Ivan Maric

eathb said:
Thurstans + Bishop for Maric??

DeLuca and Giles seem to be more promising then Maric anyway

Yeah that's exactly what we need. Another mediocre KP and a defender who's got maybe one average season left in him.

If Maric was to go, he'd probably want to go home.

eathb said:

:D :D :rolleyes:

Our 6th ruckman, Jonathon Griffen > Jonathan Giles.

And Maric > DeLuca.

And Thurstans is a one game wonder, while you Port fans want Bishop gone as he is so incredibly usless. And we're supposed to accept that deal?

Drummond said:

And Maric > DeLuca.

And Thurstans is a one game wonder, while you Port fans want Bishop gone as he is so incredibly usless. And we're supposed to accept that deal?

:p u cows are smarter than i thought ;)

Out of these players who would u take?? The rest not listed are untouchable
Ware, Thurstans, Shattock, Eckermann, Ezard, Bishop

And wait til DeLuca and Giles bulk up :cool:

Honestly I'd like Ware on our list, but I'm pretty sure you're going to delist him anyway.

eathb said:

**** said:
I generally agree with everything you say but in this instance I cannot agree. Unless I've misunderstood your post. Port would love that trade, but it doesn't really serve our needs.

I dont think we would love that. Thomson has shone great ability to clear the ball out of heavy traffic. He could potentially be our best midfielder. Averaged the 4th most clearances (2.8 per game) and 3rd most first possesions (3.9 per game) for Port this year (For Crows he would have been 3rd in both), despite only having between 50-60% of gametime. I certainly wouldnt be giving him away for another young ruckman.

Drummond said:

Griffen is also 2 full years older than Giles. I would expect he is better than him.

eathb said:

If you say so.

I expect Bishop will be delisted any way!

SpringChoke said:
1st Ruck: Hudson
2nd Ruck: Maric or Meesen.

I think the dirty dancer should only be used to cover injuries.

If M & M only get limited gametime next year then we can kiss both, or definately, one goodbye. I have a hunch that's why they only signed 1 year contracts, testing the water. So do you pesist with the limited abilities of an average ruckman in Biglands or take a step back and give a possible future champion young ruckman gametime.

Tough call for the AFC. Meesen and Maric are the future, Biglands isn't. Don't get me wrong old Biggles has a big heart and tries his guts out but he will only ever be just an average ruckman.
I agree to Springy.

Though if we lack tall forwards next year, we may be able to play Huddo as the main ruckman with 2 of Biglands/Meesen/Maric as forwards/rucmken.

Biglands has his faults - but he is too good a player to be consigned to backup next year. If this is the intention then surely we would trade him and use Meese as back up - otherwise using Rhett at first drop still leaves Meese at second drop - which doesn't solve the development / go home problem.....:confused:

eathb said:

I'll give you a big mac for thurstans, Bishop & deluca combined.

actually, I'll make it 2 burgers if you just dispose of them in recycle bins out back of Aami and don't bother us with any of the 3 guys.

Remember they are long seasons and injuries generally open up opportunities, whether they be ruck or KP.

Can anyone report on Marics game on the weekend ......did he play CHF as named in the paper??

Macca19 said:
I dont think we would love that. Thomson has shone great ability to clear the ball out of heavy traffic. He could potentially be our best midfielder. Averaged the 4th most clearances (2.8 per game) and 3rd most first possesions (3.9 per game) for Port this year (For Crows he would have been 3rd in both), despite only having between 50-60% of gametime. I certainly wouldnt be giving him away for another young ruckman.

thompson will be a far greater player than Maric ever will be.

deal? ;)

eathb said:

Mate, you've got it all wrong.

That heap of shyte that you've listed are the untouchables - nobody but nobody would touch that pile of rubbish. :D

Huddo as the main ruckman with Biggie & Meese rotating through the ruck and forward line? I like it.

I don't think we have to worry too much about Maric leaving the club. Even though he's Victorian, he's more likely to appreciate the opportunities that he gets. He was a 4th rounder.

KUNG FU said:
Huddo as the main ruckman with Biggie & Meese rotating through the ruck and forward line? I like it.

I don't think we have to worry too much about Maric leaving the club. Even though he's Victorian, he's more likely to appreciate the opportunities that he gets. He was a 4th rounder.

While he was our 4th pick, I think he might have been a 3rd rounder, as we had 2 picks in the 2nd round that year.

Still a damn good selection for a 3rd rounder.

macca23 said:
While he was our 4th pick, I think he might have been a 3rd rounder, as we had 2 picks in the 2nd round that year.

Still a damn good selection for a 3rd rounder.

correct

meese 8
vb 24
gibson 28 (from stenglein deal)
maric 40 (3rd rounder but our 4th pick overall)
knights 56

KUNG FU said:

I disagree. Regardless of at what pick Maric was drafted, he would know he's AFL ready. Apart from a few games, he basically dominates the ruck in the SANFL. I reckon both Maric and Meesen feel they are ready for AFL footy.

Quality young ruckman are in high demand in the AFL. I dare say Vic clubs would have watched both Meesen and Marics form very closely over the last few years. The fact they both signed only 1 year contracts would indicate to me that they are happy at the AFC but they are also willing to walk if they receive limited opportunities. Considering they would be highly sort after by other clubs, a 1 year contract was a very smart move from both kids and their managment.

You can guarantee neither would be willing to spend their first 4 years playing mostly in the SANFL, especially when they would be guaranteed regular game time with at least 6 VIC clubs.

Fair point!

I just hope they stay. I still don't know why we drafted 2 rucks that year.

SpringChoke said:
I disagree. Regardless of at what pick Maric was drafted, he would know he's AFL ready. Apart from a few games, he basically dominates the ruck in the SANFL. I reckon both Maric and Meesen feel they are ready for AFL footy.

Quality young ruckman are in high demand in the AFL. I dare say Vic clubs would have watched both Meesen and Marics form very closely over the last few years. The fact they both signed only 1 year contracts would indicate to me that they are happy at the AFC but they are also willing to walk if they receive limited opportunities. Considering they would be highly sort after by other clubs, a 1 year contract was a very smart move from both kids and their managment.

You can guarantee neither would be willing to spend their first 4 years playing mostly in the SANFL, especially when they would be guaranteed regular game time with at least 6 VIC clubs.
Good post. Meesen got offered 3 years but only took 1. WHy? If next year he doesn't get much of an opportunity he'll go, or if he does well next year, he can negotiate a much larger contract.

SpringChoke said:

That's one way of looking at it.....another is they (especially Meesen) have not intention of staying beyond 1 more year - and are in fact hoping that game time in 2007 creates more interest back home.

.....and you want Biglands to play SANFL next year.....:rolleyes:

Mad Dog said:
That's one way of looking at it.....another is they (especially Meesen) have not intention of staying beyond 1 more year - and are in fact hoping that game time in 2007 creates more interest back home.

.....and you want Biglands to play SANFL next year.....:rolleyes:
And yet another way of looking at it, you’re wrong. Meesen was offered a substantial contract from a Victorian side, and yet he knocked it back. What does that tell you? He wanted to stay in Adelaide, and all he wants is an opportunity to play for the Crows.