Jack....WTF?

It's funny because I like that he does these things.
It's really smart. Jack is not quick by any measure but this makes him quick if you get where I'm coming from.
He's a super skilled player. His is the best opposite sided player in our team among other things and is just a real natural footballer who does the little tricks instinctively.

In defence of the OP though this isn't all bad and as they say its just a discussion. Last year we had that bloody thread getting around all season wanting to drop him and trade him.

It's funny because I like that he does these things.
It's really smart. Jack is not quick by any measure but this makes him quick if you get where I'm coming from.
He's a super skilled player. His is the best opposite sided player in our team among other things and is just a real natural footballer who does the little tricks instinctively.

In defence of the OP though this isn't all bad and as they say its just a discussion. Last year we had that bloody thread getting around all season wanting to drop him and trade him.
The last bit, wow.

It's not the end of the world Wang, just a technical observation. Happens about once or twice a game, is not a big knock (from me) on JR. Just a low percentage thing he does.

The thing is that it is in fact a high percentage thing he does...because as you suggest it happens once or twice a game, i.e. whatever he does pays off 80-90 % of the time...JR aint the problem dudes. ;)

I get what the OP is saying. When ball is on the deck he tries to be clever and invent something eg tunnel through legs, tap across etc rather than grabbing the ball and taking the tackle while trying to handball to our advantage. It's a bit like Edwards handballing over his head. Great when it works but is a straight out turnover, against Pies, a goal, when it doesn't.

Have noticed this too Livonski - most of the time he has to do it as the ball hits the deck in front of him or he has 2-3 opponents around him and he can't take clean possession. Some people might say that's its lazy but Jack's a very clever player and I think his intentions are good (just the execution isn't). I think the smalls need to be tailing him (as crumbers should) up the ground so if he knocks the ball out of a pack or tunnels between his legs to space, a RFC player can take control (rather than an opponent) and send it forward with our momentum.

The real issue (without wanting to be too negative, knee jerk after 1 loss) is our forward structure is still a bit of a mess and is dysfunctional at times.

Sick of hearing the "sooking" complaints about Jack. If everyone else in the team had as much heart as Jack we would rarely lose. For those who claim that his sooking interrupts with his performance/game go and actually watch one, because up until this point you're clearly not watching. Lets trade Jack to Adelaide for Gus Grahem. Gus never complained, he never showed his emotion. Gus never cared about umpiring calls, never cared about having a player do something selfish and not hit him up on the lead....never cared....wait no that's it.....he never cared!! I love all the boys but where the hells Lids/Martin/Jackson/Edwards when times are tough? It's never them who stand up. It's always someone like Riewoldt/Cotchin. Blokes who give a f*ck. (I know those other guys love the club too but perhaps not as much, Lids signed 6 year deal, loyal as f*ck but where is he when we are being overrun?)

There are things in Jacks game that he needs to work on like the tunneling/tapping thing you guys have mentioned and I'm sure that he is. He is not overly quick and thus attempts to be evasive and sometimes gets caught out. It's the same reason why he is tempted to not lead at times. But he plays on instinct and an incredibly smart footballer and on the most part makes the right decision. (Ps how many of you are out on the ground assessing the options of picking the ball up? Is there even a handball option within 30m of him? Is he going to pick up the ball, get tackled and therefore turn it over? Is he hoping to create a stoppage?)

It's bizarre that probably the most loyal guy at the club, and the guy with the most passion gets potted by the fans of the most loyal and passionate club. Bizarre.

Sick of hearing the "sooking" complaints about Jack. If everyone else in the team had as much heart as Jack we would rarely lose. For those who claim that his sooking interrupts with his performance/game go and actually watch one, because up until this point you're clearly not watching. Lets trade Jack to Adelaide for Gus Grahem. Gus never complained, he never showed his emotion. Gus never cared about umpiring calls, never cared about having a player do something selfish and not hit him up on the lead....never cared....wait no that's it.....he never cared!! I love all the boys but where the hells Lids/Martin/Jackson/Edwards when times are tough? It's never them who stand up. It's always someone like Riewoldt/Cotchin. Blokes who give a f*ck. (I know those other guys love the club too but perhaps not as much, Lids signed 6 year deal, loyal as f*ck but where is he when we are being overrun?)

There are things in Jacks game that he needs to work on like the tunneling/tapping thing you guys have mentioned and I'm sure that he is. He is not overly quick and thus attempts to be evasive and sometimes gets caught out. It's the same reason why he is tempted to not lead at times. But he plays on instinct and an incredibly smart footballer and on the most part makes the right decision. (Ps how many of you are out on the ground assessing the options of picking the ball up? Is there even a handball option within 30m of him? Is he going to pick up the ball, get tackled and therefore turn it over? Is he hoping to create a stoppage?)

It's bizarre that probably the most loyal guy at the club, and the guy with the most passion gets potted by the fans of the most loyal and passionate club. Bizarre.
Here here Cotcho
This thread is WTF :eek:

He is not being potted Cotcho, relax. You're completely missing the point, but then again the first sentence in your second paragraph suggests you do understand the discussion that a few of us wanted to throw around. Then you rant on again later...mate, read properly what we've been saying, it's not a disaster, just an interesting point on technique. And there are heaps of others I'd like to bring up but really, if people are going to react like this, why bother?
Why is everyone so scared to talk about footy and how it's being played?

All this crap over one loss. God help us if we lose on Friday

Where do you read anything about this discussion being motivated by a loss?

I'm here for a mature discussion about footy, if you can't comprehend don't get involved.

I only hate his sooking when he's standing flat footed argueing with an umpire while the opposition is running the ball out of the back line not getting chased , the other times he sooks amuses me more than anything.

In saying that I reckon he's sooked that much that it actually hurts his chances of getting free kicks that should get paid but don't because the umpires are just over him at times. Very similar to how Monfries and Leroy Jetta get treated by the umpires because the umpires just don't care about them anymore because of their diving.

He is not being potted Cotcho, relax. You're completely missing the point, but then again the first sentence in your second paragraph suggests you do understand the discussion that a few of us wanted to throw around. Then you rant on again later...mate, read properly what we've been saying, it's not a disaster, just an interesting point on technique. And there are heaps of others I'd like to bring up but really, if people are going to react like this, why bother?

I understand everything you have mentioned in this thread and agree with you about the tapping/tunneling thing although football is extremely complex these days and I suggested that perhaps there were other issues at play. My comment/rant was not directed at you. It was in response to the other countless times people bang on about Jacks "sooking". See below for example. It's just old and annoying.

He has two problems.
1. He still sooks
2. He is trying to pass off way to much, he is one of the best set shots in the league and is paid to kick goals, when your inside 50 have a fu***** shot Jack!

I apologise for seemingly missing the point and addressing a side issue that annoys me. It's just that this thread comes at a bad time I guess. A few days ago we lost to Collingwood because 80%+ of the team looked disinterested/passionless and one of the guys who always tries has a thread about a technical issue. That's all.

Here here Cotcho
This thread is WTF :eek:

Mate you have not been able to understand this thread from the start, try and keep up champ.

Nobody has said Jack is rubbish , nobody is calling for his head , nobody is blaming any loss on him. It is a discussion with an option he takes over a loose ball. If you can't follow this simple discussion post elsewhere.

Totally agree. Some people get a little bit hysterical for God knows what reason. Some posters have made some really good points for and against the way he plays it. People can get a bit precious over their favorite players. It is only a very minor thing in his game that is being discussed. I don't think I'm calling for a trade. It has nothing to do about losing on the weekend.

Going by some of the responses I sure some people never even read the thread. By the way if Jack does a back heel that gives us the win this week I'll be the first one saying great play. ;)

Mate you have not been able to understand this thread from the start, try and keep up champ.

Nobody has said Jack is rubbish , nobody is calling for his head , nobody is blaming any loss on him. It is a discussion with an option he takes over a loose ball. If you can't follow this simple discussion post elsewhere.

Let it go pal.. You were probably a Richo hater too..

I think you should let it go pal , all maybe next year has done has pointed out one part of Jacks game he could improve on. He hasn't flogged him on his standard weakness 's like playing for free kicks , argueing with umpires , not chasing and not leading when it's obvious he doesn't have aerial supremacy against an opponent or opposition players are going 2nd and 3rd man up.

Oh and that he's a Fanta pants.

Every game this year whenever Jack has been out on a one ( not a marking contest ) on one instead of just attacking the ball and trying to gain possession to dish it off he try's to hold off his opponent or try some over clever trick to get the ball. He has done it every game this year on numerous occasions. Keep it bloody simple mate and feed it out.

Jack just attack the bloody ball like every other good forward.

I know what you are saying, Jack could go from being a very good full forward to being a great full forward just by realising that when he is outside the goal square, he needs to simply get the ball and give off. Nothing more, nothing less.

Save the tricks for the goal square.