a bit different to most Presidents, he seems a lot more hands-on (for better or for worse). For example, he and Pert are on the list management committee.

I'm in the job for life camp.

People underrate the stability that he's brought us. Compare how we operate at board level to the other 3 big clubs and you see why we are much more successful off field. There are no factions, no pokies kings, no plotters. A lot more gets done in that environment.

It's actually a pretty amazing effort of Ed's to build his power base. He's been running the most powerful club in the country for near 20 years and in that time there has been almost no opposition. And anyone who is potentially opposition are either his mates or terrified of him.

Good post. Interesting that some posters want Pert sacked and that many credit Ed with both our off field success and on field success. Your distinctions are great but not universally recognised it seems. He has managed to keep the brand up there but then "Eddie is Collingwood" is a pretty common misconception too. Is our brand becoming synonymous with Eddie, is that a good thing?
Yes the separation of what a president does v the CEO does seems very lost often on these threads.
I'm not really understanding all,the angst directed at Pert.
There is legitimate issues with merchandise and the quality thereof, but I hear that's being addressed.
Seems to me the ship of Collingwood is stable and gong well.

Funny thing, we start winning games and finals and the big one, all of a sudden we'll be the best run club again.

The gist is that Ed is good at his job. Pert is doing a fine job and if Buck's was howing better onfeild performances this thread would not exist.
Buck's performance is largely mitigated by a shcking injury toll over the last two seasons. We have shown plenty of improvement accroos the list, with the bottom 22 performing well, evn causing top side some problems.
We need to get the top 22 on the feild regularly next season.

I guess it's not time yet!
Eddie McGuire confirms he will serve full three-year term if re-elected as Collingwood President

f9c7fcffedd4ff312eb947855afc95db

JON RALPH, Herald Sun
September 6, 2016 7:37pm
Subscriber only
f9c7fcffedd4ff312eb947855afc95db

EDDIE McGuire has committed to serving a full three-year term as Collingwood president when he stands for re-election at February’s AGM.

McGuire had publicly considered stepping down after 18 seasons as Pies president in May after a disastrous loss to Carlton.

There was a serious belief within Collingwood at one stage that after a series of controversies a burnt-out McGuire might finally step aside.

But he has told the board he is reinvigorated and has no plans to move away from Collingwood in the near future.

e78c3683df9b333e59e40e51a37a8275

Eddie is a favourite with Collingwood fans and he is the favourite to win re-election. Picture: Wayne Ludbey
McGuire and future presidential candidate Mark Korda are both up for election at the club’s annual general meeting.

But despite another season of controversy 51-year-old McGuire seems likely to blast through into his third decade of presidency at Collingwood by the end of his next term.

While Richmond is battling potential boardroom upheaval with a rival ticket threatening to oust Peggy O’Neal, the Pies board room has been the most stable in the AFL.

The Pies will outline their plans to roar back into premiership contention at a members forum on Monday night, where Nathan Buckley, CEO Gary Pert and McGuire will all speak.

At that 6pm Glasshouse forum the Pies will discuss the issues of the year and field questions on Travis Cloke’s certain departure and the issues of the nine-win season.

Despite losing three of the past four games there was a feeling of optimism late in the year based around strong performances from Darcy Moore, Brodie Grundy, James Aish and Adam Treloar.

But in the past four years there is no denying the side the dramatic slide — Buckley’s sides having finished eighth, 11th, 12th and 12th.

That formline has put Buckley under significant pressure, with the club legend conceding he will not continue coach unless the Pies return to the finals next year.

KordaMentha founder Korda is seen as one of a handful of strong presidential candidates when McGuire does eventually move on from the club on his own timeline.

Collingwood premiership hero Craig Kelly told the Herald Sun earlier this year his business interests and sons’ footballing careers made a tilt at the premiership untenable in coming years.

04552cc710eb20b603efb79eb3f8f323

Eddie Everywhere has been a mighty figure for Collingwood. Picture: Wayne Ludbey
McGuire was embroiled in the Caroline Wilson dunking controversy in June, only a month after pondering his future publicly.

“You question yourself. You have done this for 18 years, can you go through it again?’’ he said.

“Have you got any more ideas and I look at myself and I go — a lot of the things that I brought to Collingwood when I first came in, have been taken away from me now with equalisation.”

McGuire said he was “emotionally and physically flattened” after the Wilson saga, which saw the Pies board back him in to continue at the helm.

But the Pies have again kickstarted several ambitious projects that will take time, with McGuire determined to build the Pies into a premiership force again.

Ed will basically never leave unless he's very very old or very very ill.
I'm surmising, It's part of how he sees himself as a person.
Still were not Richmond.
Ed does stability well, so that's good.

I guess it's not time yet!
Well I guess that makes it clear Ed does not see the need to set a retirement date and does not intend to retire in the next three years. I do not believe that means it is not time for the former to occur. I don't expect Ed to recognise either that need or to recognise when his time might best end. I suspect Ed will need to be forced out like most long serving leaders have to.

Ed will basically never leave unless he's very very old or very very ill.
I'm surmising, It's part of how he sees himself as a person.
Still were not Richmond.
Ed does stability well, so that's good.
Yeah it is always good until its not good and then it comes down with a crash.

It's a very very long time.
I'd like to think our Club can chug along, do ok with someone else leading the show?
I'm not fussed at the moment, Eds there so let's hope for success.

Well I guess that makes it clear Ed does not see the need to set a retirement date and does not intend to retire in the next three years. I do not believe that means it is not time for the former to occur. I don't expect Ed to recognise either that need or to recognise when his time might best end. I suspect Ed will need to be forced out like most long serving leaders have to.

Maybe the end date is after this term in three years time.

Personally I think he has unfinished business........bringing Gubby back is a step in the right direction and good business decision.

Now he needs to focus on getting the Coaching structure right at our Club.

Stability versus staleness?

A strong ongoing vision versus an inability to change course?

I love Eddie, he frustrates me, I love when he sticks up for us, I hate his gaffes, I love the strength he has brought to our club, I hate his public digs at other clubs, I love his determination that we have the best, I hate his media commentating, I love his knowledge of our history, I hate his ignorance of some issues, I love our 2010 flag, I am starting to hate the succession plan.

That's Eddie.

I love Eddie, he frustrates me, I love when he sticks up for us, I hate his gaffes, I love the strength he has brought to our club, I hate his public digs at other clubs, I love his determination that we have the best, I hate his media commentating, I love his knowledge of our history, I hate his ignorance of some issues, I love our 2010 flag, I am starting to hate the succession plan.

That's Eddie.
Well summed up overall

Indeed. The world is changing so fast. Those who can adapt, and can pick apart the difference between what are opportunities to embrace, and what are core values to retain ... will be those who can thrive and prosper.

I'd like to know what Ed's vision is for the next three years?

I love Eddie, ...

I respect him.

... he frustrates me, ...

Hmmm, I wouldn't say I've found him frustrating.

I love when he sticks up for us, ...

Hell yeah!

I hate his gaffes, ...

I see Ed as a bit of a politician, so I just think it comes with the territory ... not defending them though.

I love the strength he has brought to our club, ...

I wouldn't describe the situation as him bringing strength. I think our club's strength comes intrinsically through the supporter group, which has always been there. What Ed has done is run a reasonably tight ship, and kept the dissenters at bay.

I hate his public digs at other clubs, ...

I don't mind them, it helps to fuel the "us versus them" culture that we have at Collingwood.

I love his determination that we have the best, ...

TBH, I find it's become a bit of a game to pick which bits are genuine and which bits are spin.

I hate his media commentating, ...

Really? I find that's his strength. I doubt he would have achieved the success he has as Collingwood President without it.

I love his knowledge of our history, ...

TBH, I've tired of it ... he just regurgitates the same old stories. If he came out with a different story about our history each time he talked about it, I'd find it a bit more genuine. To me he just comes across as somebody who has read (and enjoyed) a few Collingwood history books and spouts out some stuff from time to time to make him sound passionate and knowledgeable.

Have a squiz at our online museum (forever.collingwood.com.au) and note that no effort whatsoever is being made to maintain it ... that's what Ed genuinely thinks of our history.

I hate his ignorance of some issues,

What issues?

I love our 2010 flag,

:hearts:

I am starting to hate the succession plan.

I don't think we would have won the 2010 flag without it, and we're a club that flags haven't come easy to lately, so I reckon it was a good thing.

The idea was fine in principle (it worked well for the Swans) but perhaps it might have been better executed.

That's Eddie.

He's a complex character.

Maybe the end date is after this term in three years time.
Personally I think he has unfinished business........bringing Gubby back is a step in the right direction and good business decision.
Now he needs to focus on getting the Coaching structure right at our Club.
Personally I wouldn't have wanted Ed to have less than the next three years. If it does turn out to be only 3 then fine and like SV I think we can deal with the changes pretty easily. I suspect it will go on beyond 3 though, realistically Ed has 8 more to equal the club record and I could see him want that if things went well over the next 3 years.

Has anyone even sugested a replacement?

Usually footy Presidents are people who don't have a public profile. Eddie is more the exception than the rule (How many Presidents have a public profile? Ed, Kochie, Brayshaw, any others?)

If anybody ever challenges Eddie, there's a fair chance it'll be somebody you've never heard of before.

I was going to but just wasn't sure that was what you wanted. Any hints on the changes you might bring in?

If elected President, jmac70 will sort out the members' bar issues, then resign and hand it back to Ed.

I was going to but just wasn't sure that was what you wanted. Any hints on the changes you might bring in?

Not sure yet but there would be a lot of happy hours.