ISC going into administration

OldStyle2007

Aug 14, 2007
Glass Case of Emotion
I haven't seen any threads on this and I have done a search so sorry if this has already been covered (but I couldn't see anything and was surprised there were no threads on this)

The cats new apparel sponsor ISC is reportedly into administration.

My advice would be that I wouldn't be spending too much of my hard-earned cash on this years' gear, because there will be new gear from another company again next year

I wonder how the club will treat the cheer squad next time now that they will again be forced to buy new supporter wear.

The move from big name brand Slazenger to ISC will have to go down as one of Brian Cook's (few) mistakes

NZRL loses its shirt as company (ISC) goes bust
By AARON LAWTON and JOHN MATHESON - Sunday News
http://www.stuff.co.nz/sunday-news/sport/league/1393888/NZRL-loses-its-shirt-as-company-goes-bust
THE cash-strapped New Zealand Rugby League is set to lose the shirt off its back.
The company that makes the World Cup winner's jersey is reported to have gone into administration.
Sydney's Sun-Herald newspaper is today reporting the Australian division of International Sports Clothing which also supplies the Air New Zealand Cup's Manawatu and Bay of Plenty unions, six NRL clubs, Australian Super 14 franchises and two AFL teams has been placed in administration.
"They (ISC) are going into administration," NRL marketing manager Paul Kind said.
"From our perspective, we're not out of pocket at this point.
"The deal with ISC is that clubs hold independent agreements for their kit supply and we have one licence with them on supporter apparel, which we're working on now. It's a question for the clubs who have an independent agreement (with ISC).
"We're sitting down with ISC on February 11th (Wednesday).
"They're coming in so we can sit down and talk about where it's all up to."
The NRL clubs linked to ISC Australia include Cronulla, Penrith, Canberra, South Sydney, Parramatta and the Sydney Roosters.
The NZRL unaware of the company's demise until contacted by Sunday News was last night scrambling for information about the status of the ISC.
Its relationship with ISC is a complex one and if the sports clothing company has folded the financial ramifications for league in New Zealand are unclear.
It is understood ISC provides the NZRL with a certain amount of free merchandise, while any extra merchandise above the specified amount is paid for.
The NZRL also makes money via a licensing arrangement with ISC from every officially licensed product sold.
"I can't really comment too much on the situation at this point in time," NZRL general manager Peter Cordtz said.
"What we have found is that a very complex situation has developed.
"This is considerably more complex than just a straightforward receivership situation.
"We are working through what the implications and downside if any will be for the NZRL.
"We are trying to get our heads around that now.
"We really don't know the full story or what the implications might be yet."
Bay of Plenty rugby boss Jeremy Curragh said his union had been aware of the problems facing the Australian arm of ISC for a while.
He has been involved in talks with a new New Zealand division of the UK company about supplying the Steamers' gear for 2009. It is completing with two other companies to win the BOP contract.
Manawatu's CEO John Knowles confirmed his union is now looking for a new jersey supplier.

My advice would be that I wouldn't be spending too much of my hard-earned cash on this years' gear, because there will be new gear from another company aain next year

The move from big name brand Slazenger to ISC will have to go down as one of Brian Cook's (few) mistakes[/quote]
I don't think Cookie actively dropped Slazenger to chase ISC. Also I wouldn't hold back on buying this year's apparel either. It changes from year to year anyway.

My advice would be that I wouldn't be spending too much of my hard-earned cash on this years' gear, because there will be new gear from another company aain next year

The move from big name brand Slazenger to ISC will have to go down as one of Brian Cook's (few) mistakes
I don't think Cookie actively dropped Slazenger to chase ISC. Also I wouldn't hold back on buying this year's apparel either. It changes from year to year anyway.[/quote]
already have my 150 year jumper pre ordered, they won't release that with a new brand :thumbsu:

Good riddance, I bought a polo at the start of the year and after exactly 2 wears threads all over it were splitting and standing up like bits of blue fluff. Cheap shit.

They made absolute rubbish. I bought one of the truckers hats and it faded after one whole days wear.

Pretty sure Slazenger declared in very early 2007 it would not be renewing its contract for 2008 and beyond. ISC is a pretty big brand in rugby and also was the apparel sponsor of Cricket Australia (then ACB) in the mid 1990s, and they were hoping to do a FILA and branch out into AFL. (Remember us and the Bulldogs in 1999 taking on this unknown FILA!?).

Unless anyone knows the finer details of the negotiations, i'm pretty sure the club would have gone for the best deal possible and ISC at the time was probably the one promising the best deal..

send the club an email and they should exchange it/give money back

threads were comin out everywhere on my australian cricket shirt that was a year old and i sent them an email and they sent me a newie.

send the club an email and they should exchange it/give money back

threads were comin out everywhere on my australian cricket shirt that was a year old and i sent them an email and they sent me a newie.

Agree with you mate. Not trying to spruik lawyer garble, however, if the product is not 'fit for purpose' or of 'merchanable quality' then they should provide a refund or swap it for another item. These conditions are available to all consumers under the SOGA (Sales of Goods Act in your state, TPA in ACT and NT).

If it was only once, and it became faded, that fits the bill to the merchantalbe quality part of the above statement.

The story was published in February by the SMH, who printed a retraction the next day. When I first saw it (back in February) I actually contacted the Geelong Advertiser who said they were aware of it and to their knowledge it was a rumour.

The fact that it hasn't happened yet 3 months later pretty much confirms that.

The story was published in February by the SMH, who printed a retraction the next day. When I first saw it (back in February) I actually contacted the Geelong Advertiser who said they were aware of it and to their knowledge it was a rumour.

The fact that it hasn't happened yet 3 months later pretty much confirms that.

I couldn't find the retraction on SMH or any previous thread on this board

Here's an interesting point of view from some dissatisfied customers of ISC's:
http://forum.sportal.com.au/yaf_postst27205_ISC-SPORTS-ARE-FRAUDS.aspx

I'm not sure about getting Adidas on board. Can't say I like what they've done with the Collingwood and Adelaide jerseys... Puma or Nike I reckon.

ISC going into administration

Write your reply...