East Rottnest
Between analysing your teams performance and being a whingeing "good time boy".

Yes we've had two losses and things need to improve but I am amazed at the amount of dummy spitting going on, with "supporters" calling for heads. Geez the team is not the worst in the league so there must be something the team or coaching staff are doing well.

Get behind the team and get out to Subi and yell yourself hoarse.

Rant over.

masai said:

Yes we've had two losses and things need to improve but I am amazed at the amount of dummy spitting going on, with "supporters" calling for heads. Geez the team is not the worst in the league so there must be something the team or coaching staff are doing well.

Rant over.

Couldn't say it better myself!

masai said:

Rant over.

*takes bait*
Its not the worst but its not performing as expect end of story.

That said I will be at the game rain hail or shine.
As I have been since the begining, as I will be till the end.
Foundation memeber...freo for life..

*takes the bait aswell*

Only thing that annoys me more than a supporter that continually bashes their team despite good performances is one that continually paints a glossy picture despite poor ones.

Not saying that this thread is an indication of the latter, but it seems because of alot of poor performances and hence a lot of negative talk, noone is allowed to have their say if its remotely negative.

Maybe there is a fine line, but I don't think a great number of the negative threads lately have crossed it.

masai said:

Rant over.

And I guess I'd be one of those your directing that at. Well, I wouldn't blame ya, after all I can never look at the + side. Personally, I don't think CC should go rather than be moved into recruitment as the brain behind the club be that's what he's good at, and get a hard nut to be the braun for the club and coach the side.

I would go to the game (I'd give an arm and a leg for it) but I'm in Country Queensland so I'll settle for watching it live on FoxFooty whilst the rest of my family go the Brisbane vs Saints game :)

If we lose, well, it might just provide the kick of the bum we require for next year but if we win, we can move into the finals and get more finals expirience which is required to progress as a side so there are positives for both outcomes but personally, I'd prefer the latter.

GO FREO!!!

masai said:

well to be fair i am one of them so called dummy spitters but lets look at the facts.
we have underachieved compared to last year.
we have lost many games at home.
we have won many more games away this year.
we have not been able to change the way teams manhandle us.
we have NOT improved enough as a team under the coaching structure that we have in place this year.
we cannot accept as supporters for our team to just make the finals.
we have as a club unearthed some great players this year.

that is the way i have seen things, to me that isn't a positive year in an overall view.
people need to see where we have come from as i am pretty sure the do,and understand that we cannot compare our club to what it was 2,3,4 years ago ect. and say we are muchn better then and as long as we make the finals we are ok because imo its not.
we have arguably one of the top four lists in the country but we have not been able to produce that to a ladder position or even credibility in the comp.
lets look at one year ago or even two geelongs list, st kildas list looked nothing as good as ours did as a whole but both teams have leapfrogged our club in nearly everyway.None of the two coaches were saying they needed a f*cking seven year plan to make the finals, where are they now?
Someone please tell me why they have done so well compared to us this year?
People pull your heads out of the sand and wake up.
i don't back away from what i say and am willing to debate this with anyone who wants.
having said that credit will be given as an opinion if i think it warrants it as everyone does.

tico said:
but lets look at the facts.
we have underachieved compared to last year.
We probably overachieved last year with our 3 less than a goal wins giving us a false sense of where we were.
we have lost many games at home.
we have won many more games away this year.
Confusing I agree
we have not been able to change the way teams manhandle us.
we have NOT improved enough as a team under the coaching structure that we have in place this year.
We need more grunt that is for sure. My take on this , and every man and his dog knew that we were a quality midfieder short. Ryley Dunn was drafted to fill that role but has not come on for Age/ injury /inexperience etc. He should add a lot next year. Compounding this has been Headland carrying an ankle, Carr being out of form / Injured. Bellie carrying a Groin all year (Just think how much better he was last year) and Schammer being cleaned up repeatedly and just being a little up and down like all young players.

we cannot accept as supporters for our team to just make the finals.
we have as a club unearthed some great players this year.
Agree completely and we will unearth a lot more.

that is the way i have seen things, to me that isn't a positive year in an overall view.
I think we have consolidated. certainly thown off the travel bug, fought every game out and (apart from the last game) have been in a position to win every game 15minutes into the last quarter. This IMO may have resulted in a bit of complacency and maybe losing by 50 points is the loss we had to have.

people need to see where we have come from as i am pretty sure the do,and understand that we cannot compare our club to what it was 2,3,4 years ago ect. and say we are muchn better then and as long as we make the finals we are ok because imo its not.

You also have to remember that this team is basically only in its 3rd season.

we have arguably one of the top four lists in the country but we have not been able to produce that to a ladder position or even credibility in the comp.
lets look at one year ago or even two geelongs list, st kildas list looked nothing as good as ours did as a whole but both teams have leapfrogged our club in nearly everyway.None of the two coaches were saying they needed a f*cking seven year plan to make the finals, where are they now?
Someone please tell me why they have done so well compared to us this year?
People pull your heads out of the sand and wake up.
i don't back away from what i say and am willing to debate this with anyone who wants.
having said that credit will be given as an opinion if i think it warrants it as everyone does.

Bomber Thomson has spent 5 years getting his group to where they are now.
The saints have been at it for 4 years.

The advatage they have over us apart from the fact that they have had 2 years more than us is that they still have a group of senior players that have played in grand finals etc.

We have Bellie and that is it. The rest of our leadership group is leaning on the job and sometimes when it is like that you have to learn the hard way.

The 7 year plan has been completely taken out of context.

What CC has said is that this GROUP will be together for the next 8-10 years. Not that it will take 8-10years to make the finals.

Cheers tico. Yell loudly on Sunday. We will ******** it in.

.....between pleasure and pain
we've done it once we can do it again
If we miss out this year don't' try to explain
It's a fine, fine line between pleasure and pain

Rippers on my wavelength, I can't really add anymore.

There are deficiencies and these are / will be addressed, as I reckon we may have over achieved a little last year (couple of close wins) and our form early this year was ordinary even though we won games.

I will think of this year as a "re-grouping year" or a "reality check year".

It has been a long road my little grass hoppers, patience.

masai said:
Rippers on my wavelength, I can't really add anymore.

There are deficiencies and these are / will be addressed, as I reckon we may have over achieved a little last year (couple of close wins) and our form early this year was ordinary even though we won games.

I will think of this year as a "re-grouping year" or a "reality check year".

It has been a long road my little grass hoppers, patience.

i don't know you BUT ........sorry mate that is utter rubbish re-group year???,reality check year???? rubbish we move forward or backward .imo backward from last year

94_Eagles said:
Don't be too sure about that...

Yeah, it's better that Webster is back from last year. I know I look at th -ve side most of the time but tico, mate, don't slit your wrists yet, we're still a fair dinkum chance. Although the way it's been spreading through the media you'd think we hadn't won a game this year.

Get to the game this week guys, coz I know Freo will put in 100% for you as this is a derby, this is to keep our season alive and by god they know it!

Kapow!!! said:
Yeah, it's better that Webster is back from last year. I know I look at th -ve side most of the time but tico, mate, don't slit your wrists yet, we're still a fair dinkum chance. Although the way it's been spreading through the media you'd think we hadn't won a game this year.

Agree completely.

These derbys are beginning to go the way of the WAFL derbys where you really can not predict which side is going to win regardless of ladder positions.

Freo are still a 50/50 chance.

******** the media, they are only hopping on the Eagles bandwagon after foolishly still calling us an aging side or saying we don't have a spine.

About time we had a second daily newspaper in this state.